We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but crowded”

Matthaei Botanical Gardens
Ranked #5 of 84 things to do in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 300-acre garden with a variety of outdoor displays and nature trails for exploring.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, but crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The gardens were lovely, but the place was packed. It was hard to navigate, with so many people all over the place. The greenhouse was especially cramped, with narrow walkways, and tons of people stopping randomly to take pictures. There were lots of amateur photographers sprawling out all over the place to take pictures, taking up a lot of room for sometimes a considerable amount of time. While it's not the fault of the property, tripping over and being blocked by these guests did detract from the experience.

There was a wedding going on at the same time, so that likely contributed to the crowd, as part of the space was reserved for the wedding, and there were likely extra guests. There was also what appeared to be a tour bus in the parking lot, so I don't know if there's a better time to go where you can avoid the larger tours.

The Gardens are technically free (donations are encouraged), but you will need to pay for parking. The machines are all near the building, so plan to walk over there before starting your trip through the gardens.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lewislhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    88
    23
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice gardens, love the Bonsais”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We drove up from Toledo to see the gardens and conservatory. My husband grows Bonsai so that was the highlight for us. The grounds are in great condition, and the gardens are nice, if a bit young. The Children's Garden is fantastic. We didn't have kids with us, but I still thought that ranked right up near the Bonsai garden. Nice paths and trails to explore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joy67117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Little Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a wonderful botanical Garden. The children's garden is cute. My favorite part were the hiking trails along the creek. The is a very easy hike. Small gift store too with Fairy Garden supplies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quick getaway from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very close to Ann Arbor and always a fun visit. We love walking the long path through the fields, meadows, and a loop around teh more formal gardens. Very peaceful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichBelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
419 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Another great day trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great Green House, manicured gardens, labeled trails, and picnic areas. Admission is free but you pay for parking $1.25 and hour. So, you can spend as long or as little as you like but if a group is going I would suggest car pooling. You will not be dissapointed if you love the out of doors. They also have classes and a great children's garden. Check into these things once you get there. Bring your snacks and spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Storyteller-N03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matthaei Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Matthaei Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing