We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelsey Museum of Archaeology

Kelsey Museum of Archaeology
Ranked #15 of 83 things to do in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kelsey Museum houses a collection of nearly 100,000 objects from the civilizations of the Mediterranean.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This lovely building houses an interesting collection, nicely laid out on 2 floors to allow for leisurely viewing.

We visited mid-morning during the week and there was just one other couple there at the time, which meant that we could really take time to look at the displays. I was particularly interested in the coins, glass, pottery and jewellery.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorisDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, cool stuff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I went with my middle-school child for a class trip. Very cool. They had a scavenger hunt to keep the kids interested as they learned about the artifacts on display. really interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JudiAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estados unidos
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gods and Goddesses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Myths and Heroes, amphora, urns, iridescent vials, votives, lamps, and cylinder seals. The ancient world awaits your discovery. Open the drawers, find the connection, follow the thread back 5000 years to the banks of the Nile and Euphrates and the Islands of the Aegean. Closes at 4:00pm alllow an hour or two.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank latefordinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Marvelous Architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I visited Kelsey when Sigmund Freud's collection of antiquities was on exhibit there. I enjoyed it thoroughly. I have not been there recently but I believe there are likely some continuing exhibits that are equally as interesting. It is a small house which, itself, is a bit of blast from the past. It is close to the Michigan Union.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oopsydaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A great place for a short visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our 13 year old daughter has recently shown an interest in Archaeology, so when we found this museum (on TripAdvisor) would be on our way home from our family vacation, we thought it might be worth a stop. And we were right.

Relatively small, with a focus on the collections from digs where sponsored by the founder/school, this museum had a surprising breadth of materials on display. Both displays and signage were well managed providing "themed" viewing collections representing different geographical locations and eras. Some areas, including the impressive Room of Mysteries were high quality reproductions, but most were original, or originals in situ with reproductions of how they would have looked in antiquity. An hour or so was more than enough, although we admittedly skipped the exhibit on Kelsey himself which took up a good part of the second floor. Metered parking behind the museum was coin operated (with one hour costing $1.40 - in coins), but parking in front and on the side street were managed by the new centralized parking meter which accepted credit cards. Small gift shop also had some unique items; unfortunately, a booklet or exhibition catalog of the museum's collection was not avaialble.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pbadeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kelsey Museum of Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing