We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun staycation”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Although the hotel was full with a large number of families in town for a hockey tournment the facility was clean, reasonably quiet and the staff was very pleasant. The pool area had clean towels and reasonable level of noise. The food and beverage was exceptional in terms of selection and quality. I will be recommending this hotel for all of our out of town guests, personal and business.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hello HockeyGary,

Thanks so much for coming to experience our hotel! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel had to offer like the pool and our Garden Grille & Bar Restaurant and that the staff treated you well. I hope the next time you are in town you are able to stay with us once again.

Have a wonderful day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    192
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
370
124
30
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton Lake
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you want true hospitality this hotel is where it's at! We found this brand new Hilton hotel in Ann Arbor and thank goodness we did! Ann Arbor was in need of a new hotel such as this. My family and I stayed there during a kids hockey weekend. From the moment we checked in with Beverly who welcomed us with the most welcoming smile, to the extreme hospitality of Allen (went above the rest to help us find dinner accomodations) We will always return to this property! Even with all the kids running around the rooms stayed quiet. The rooms were clean and spacious. The restaurant on site and staff were amazing! A+ in our book! Cant't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccer_mom_MegD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Soccer_mom_MegD,

Thanks for sharing your feedback and all of the great comments with us! We are so happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel. I will definitely share your comments with Allen and Beverlee as well as the rest of the team. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I drove 40min to stay at this at hotel after it was referred to me by a friend. The people who work at the hotel are fantastic. Beverlee, who has a great smile, did a great job making me and my colleagues feel welcomed. It is the reason why we stay there regularly during business trips. Also, a great bar and food.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello Charles2020,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We will definitely share all of the great comments that you had with the team. We looking forward to welcoming you back into the hotel the next time you are in the area.

Enjoy your day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My experience at the Hilton Gredn Inn was excellent. The staff was very friendly and eager to do their best to make my stay with them the best it could be, particulalry one staffer at the front desk named Allen. The hotel is also very near the University of Michigan campus.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rolszew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello rolszew2,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn! I have shared your comments with Allen as well as the rest of the team here. Please let us know if you are coming back any time soon as we would love to see you!

Best Wishes,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I received 2 free nights through a banquet dinner held shortly after this location opened in Ann Arbor. My boyfriend and I stayed for our first night recently and were overall happy with our stay.

Pros:
The room was very clean and everything was in working order.
Stocked with all of the normal creature comforts, and the bath towels were nice and large.
They offered laundry service (for a fee), room service, and had a restaurant bar area in the lounge/lobby for those who do so choose to pay the high prices.
Right on Briarwood Circle - Just a jump away from popular shopping and eateries.
While we did not use it, they had a very family friendly pool area and a well equipped fitness room.
Rooms have a wall heating unit with a digital thermostat. We were able to keep the room at a steady, comfortable temperature just like home.

Cons:
I was not blown away by the girls running the front desk. Beverlee checked us in, and I did not see a smile from her during the entire check-in process. I am a front desk manager myself, and was not impressed by our welcome, or the check-in. On the contrary, we made our reservation with Cheryl who was the ideal front desk clerk and really made me excited to stay. Slow clap for Cheryl.
Our floor had many guests running from room to room for what I assume to be a teen sporting event in town. Not something the hotel can control, but it wasn't the best situation for us.
We considered having breakfast that the hotel offered in their restaurant, however the buffet was $9.95/person and we chose to save our pennies and go for a $15 Cracker Barrel visit instead. The cheapest entree for dinner service was $18/person with a $3 room service fee. The options looked amazing, but we couldn't fathom a $18-24/person meal when there are multiple other restaurants in the proximity.
We were placed in room 338, which is the closest you can get to the highway. We live by the highway normally so I was not overly upset with the noise, but it was quite loud, and the sound was like being in a horror movie all night the way it reverberated around the room.

One thing I found amusing (being from the Ann Arbor area already) was one of the images on the wall in our King room. It was a nice reproduction of South Main Street in downtown A2, with a few businesses and a rolling clouds skyline. I chuckled at the fact that the caption read 'South State Street', which was simply not accurate, and verified with an address search for the stores in the image. For our 2nd stay, it will be interesting to see if all rooms have this image and incorrect label. For a hotel in Ann Arbor, I wouldn't think this would go unnoticed.

Overall, we had a nice stay, and it was a great place to get away. Next time we will be sure to check out the pool (lots of kids staying that night), and if with any financial luck, we may choose to eat-in at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the highway if possible, to at least dull the harsh noise of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LlamaSmooches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear llamaSmooches,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback about the Hilton Garden Inn. We will definitely take the time to go through your suggestions and see if there are things that we can improve upon for better service next time.

Have a wonderul day,
Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights on a recent business trip to the area... we were so impressed! The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful, whether it was the desk receptionist or the wait staff in the restaurant or the housekeeping staff... they never failed to greet us as we came in, ask us about our day and help out whenever they could!

The place was immaculate, from the lobby to the workout room and pool area to the rooms! I especially appreciate a clean bathroom and ours was spic and span each and every day! They didn't miss a spot on the floor or counters... even tho' we were there 8 nights it seems they cleaned as if there were new guests each day! The towels were so soft and fluffy! There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room, as well as an easy chair and spacious desk. The heating and cooling system worked great-we used both. The bed was super comfy and we had 4 pillows of different firmnesses to chose from. Also, the entire comforter on the bed was laundered... the look is crisp, clean and comfy!

All day long [and all night] coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available in the lobby, as were the daily USA Today newspapers. And in the afternoons thru' the evenings freshly baked cookies also were available. Delicious! The lobby was quite large and occupied space on one side of the entrance while the restaurant and a bar occupied the other side, a very open living concept. Despite that aspect, the lobby was very cozy as there were several different seating areas around a double-sided fireplace [that threw off a lot of heat]. There were even a couple of tables where you could do work. They also had a spacious business center in another room, complete with computers and printers for guests to use.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning, and had dinner a few other times. While the dinner menu wasn't huge, they did offer a wide variety... from salads to burgers to pork chops, etc. The breakfast buffet was good, you could choose any three items from the cold buffet for just $3.95... your choices included fresh fruit, yogurts, cold cereals, a variety of breads and sweet breads. There were also a number of hot breakfast items. Of course you are in Ann Arbor which itself offers many great restaurants for breakfast as well as dinner! You can walk across the parking lot to the Briarwood Mall, which is handy, or visit any of the restaurants located on the road that circles the mall. There is also easy access to the freeway, and the Detroit airport is about a 25 min. drive.

We feel we found a gem in this hotel, and will definitely be staying here again on our next business trip to the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kargalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello karkar51,

Thanks so much for the great review! We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us on your recent business trip and that you had a chance to enjoy all of our amenities at the hotel. 8 Days is a long time to be away from home - thank you for allowing us the chance to provide a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Take Care,

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I would highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn in Ann Arbor, MI! The hotel is very clean, modern, and new! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure all of our needs were met, and they certainly surpassed all our expectations! The room was extra clean, the bed was comfortable, the digital TV was HD, and the overall decor was amazing! We had exceptional service, and really bonded with Adriana at the front desk, along with Joe in the bar/restaurant! They really made us feel right at home, and felt like we developed long term friends! As a seasoned "outside sales" person, I travel quite a bit, and my wife was a "corporate travel agent", so we've experienced many locations;....and this hotel would be rated as one of our top choices! Rick & Kellie Baker Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Hello Rick B!

I am so happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and bonded so quickly with Adriana and Joe. I have shared all of your wonderful comments with them as well as the rest of the team. We are all looking forward to your return.

Enjoy your day!

Christina Bell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.7 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#5 of 35 in Ann Arbor
481 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 35 in Ann Arbor
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Address: 1401 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1893
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#1 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor hotel is ideally located just 2 miles south of the University of Michigan and its "Big House" football stadium, as well as the adjacent Briarwood Mall. Enjoy easy access to the UM campus plus nearby research parks, hospitals and medical centers. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology to ensure you make the most of your stay. Keep in touch with complimentary wireless internet access and sleep well in the sumptuous bed. Indulge in a delicious meal at the hotel's onsite restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, open daily for breakfast and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick snack or tasty microwavable meal from the hotel's great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. The cozy Bar offers the perfect spot to unwind after a busy day. Stay active with an energetic workout in the 24-hour fitness center or enjoy a splash in the "Cool Pool" complete with basketball hoop and interactive toys. The Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor also offers four flexible meeting rooms, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing