We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnt Toast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnt Toast Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Ann Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Location: The Burnt Toast Inn is in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of nearly all of Ann Arbor's restaurants, bars, and the campus itself. There is also free, ample parking.

The Hotel/rooms: Everything is quaint and extremely clean. There are plenty of tolietries, towels, and even slippers if you need. The bathroom is really clean and absolutely gorgeous.

Food: The breakfast all fresh and I think it as from Whole Foods, for those who care to know. Really good stuff!

The hosts: Really nice and accommodating, and very helpful in terms of pointing out good places to see/eat at.

PS: It runs about $135-140 per night for the room which has a full/almost queen bed.

Room Tip: The dogs there are great. That being said, if you're allergic, or canine-averse, it may not be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
43
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Loved it. Loved Sarah. Loved the dogs. (Yes, there are dogs, large and friendly and well-behaved.) We visited my daughter after her first summer-start semester at law school. We stayed at the Burnt Toast Inn twice, at the beginning of our tour of Michigan and again at the end. Two different rooms, both charming and just what we wanted. Sarah makes the stay easy. Breakfasts were simple and tasty. We had a long chat at breakfast with another couple who was dropping their daughter off for a fall start at law school. The inn is that kind of place, friendly people to talk to if you want, but certainly no forced chumminess. The location is great. Not on top of the campus, but close enough to the center of things with a charming little walk. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I'm in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elninobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We loved our large, beautifully appointed room in this colorfully restored Victorian house in Ann Arbor's historic west side. Being close to downtown allowed us to walk to dinner each night after our family's business. Sarah and her dogs made us always feel so welcome and at home. All the other guests were like old friends right away, but we had plenty of privacy as well. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we get back to Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: Our room was the Master Bedroom, with a large bath en suite including a big tub, separate shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We rented the Washington House with another couple for graduation. The house and the back yard is fantastic. The back yard goes on and on with little surprises along the way. The porch is great, the little trickle fountain, the gazebo, the gourmet grill. Sarah thought of everything! There are even twinkle lights around the porch for that party mood. If you need a outdoor space in Ann Arbor, consider this B&B, which is really a "home away from home". The main Burnt Toast is just blocks away so Sarah's breakfast is just a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busy_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast for some time, so the Burnt Toast Inn was something of an experiment for us. Very close to downtown and easy parking. But the key to the place is the innkeeper, Sarah. There are little wonderful touches all around - soaps in the bathroom, basket of "treats" (healthy and organic!) in the hallways, bathrobes with quirky, comfy slippers, and a terrific breakfast. There are also two enormous dogs on-site who are really gentle and lovely (just a heads up in case of allergies).

Room Tip: Only the two suites have their own bathrooms; the other two rooms share a hall bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helensn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on a weekend home to visit my parents. Sarah was super friendly and accommodating, the decor was unique and quirky, and the bed in the Attic Suite was amazing... maybe it was because we were so tired, but 2 hours disappeared from my life and I have no idea where they went- immediately after we arrived we crashed! It says a lot for a place to feel like home, and this place made me feel that same comfort and warmth.
We didn't get to fully enjoy the B & B experience, but that was due to our schedule. Sarah was prepared to have breakfast and friendly conversation with all the guests and so were the dogs! Super fun and would stay here again.
BTW- the Attic Suite has it's own shower/bathroom, so no sharing up there and that was exactly what we wanted. :)

Room Tip: The Attic Suite has it's own private bathroom- no sharing! Also, the room has great blinds whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kindra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My sister and I stayed in Burnt Toast for 2 nights. After travelling the world for the last 3 years and stayed in many different places, I must stay this was by far one of the best and clean B&B I ever stayed in.

The house is furnished with so many beautiful and fascinating decorations.

Breakfast was beautiful and Sarah was one of a kind.
One of the nights, my sister and I wanted to share a bottle of wine in the front yard and Sarah went out of her way and prepared a little picnic which made our trip unforgettable. When we were leaving, we were running late to catch pour buds and Sarah kindly offered to drop us off which we were able to catch our bus on time. The dogs were so friendly.
I would go back and stay there any time and recommend it to others. It’s comfortable and convenient.
Many thanks Sarah.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.7 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#19 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnt Toast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnt Toast Inn

Property: Burnt Toast Inn
Address: 415 W William St, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Ann Arbor's historic Old West Side, just three short blocks west of Main Street, The Burnt Toast Inn is walking distance to everything -- downtown shopping and dining, University of Michigan central campus and athletic events. Relaxed atmosphere; beautiful, comfortable amenities such as down and 100% cotton linens; natural/organic breakfast. Free wireless internet. Friendly dogs. Whole house rental available. The Burnt Toast Inn houses an antique / art gallery, featuring primarily Japanese art. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burnt Toast Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing