We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a Cheap Short Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Kansas
Level Contributor
281 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ok for a Cheap Short Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stopped in at this hotel about 1:30AM after driving in snow, slick roads and white outs. The room was clean and was supposed to have been renovated. The carpet appeared fairly new, new sink in bathroom, new faucets. They had partially painted one wall with white paint; part of the wall was white and upper part was a dingy white. We only stayed about 7 hours to get a little sleep before continuing on, so it was ok. Would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digetydog2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msayed, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Red Roof Inn. I am glad the cleanliness of our rooms met your expectations.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your partially renovated room. We are constantly making improvements to our buildings and rooms, so I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken.

At Red Roof Inn, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give Red Roof Inn the opportunity to better serve you the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Respectfully,
Magdalena Sayed
General Manager

Red Roof Inn-U of M, South- Ann Arbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    56
    47
    21
    17
See reviews for
64
30
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Up in AA for an interview, just needed a cheap place to stay for one night close by. The Red Roof offered everything I needed..place to stay, free internet, close to freeway and to U-Mich, across from a nice mall, and even a surprisingly generous free continental breakfast. Nice stay, no problems with room except the TV remote was missing (might have falling behind the bed...I didn't look), no bugs, no mold, nothing to complain about. Friendly staff at the desk too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyZ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msayed, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Feedback is helpful as we are always working to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I'm so glad our location met your needs on your quick trip to the Ann Arbor area.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Magdalena Sayed
General Manager
Red Roof Inn-U of M, South- Ann Arbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

I did not have much money and I needed nice, safe place to stay. The staff was nice and my room was clean and modern. My only concern was the towels were thin. There are a bunch of hotels in that area, this one is nice. I know the chain may have a bad reputation, but this one is nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msayed, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Magdalena Sayed
General Manager
Red Roof Inn-U of M, South- Ann Arbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

My mom and I come down for treatments at U of M every couple of months. We love staying at Red Roof Inn. It's the most convenient location to everything in the area. Downtown is only 2 miles away, shopping is right across the street, and lots of food options. The staff is always great and proffesional. They make sure to accomodate us in our request for a floor room everytime since my mom is older and has trouble getting up the stairs. We love the convenince of having a breakfast too. We were pleasantly surprised to see a sign, now offering a shuttle to U of M Hospital. The driver was very imformative about the area and made our drive to the hospital seem quick. This place just gets better and better everytime, keep up the good work Red Roof.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NORA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is an older hotel and certainly not as plush as some that are nearby. But the rooms I have been in (King) have been recently remodeled and they are very CLEAN. It is by far the least expensive hotel I've found in Ann Arbor this close to central campus. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep that doesn't break the bank, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DME88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here the weekend of the Michigan/Iowa game. The price was reasonable for a football weekend so overall we were happy with it. The location was good, right off the highway and easy access to the stadium. The rooms have been renovated, so aesthetically they were nice. The bathrooms and especially the shower were a little tiny, but we managed. The fridge and microwave in the room was a nice ammenity. I was a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. It looked like the carpet had not been vaccuumed, but overall, not a bad stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed Fir /Sat Nov -16 &17th. Room was clean and comfortable, spacious and had hot showers! It was pretty packed so we were anxious about the hot water, but it never ran out. The room rate was a little high because of college football weekend, but better than other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#21 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#25 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 481081631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U Of Michigan South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing