We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent”
Review of Real Seafood Co.

Real Seafood Co.
Reserve with OpenTable
Real Seafood Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 592 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Liberty and William
Mid-Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've been going to Real Seafood since it opened about 40 years ago. I used to live in Ann Arbor and ate there about once a week. Now that I've moved, I adjust my plans to have a meal there if I'm anywhere in the area. My impression of their strategy is that they aim to serve really fresh seafood, simply prepared. The sidewalk tables are especially nice when the weather cooperates.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeniorSingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    127
    62
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a birthday lunch today. Food and service were excellent. One of the few places left that still offers a great gift for your birthday. Otherwise, our staff assistant, Brandi was attentive, responsive, and knowledgeable. Food was great. Will definitely stop here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertLivonia_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Catch Real Seafood without wearing slickers.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was doing some business recently in Michigan and decided to explore Ann Arbor. I decided to have dinner at the Real Seafood Company. The food is fresh and delicious, any fresher, you better pack some slicker and head to the dock. I had the Blue Plate which allowed me to have a little bit of everything, Stuffed Flounder, Crab Cake, Scallops, Shrimp and a couple of Oysters. The wine selection is adequate with several varieties to choose from. The menu is on a tablet and you can scroll thru the different pairings. The staff is friendly and attentive but not intrusive and the decor inviting with sidewalk seating available. If you are in Ann Arbor for the big game make sure you stop at Real Seafood Company and leave the slickers at home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great outdoor dining on Main Street in Ann Arbor”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

On a nice night the tables on the sidewalk or just inside the opened walls are a great place to sit, eat and enjoy the activity of downtown Ann Arbor.

The crab cake, gazpacho with seafood and artichoke crab dip were all very good.

Paper menus have been replaced by leather bound tablet computers which are easy and interesting to use.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTtraveler00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
197 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Classic Seafood Restaurant That Delivers Great - Consistantly”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Real Seafood has been there forever now. A member of the Main Street Ventures family of restaurants, it excels in everything it serves.

Real Seafood is a contemporary seafood restaurant that offers premium fresh fish and seafood from New England, the Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico. They offer fresh oysters, lobster, shrimp, and the authentic flavors of seasonal and local produce.

Service is excellent. They are prompt, friendly and come to your table with the best warm bread you've ever put in your mouth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CreativeGuy4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Seafood Co. also viewed

 

Been to Real Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing