We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has become a dump!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place has become a dump!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This used to be a nice hotel (for Ann Arbor, though the football crowd will settle for anything). Now it is falling apart, with screaming, noisy fans, loud air system, no window screens, loud compact fluorescent lightbulbs, dirty sinks, moldy tub-showers, dirty carpets, horridly lumpy pillows, etc. Because of a leaky ceiling, there were chairs stationed in the hallway; isn't that a violation of the fire code? The receptionists are snooty and could not care less about what goes on in the hotel. And avoid the dull, overpriced restaurant. This place is a rip off.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticatlarge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    109
    65
    38
    20
See reviews for
142
69
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Our room smelled like a very powerful deodorizer with a questionable underlying smell.. We suspected vomit. They wouldn’t refund us our money – only give us a new room. After smelling that room, I didn’t want to be in that hotel anymore because it seemed dirty. We ended up driving home that night. Poor customer service!

Room Tip: Avoid room 115, it smelled like vomit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abigail37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

the decor including dark rugs and low ceiling make the place feel like a retirement home.the staff were helpful and friendly. the pool was large, the hot tub and exexrcise rooms small and crowded. the location good if you have a car-next to a large mall and I94. seemed like the other hotels around it which had smaller facilities but were cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

It smells , I felt sick , itchy terrible I'm sorry I would rather stay at a motel .. The smell is a nasty molded smell the carpet was nasty , felt tortured had be up at 6am could not sleep no laudry rooms anything u ask for they dnt have u have to go next door to holiday inn to eat or even get wifi service .. I dnt understand this place if business should have been shutdown before someone really get sick they don't believe in air or carpet fresher I'm very disappoint there's more but it sums it up to terrible!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakiaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Was an average hotel. Definitley not a 4 or 5 star, as would be assumed from a "Luxury Property" title on the front sign. Average to small sized rooms, with tiny bathrooms. Had an "old hotel" smell to it... Air conditioning was very effective, and very humid throughout the hotel. Would not be my first choice of a place to go back to... Staff and reception was very nice and pleasant, check in was easy, but just not the nicest of hotels!

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HammadTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed twice at the Kensington. The May visit (3 nights) was very comfortable and nice so I booked another room for the summer during the city's Art fair. This room was not renovated. The air conditioning barely worked, the bed was not comfortable (in May it was great!) and worse the shower had mold along the caulking and on the ceiling.
I mentioned this at check out and was told the next time I might want to book a room at the hotel next door that was newer. Really?

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank whoseblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed for one night befor to leave for the hooneymoon.
I picked the romantic package at the executive level... I saw the same level at the regular level in others hotels.
the hotel is old but it is clean. It is absolutely overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benth0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.2 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor
The Kensington Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing