We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go if you appreciate good or even fair German food! Terrible”
Review of Heidelberg

Heidelberg
Ranked #448 of 595 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't go if you appreciate good or even fair German food! Terrible”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This was certainly a disappointment, looking forward to a good German meal. I can't believe they have stayed in business so long. The worst German food I have experience. I ordered Sauerbraten dinner with red cabbage and hot German potato salad and my husband ordered the Wiener Schnitzel with red cabbage and spaetzle. Nothing tasted good or had a hint of German flavor. We were very hungary and tried our best to eat the poorly prepared food but left chalking it as a bad choice. The food was not very hot, the service was okay, the restroom was clean.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinahusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    10
    1
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“no authenticity in the food”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Having been born in Austria and lived in Germany several years I was looking forward to a delicious authentic German dinner earlier this evening. I ordered a combo plate with Wiener Schnitzel and Weisswurst with a side of German Potato Salad and Spatzle... the Spatzle was the only thing that remotely resembled German cuisine... the Weisswurst was very dark reddish coarse and dry.... definitely could not have been made with pork and veal and been that color or texture... the Wiener Schnitzel was not pounded thin was flavorless dry and was not breaded as it should have been.. the German Potato Salad was swimming in oil.. was brownish colored and had green onions in it instead of thin sliced sweet onions ... didn't taste
at all like it should have.. it was a very disappointing experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyhosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cheap immitation of German Food”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Ordered Yeager Schnitzel which has a mushroom top.Small piece of fried meat and the topping tasted like Campbell's Mushroom soup, hardly warmed up. TERRIBLE! My wife's sampler plate of brats was OK.

Helpful?
Thank Veteran101st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hudson, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was good......”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Food was almost as good as we had in Germany. Price was reasonable and restaurant was average.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bobbyjnewhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, MI
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good German food, good experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My favorite is the fried chicken liver appetizer, which is great, and just enough.

Helpful?
Thank ForFunTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heidelberg also viewed

 

Been to Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing