We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay--Convenient, comfortable, and excellent hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
First Street Garden Inn
Ranked #9 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay--Convenient, comfortable, and excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I had a really good stay with Kathy and Mike. The room was excellent with a really nice sitting area. The shower turns into a small steam cabinet, which helped me get to sleep quite well, and breakfast was fabulous--Kathy makes delicious cheddar-chive scones and a fine omelet. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbt_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I arrived late and the hosts were there with a hot home-made meal:-)
The art-deco room was nicely decorated and very clean with an ensuite washroom and shower.
I had a full breakfast the next day before heading out to town. My host gave me great recommendations for things to do and see in Ann Arbor that fit my schedule.
The inn is within walking distance of Michigan University and downtown.
My host also drove me to my next destination!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I visit Ann Arbor many times a year for business, and have stayed at numerous hotels and B&B’s. Upon finding First Street Garden Inn, I now will stay nowhere else.

It is conveniently situated in a quiet Ann Arbor neighborhood, a very comfortable house – yet is walking distance to downtown Main Street and to the University of Michigan.
Kathi and Mike are wonderful hosts - friendly, worldly, and accommodating. I look forward to my conversations with them every morning during breakfast - which is another reason for visiting. Kathi has spent time in France, and together they travel quite a bit - e.g. they recently returned from an extended trip to Europe. Her menu (and conversation) reflects these influences, to the benefit of their guests.

They are both involved in Ann Arbor activities/business/politics. Kathi seems to be on some committee whenever I visit, and Mike is a member of the City Council. This translates to their knowledge of Ann Arbor, including places to visit, events, restaurants…

I prefer the Master Suite, very relaxing with a comfortable bed, a separate sitting room with a television for watching the evening news, and a steam shower - appreciated after walking back from dinner on cold winter evenings. I should here mention that on cold, snowy winter mornings Mike and Kathi offer (which I accept) to drive me to my meeting.

Highly recommended. From experience, the First Street Garden Inn is my choice for Ann Arbor accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdaubresse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I had a problem with my reservation and the management was very helpful and understanding in solving the problem.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank canceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This lovely B&B is within walking distance from downtown Ann Arbor, so it is perfect for exploring the town. At the same time the owners' beautiful garden offers an opportunity to relax and rest. The breakfasts are to die for too! I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polishswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The First Street Garden Inn was wonderful. We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Ann Arbor. Kathy was wonderful; she gave us ideas for places to eat/drink in town, and she made just delicious breakfasts. Man, those breakfasts were good. The house is beautiful and cheerful, with Art Deco flavor (on the inside), and lovely art and furniture peppered throughout. And the location is perfect: walking distance to town but situated on a quiet street with plenty of street parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We came for a football game at Michigan. We found the inn to be a perfect location, half way between downtown and the stadium. (Although it was a slightly longer walk to the stadium).

The innkeepers were very helpful with recommendations and directions around town. You may want to make a dinner reservation for the weekends, things fill up fast.

It was my birthday and Cathy made special mimosas for breakfast. I can't say enough about the breakfast, I have stayed in at least a dozen of B&Bs and found the food here very memorable.

The common areas of the inn were very nice, there was always port and wine around for a late night drink. Also there's a TV room where you could get away if needed.

The rooms were great, the art deco room was on the small side, but we had no problem finding room for all our luggage. There was a small sitting room beside us that we used as well. The other couple we were with had the larger room which was also very nice.

One thing to note, there wasn't a sign on the street with the name of the inn, so make sure that you have the address when arriving.

If you are coming to visit Ann Arbor I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.5 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Street Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Street Garden Inn

Property: First Street Garden Inn
Address: 549 S. First Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Street Garden Inn of Ann Arbor has many comfortable antiques, original hardwood floors, decorative woodwork, and stained glass windows. It is fully air-conditioned and the vintage home offers a cozy, romantic blend of past and present. A piano, stereo, and afternoon tea are available in addition to the breakfast provided and the free dedicated WIFI. Our two guest rooms provide a comfortable, home-like visit for our guests. The innkeepers are long-time Ann Arbor residents who can help you find just the activities you want during your trip to Ann Arbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
First Street Garden Hotel Ann Arbor
1st Street Garden Inn
First Street Garden Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing