We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience while staying here for a week on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn while in Ann Arbor for a week of training at my new employer. I was very pleasantly surprised at check in. The hotel was much nicer than I expected. My room was clean and spacious. I ate at the hotel restaurant the first night, and for breakfast each day, and the food was decent (and very reasonably priced). The gym facilities were good as well.

What helped to make the stay great was the service from the staff. Everyone was so nice, led by the manager Mark. He actually drove us to our HQ each day, and gave us some great tips on places to see or eat in Ann Arbor. On a night that he was working late, he even drove us to downtown Ann Arbor, saving us a cab ride.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for business or pleasure. I will happily stay here if I need to make a return trip to Ann Arbor.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank HagueBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

First, make sure you have the exact address of this hotel. There is another Holiday Inn a short distance away on Briarwood. Overall negatives... It took 30 minutes to check in, with only one person ahead of me. There was another employee there, but they never came up to the desk to help. There were ants on the floor by the buffet snacking on crumbs, long after breakfast was over. My in room fridge did not work and I could not get it replaced for two days. And beware if you're there with a group. They have very strict rules and police the halls like mad after 10pm. That means after 10pm no kids are allowed to walk anywhere in the building without a parent, nor do they allowed kids under 16 in the pool at any time without a parent. Noone is allowed to gather in the halls, nor are groups of parents allowed in rooms after hours. So forget your cards, drinks, and snacks at home because you will be shut down immediately. So, that's the positive if you are staying there and want some peace and quiet. Also, treadmills were good in the workout room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rinkrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear rinkrover,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in all aspects of your stay. Whilst I am pleased with your compliment on our fitness facility, I truly value the comments about how the check-in service and the in-room fridge condition were as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we already have done. I'm sure it's understandable in the hospitality business a hotel has certain policies to ensure the benefits of the majority of their guests.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you and your friends back in the future.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A very nice hotel in the usual level of Holiday Inn, indoor pool etc. Great for families. May be a bit noisy when groups of young students are there. For just sleeping near the campus, nearby Microtel is as good in half price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for a college visit. It was a nice surprise! The room had been renovated. The bed was comfortable, and the bedding was very luxurious! There were a lot of young children staying at the hotel, but they must have been on a different floor. We didn't see or hear them except in the pool. Hope Holiday Inn has renovated all of their properties! The breakfast buffet included hot food, cereal, yogurt and fruit. It could have been restocked more often, but overall was good. Breakfast was included with a campus day special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfamily846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night in February, 2012. As frequent visitors to Ann Arbor, we've stayed all over town and this is one of the better hotels we've found. The property seems new or at least recently redone and feels a lot fresher than a lot of the other hotel options in town. Our room was gigantic -- one of the larger rooms I've had anywhere. The furniture and bedding were new, comfortable, and clean. The in-room entertainment system was a very nice touch and would have been appreciated had our stay been longer. The bathroom was a little small but the shower was good and the upgraded toiletries were a nice touch. The hotel's location off of State St. and near I-94 made it convenient both to get to the University of Michigan campus and back on the highway to get home. Our rate included breakfast for two, which I would rate as ok. Normally we would have gone for the buffet but it looked like it had been sitting for hours, so we ordered off the menu. Our food was hot, fresh, and prepared as we liked it. Even if it hadn't been included in the room, the breakfast price was very reasonable.

A couple of small complaints. First, there was a room service tray outside our room when we checked in that seemed to be left over from breakfast. It wasn't picked up until 10 minutes before we checked out. This didn't bother us too much but was a little gross. Secondly, we chose the hotel in part because it had a bar so we could get a drink after our event. The bar, however closes at 10pm. Fortunately, the Damon's across the parking lot filled in just fine.

Despite the minor inconveniences, we were very happy with our stay and would go back to the Holiday Inn on our next trip to Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Overall a good stay but a nice stay was ruined when I was charged for a Continental breakfast. This is more of a policy than an execution issue.

That's the first time I've been charged for breakfast in years! I went back to their website and saw that free breakfast was not mentioned so I guess it's my oversight. However, I will say that with so many choices in the area of (as good or better and priced similarly) other hotels that DO include free breakfast, I will no longer be using this facility.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbaGump1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Reasonable rate with friendly staff. It was a typical holiday inn, nothing fancy, but I got a clean room, hot shower, and hot breakfast. I was happy.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isttony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Address: 3155 Boardwalk Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1775
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#10 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £92 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Ann Arbor s Newest 100% Smoke-free Hotel The Holiday Inn and Suites Ann Arbor, Michigan features 107 non-smoking guest rooms, including 18 spacious standard and Jacuzzi suites. Our beautiful guestrooms include plush pillow-top mattresses, refrigerators and microwaves in every room and so much more. Amenities include our full service restaurant and lounge, Mallett's Creek Bar & Grille which offers affordable dining, cocktails and room service, a full-service business center, indoor pool, whirlpool, spacious fitness room, and free high-speed Internet access. With 1300 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, we are Ann Arbor s small meeting specialist. Nearby attractions include Detroit Wayne County Airport (DTW), which is just 25 miles from the hotel, University of Michigan's Main Campus, downtown Ann Arbor, and Michigan s Stadium, or the Big House are just 3 miles away. We are also just four blocks from Briarwood Mall which features shopping and a wide array of restaurants to choose from. We are conveniently located near the following businesses: Google, Proquest, Thompson Reuters (formerly Thomson Medstat), Toyota Technical Center, Service Brands, U of M, Sorenson and Affinia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing