We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food in Ann Arbor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Banditos

Banditos
Ranked #65 of 591 Restaurants in Ann Arbor
Price range: US$8 - US$8
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
“Best Mexican food in Ann Arbor!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The food there is delicious, best Mexican food around! I went there for the first time and I was hooked. The chimichangas are my favorite at Banditos.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josani23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    9
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Augusta, Atlanta, Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food I have ever had”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I went there for our first time yesterday. Food was fantastic. Service was excellent. I love my margarita. Decor is nice. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reliable Mexican Food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have been going to Banditos for a number of years now and can always count on getting a good meal and fast, friendly service, all at a very reasonable price. My favorite dish is the chicken quesadilla accompanied by a really tasty margarita. The quesadilla has a lot of filling, unlike some other places I have tried, and I love it with some of the fresh salsa on top. If you want something non-alcoholic to drink, they serve a really good lemonade. My husband and I come here, and often bring our friends, when we want some simple comfort food in a welcoming atmosphere where you can have a conversation without having to yell across the table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzana3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect little lunch spot.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My boys and I traveled to Ann Arbor to see a movie at the beautiful Michigan theatre and needed a nice spot for a late lunch beforehand. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I knew this place would fit the bill. We parked at the Liberty Street garage, walked a few blocks west and found Banditos to be even better than expected.The cheery exceptionally clean decor, great food and friendly server had my oldest(14) proclaiming the experience the "best Mexican food of my life" and his brother(11) concurred. Their praise is well deserved. The chicken, shredded beef, cheese enchiladas and guacamole were all excellent, as were the warm chips and fresh salsa. And, the margarita I ordered was easily the best I've tasted in years. YUM!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BayCityFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice family owned restaurant”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Ok, ate there the other night and it was great. We also got a show....Everyone see the post below where the guy claims he waited an hour then tried to leave and had the police called on him? Well, I was there that night (dude, we were at the booth in front of you) and I did a search to see if there was a new story on what happened. This guy and his friend came in drunk ten minutes before closing. The waiter was nice enough to still let them order and five minutes after ordering, they try to take off without paying. The waiter called the police and as we were leaving, the police came back with this guy handcuffed and made him pay.

Other than that, this place does have really good food and it all seems to be homemade. We eat here about 5-6 times a year and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banditos also viewed

 

Been to Banditos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing