We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place for your next event!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“THE place for your next event!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I attended the Holiday Party on Dec. 3rd. Everthing, from the welcome greeting at the nametag station to the "Thanks for coming" as I left, was outstanding. The holiday decor was elegant but not 'stuffy' and the food stations were all top-notch. The chorus, singing holiday music, added to the festivities. My company has hosted several events here. The entire staff is friendly and accomodating. We work with Amie Mongeau in the Catering Dept. She is tremendously helpful, thorough and a pleasure to work with! Amie always helps us select food and decor that impress our guests. Note: The hotel has recently undergone extensive renovations so everything is fresh and beautiful. I highly recommend the Kensington Court for your next event!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    120
    67
    41
    23
See reviews for
155
80
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently stayed at Kensington, there is currently construction going on, which was not the problem, the problem was (and not sure if it's only on floor 1) but the beds in the room were horrible, not comfortable or big by any means, I would say maybe a twin size? Also, to turn the fan on at night, (to hear some noise to sleep) was only kicking out HOT air, no matter what temp it was on. So not worth the money!

Room Tip: try to get a room not on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I attended the Holiday Party hosted by the Hotel in the Grand Ballroom on December 3rd. What a wonderful event, with the most beautiful decorations, the greatest food, and such a pleasant and helpful staff. You really couldn't ask for a better holiday celebration!!!

The food tasting stations had everything that my wife and I really appreciate. The pan seared scallops were prepared fresh, with a special sauce, and were delicious! I didn't want to move from the seafood station, there were so many tempting offerings. The lobster bisque was superb and the homemade eggnog ice cream on the hot apple dumplings were to die for! Everything that I tried was excellent!

The hotel management and staff should be complimented for planning and executing such a successful event! I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone planning a special party or event.

I look forward to my continued visits to Graham's (the hotel's restaurant), as the offerings and service are top notch as well!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I attended the holiday party at the Kensington as a business event held by the hotel. The ballroom was beautifully decorated and is a very nice venue. The variety of food offered was amazing and I sampled many of the items offered. Everything was really good except for their egg rolls. Those were average, at best. Their chocolate lava cake was too sweet for me, but was beautifully prepared and others may have liked it. Overall, it was a very nice event, well staffed and served, with excellent food. It is a great place for a wedding reception, large business dinner/meeting or other events.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I wanted to say Thank You - Kensington Hotel, for having my wife and I at the Kensington Holiday VIP Party! You always put on a very nice event and make everyone feel very welcomed and special!
The hospitality and food tasting stations were excellent. This is a must-attend event that!

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were invited to the VIP Holiday part on December 3rd in the Grand ballroom. The room was beautifully decorated and the strolling choir was a nice, festive touch. We were amazed at the selection of food stations! Everything we tried was absolutely delicious! Congrats to all the staff who made this a very nice event!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Don't know if prices are jacked up just for football weekends or if this is always the price. Clean rooms with pleasant staff but older hotel with low ceilings and long walk to room. Small bathrooms. Had trouble adjusting room temp. Very hot. No real complaints but worth about $150 per night not the $250 I paid. Just average.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 mi away
Weber's
Weber's
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Property: The Kensington Hotel
Address: 3500 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1632 (Formerly Kensington Court)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kensington Hotel is the premier destination in Ann Arbor for overnight accommodations, your next meeting, wedding, family gathering or staycation. Conveniently located just of of I-94 and State Street exit near Briarwood Mall. Come enjoy our recently renovated guest rooms and Union! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Court Ann Arbor
The Kensington Hotel Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing