We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service, cancelled our Bridal suite with NO notice, worst hotel stay I've ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service, cancelled our Bridal suite with NO notice, worst hotel stay I've ever experienced”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were staying with your hotel for my best friend's wedding (I was the Maid of Honor). Months ago she set up a room block with Tina. At this time she was told that we would receive a complimentary suite free of charge for the bridal party to stay in on the night before the wedding. We were super excited. Fast forward to the few months prior to the wedding and potential guests had nothing but difficulty booking rooms. The hotel first claimed that there was not a room block, then claimed that there was a block but it only had 5 rooms. After many phone calls they finally confirmed that we did in fact have a block although the pricing was higher than originally quoted ($130 instead of $100). We made multiple phone calls to try and confirm our original rate but were told no one could help us. They told us $130 was a much lower rate than there going rate for that weekend of $180. They also told us that if we didn't like that rate or wanted more rooms we could rebook at the Days Inn although the bride had told them repeatedly she did not want to book rooms there. At this point we were very frustrated but chose to pick our battles. We confirmed that we were still receiving our complimentary suite, which was confirmed, and apologized to our potential guests for the change in rate. Once again guests attempted to book rooms and once again had nothing but problems. I myself actually work in a hotel in reservations so I looked into your hotels other booking options. I saw that guests could book themselves online through your website at a rate of $129 (which was actually $1 cheaper than the block rate and was absolutely cheaper than the $180 we were told guests would have to book at if they booked outside of the block). I actually joined your rewards program and booked at an ever lower rate. So, all guests who needed rooms did end up securing reservations through outside means. Fast forward to the night before the wedding. We called the hotel to add the name of a few girls who were going to arrive early to check into our complimentary suite and decorate for the bride and the hotel informed us that we did not have a reservation. After multiple phone calls we were eventually informed that our suite was cancelled due to a lack of rooms booked in the block. We were NEVER informed of this. At this point I gave them a list of all the guests who were staying in the hotel but they said it was too late and they were sold out so there was no way we were going to have a room that night. At this time we tried to confirm that the Bride and Groom DID have their suite booked for the following night. They would not give me a confirmation number or confirmation email to confirm this, they simply said that yes, they would have a room. This entire process was extremely frustrating and unprofessional. The bride was in tears and I was left to try and find a place for 7 ladies to stay the night and get ready at the last minute. It was a very trying process and stressful evening when we all should have been celebrating. I understand how frustrating it can be speaking with guests who are upset but we had every right to be extremely upset and received no help or sympathy from the hotel employees we initially spoke with. Eventually we spoke with one extremely helpful girl who made us feel as though she actually cared. She apologized profusely and though she said there was nothing they could do about our suite that night, she assured us that the hotel would make sure that the bride and groom and wedding party would be "taken care of" the following evening, that the bride and groom would be comped and the wedding party discounted and that the hotel would "make this right". Fast forward to the night of the wedding and we did in fact have reservations when we arrived, but this was the only good thing about our stay. No one had gone out of there was to welcome us or apologize. No special thank you or congratulations or amenity was present for the bride and groom. The hotel also failed to hand out the guest welcome bags which were supposed to have been delivered to the rooms of the wedding party and guests. The next day everyone received their bills under the door and there was no discount. The bride and groom and a bridesmaid went down to the front desk to complain and eventually they agreed to slightly discount their room and the room of the one member of the wedding who was also there but refused to do anything more. They did not honor the statements made by the staff and made very little attempt to make anything right. I am a frequent world traveller and this is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I wish I could remember the name of the one helpful person who we talked to in all of this to give her a slight commendation. Though the assurances she made to us failed to happen at least she attempted to be understanding in our situation. After this experience I can assure you that I (and everyone who stayed at this hotel for the Fear/Pugh Wedding) never intend to stay at a Comfort Inn and another one of your properties ever again.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here, horrible experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    35
    28
    18
See reviews for
51
31
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Wonderful staff. I accidentally left a very expensive item in the room. Realizing it hours later, I called the staff who then kindly mailed it back me in my home city.

Honest people. Nice hotel. Will be back again.

Thanks to Sylvia and her colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Folks, this Choice hotel Comfort Inn is another loser. The hotel lacks the basics you would expect in any hotel and is furnished with carpets that should have been replaced 10 years ago. The exercise room was a converted smoking room equipped with inoperable and unsafe treadmill. As a Choice Privilege member I requested a rollaway for my daughter from the website only to find that they didn't have rollaways and instead offered me a air mattress with a hole in it. They refused to replace the air mattress and offered me a pump so I could refill it with air when it went flat again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schreibnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortinn2376, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
On behalf. of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. However I would like to say that with any hotel, roll always are upon request only, it isn't a guarantee. At the time of your check in we did not have a roll away available and this was explained to you. Our front desk thankfully has a few extra air mattresses for guests as an extended courtesy whenever our cots become unavailable. With any air mattress, they reluctantly leak throughout the night and we made housekeeping aware of that issue in the morning (who replaced and refilled your air mattress later that afternoon). Our staff made sure to consistently keep up with your satisfaction of your stay. We would have been more than cooperative to change the room type you origanally booked for, but as you know, your reservations were made during a city-wide sold out soccer event. Once again we apologize for your dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a nice weekend stop. Nothing fancy here, basic hotel but at a good price and well worth the money. Breakfast was good and the family would stay here again. If you're looking for top of the line, this is not the place. However, if you want a comfortable and affordable, clean and nice hotel -- here it is. We would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestSailor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed her on vacation and stay regularly in Comfort Suites. The reservation confirmation did not alert us to significant construction around the hotel which made getting to it difficult. Once there the gardening out front was neglected with some weeds 3 ft tall. The common area was OK but our room looked like throw back to the early 90's with ugly dark brown carpet dark drapes, an easy chair shoved into a corner, rust spots in the tub, loudly squeaking bathroom door ( a drag when your partner uses the bathroom in the middle of the night) peeing wallpaper and just a generally shabby feeling and look. I wouldn't stay here again and was surprised at how poorly this place represented the Comfort Suites chain.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family stayed at this hotel during a college visit trip, we had a good stay. Its a reasonable hotel in Ann Arbor. The location is convenient, there are a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was fair and clean. I was happy my room had a small refrigerator and microwave. They had an indoor pool and whirlpool that my kids enjoyed, and it was open late at night. The fitness room was very small and could use some updating. We enjoyed the free breakfast that came with our stay, they served both warm & cold breakfast items. Overall, the hotel is ok for the price we paid to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Three of us recently stayed in the Comfort Inn! We were greeted by Sylvia upon arrival. She was very friendly and helpful. Even printed us out directions to a nearby mall! When we went up to our room our key would not open the door. Two maid staff came over to help and reported our problem to the desk. Sylvia came up herself to give us new keys to another room! The room had two big very comfortable queen beds. The room was clean. The bathroom could have used a little extra attention but satisfactory. The free breakfast in the morning had hot waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage. Everything was GOOD. For those going to the annual art walk in Ann Arbor this hotel is close to The Briarwood Mall where you can get a shuttle bus to the university area!
Overall, we would definitely return! It was a GOOD value!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, but the first floor looked very much the same. Both floors had new carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
#27 of 34 in Ann Arbor
427 reviews
1.6 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#28 of 34 in Ann Arbor
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2376 Carpenter Rd., Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great stay is a great night at the Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel in Ann Arbor, MI near University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University. You can also explore such nearby points of interest as the Michigan Theater, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum, University of Michigan Museum of Art, and Yost Ice Arena. Our convenient location near U of M gives you easy access to Ann Arbor’s top attractions, including Michigan Stadium, Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum, and Matthaei Botanical Gardens & Nichols Arboretum. Shoppers can browse for treasures on Main Street, at Kerrytown and at Arborland Shopping Center. Whether you’re staying for leisure or corporate travel, our leisure hotel will give you everything you need to make your trip a success. Business travelers appreciate our 47-person meeting room and our business center, which features copy and fax services. For your convenience, guest laundry facilities are available, as are valet cleaning services, and our ample parking accommodates buses, trucks, and R.V.s. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as free WiFi, fitness center, indoor, heated pool, free coffee, and free weekday newspaper. Our premium bedding will leave you rested and refreshed in the morning, just in time to enjoy our signature free hot breakfast. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Suites also feature a whirlpool and a sofa sleeper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ann Arbor
Comfort Inn And Suites
Baymont Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Baymont Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing