We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was good”
Review of Gandy Dancer

Gandy Dancer
Reserve with OpenTable
Gandy Dancer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 593 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main Street
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was good”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoyed a nice dinner at the Gandy dancer last week. Our food was good, it was nicely presented, and the waitstaff was attentive. We've always loved the setting of the restaurant in the old railroad station in Ann Arbor. It is still a very nice place to enjoy an evening out. We were fortunate that an Amtrak train passed while we were at dinner so we all applauded which is the long-standing custom.
It was interesting to note that they have some special dinner prices before 5:30 each day which includes the salad and dessert. We will be going back soon to try one of those.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nana444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    159
    85
    26
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Father's Day Dinner”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a beautiful day for dinner with a view! We were sat at a window seat looking out at the Amtrak rails............An Amtrak came by and everyone clapped :) Service was excellent. Appetizer was the Spicy Rock Shrimp, AWESOME! We had Salmon Rockefeller and Filet and Shrimp Scampi. Everything was cooked to our liking. This is one of our favorite restaurants to visit. Not only for the service but the overall atmosphere. It's wonderful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food but too quick”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went to this restaurant while visiting Ann Arbour. The food is excellent and the service was very friendly and efficient. The only downside was the restaurant seems to want to turn the tables over very quickly. Our dinner came to our table before we were even finished with our appetizers.

At a restaurant of this calibre, I typically expect to enjoy a relaxing meal, have a chance to socialize with my guests and savour the food. I wish they would have given us more time to enjoy our evening without feeling rushed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
158 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere and Service, Delicious food, Wonderful Wine Selection”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Gandy dancer is a must dining experience if in the Ann Arbor area. It is expensive, however, well worth it! Whether you want fresh sea food or a prime cut of beef this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sking81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in Town”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I don't know how good the restaurant is for dinner, but I've not had a better brunch anywhere. My family all meet in Ann Arbor for one football game per year (A2, born and raised) and we always finish the weekend with brunch on Sunday. The variety is AMAZING--covers two rooms and cooked perfectly. Everything is fresh and well-presented. We try to be seated in the back room so you are not in the high-traffic area between the food and the kitchen, and it is more historic back there. This is an old train station and the atmosphere is great. There has been music there (jazz or classical) each time we are there. Take SMALL portions the first time through so you have room for breakfast, lunch, and dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick_and_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gandy Dancer also viewed

 

Been to Gandy Dancer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing