We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese Restaurant Ever”

Evergreen Restaurant
Ranked #157 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Royalton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Restaurant Ever”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

You know a Chinese restaurant is good when you are the ONLY non-Chinese people in it... (And I've been here multiple times and this is usually the case!)

We pretty much only ever get "typical" Chinese food here, but it has always been excellent, never disappointing. Great price, especially for lunch. I notice that the menu has options which aren't the typical "meat/veggies/rice" that we usually get, and I suspect that those are more "real" Chinese food... Someday we will get brave and try some!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food, reasonable prices, good service”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

There are many Chinese restaurants in Ann Arbor, but we tried the Evergreen in the Plymouth Road Mall for lunch today. This is a fairly small restaurant, apparently family-owned. It is clean and attractive, although there are no windows except to the interior of the mall, Specials are posted in Chinese on a board outside near the door. Lunch combo plates at typically $6.99 and $7.99 whick includes salad, choice of soup, appetizer and steamed, brown or fried rice, as well as tea. I enjoyed my Hunan Shrimp and everyone else in our party of four was pleased with their selection. As we exited, we noted we were the only non-Asian customers in the place - generally a good recommendation in itself. We will visit the Evergreen again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Lackluster Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This restaurant is very definitely a been-there-done-that sort of place. The food is mediocre with the standard Chinese dishes. Nothing at all unusual or innovative. It's a big space with little attempt made to 'cozify' its bland atmosphere. I suppose if you prefer a narrow range of Chinese ingredients, the entrees here would be totally acceptable. I like a bit more zing in my food so I find this place unimpressive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannafrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“tasteless food, hideously slow delivery”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Food took 1.5 hours to deliver despite living within ten minutes. Could have forgiven it if the food was tasty but it was not.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingman979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“good dining experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This restaurant is tucked away in a North Campus shopping center off Plymouth road. The decor and atmosphere are pleasant. Service was fast, attentive, and unobtrusive. We ordered the "Taiwan Chicken" and the "Mandarin Casserole" and found both to be quite good. If you are looking for haute cuisine (as it appears some other reviewers are), then perhaps you should go elsewhere. However, as a regular chinese restaurant with good food and good service, Evergreen ranks high.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evergreen Restaurant also viewed

 
Ann Arbor, MI
 

Been to Evergreen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing