We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drive by but don't check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Jerseyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Drive by but don't check in”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at clarion aug 10 thru aug 16. I was in Ann Arbor for UA instructor training at junior college. Room was outdated and filthy,outside of building was completely dilapidated, hallways and elevator were falling apart other than the coats of paint holding it together, front desk service was pathetic,view from room was roof of adjacent building with noisy rooftop units,sink in bathroom didn't drain properly.On the good side Main Street in Ann Arbor was a blast , lots of good food.When I think of Clarion I think of elegance not the case here.A bulldozer and lots of heavy equipment they could use here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine A, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Dawn,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Antoine Altawil
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
734-665-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    88
    87
    86
    69
See reviews for
148
73
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Austin, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Sadly, I must report that this hotel, conveniently located in Ann Arbor, MI is on it's way out. Myself and the girlies have stayed there, the past 3 years, during the Ann Arbor Art Fairs. This year it was evident when we pulled in the parking lot that something was happening. Weeds were everywhere, busted pavement and landscaping all over the place and the portico was blocked off and falling in. Our room was ok, if you didn't mind the lawn mower sound coming out of the air conditioner. Our friends were moved once, because of a busted line in the air conditioner and water in the carpet. In their second room, the shower did not work. Lucky, I am not afraid to bang on busted things, and I got it working. Almost had to unscrew the darn on-off fixture. So, we will not be staying there again. Darn shame, given it's convenient location to Downtown Ann Arbor.

Room Tip: Can not do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine A, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Maggy:

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns regarding the outside appearance of the hotel, and the AC issue to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know if you are dissatisfied in any way.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We strive for perfection in our hotel rooms and service, and the comfort of our guests is a top priority.
I would like to assure you that the concerns you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate action has been taken.
Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.
We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Antoine Altawil
General Manager
Clarion Hotel
734-665-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Got a great rate due to a coupon room was clean and well equipped. The hot tub was HOT but it worked and the pool was very nice also. Breakfast was normal sausage eggs cereal. All in all I would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driveallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoine A, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Antoine Altawil
General Manager
Clarion Hotel
734-665-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The impression from the outside was not very attractive.........renovation project/tapes, etc. The inside, however, was much better.
My husband and I were checked into a room that smelled like old smoking place. Neither of us smoke, and there was a no smoking sign on the door, however, it was unpleasant. We let them know, and they quickly put us in a different room, only to realize the room had already been assigned to someone else. My husband was already in the room when someone else unlocked the door and entered. Meanwhile, I was at the front desk getting assigned to a different room after they realized the error! We then moved to this last assigned room which was on 4th floor, and much better.
Breakfast was great, except they need to keep the area cleaner. Tables were not cleaned after use. I even saw a family braiding each other's hair after they had eaten, and staff said nothing!
No designated smoking areas, so guests smokes right outside the entrance, and you get greeted by cigarette smoke as you exit or about to enter the building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 575traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed here for the U of M graduation weekend. Our room was $269 per night. It was dark, dingy, dated and desperately in need of renovation.

The shower was broken. The room smelled bad. There was a giant jacuzzi tub that looked like it had been lifted from the set of a 70's porn movie. The ceiling above the tub was both mildewed and flaking off. When the cleaner came in to give the room the most perfunctory once over I have ever seen he said: "you didn't use that, right ? No need to clean..." I imagined what had gone on in there previously and wondered when it was last cleaned.

What else? Oh, check in was a nightmare. I had pre-paid for my room and paid for a night in advance so I could check in early. They told me, at 6 a.m., that the room had been listed as a no show and my reservation cancelled. I objected, saying they had charged me for the room and I had confirmed that it would be available. Their answer? Tough luck. I will not bore you with the details, but it was a stunning example of both indifference and incompetence all in one brief encounter.

If I could give it a negative dot rating, I would.

Room Tip: Find one in another hotel. If you still choose to stay here, well, you have been warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SFTraveler009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure staying at this hotel last night from the time I walked in to the time I left my overall experience exceeded my expectations. From fast Wi-Fi to a very good breakfast this morning and everything in between. If you're looking for a hotel in the Ann Arbor area this is the hotel to come too. The best thing is I was able to find a great rate on this hotel using HotelCoupons dot com.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoYoManDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel is in dire need of a huge renovation. Our room was very beat up. Cracks, dents, tiniest bathroom ever. Long hair on the bathroom floor from someone else. Ugh. Drapes did not fully close and light poured into the room. Cannot recommend this place.

Room Tip: Easy access to I-94, but not much else around this hotel's immediate location. Do not get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor

Property: Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor
Address: 2900 Jackson Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48103 (Formerly Clarion Hotel and Conference Center W)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown, two miles from the University of Michigan, and nearby a wealth of Ann Arbor businesses and attractions, we invite you to stay at our Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor hotel. Whether your travels bring you to visit a loved one or to conduct business at Toyota Technical Center, or to visit a student at The University of Michigan, our location, as well as our first-class service, will ensure you are comfortable throughout your stay. In addition to a great location, Detroit Metro Airport (DTW) is a mere 21 miles away, as well as a myriad of Ann Arbor and Detroit attractions, sporting events, and parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Ann Arbor
Best Western Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Best Western
Wyndham Garden Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing