We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you look for in an ordinary hotel room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Everything you look for in an ordinary hotel room.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly, nice continental breakfast, reasonably priced. As far as basic hotel accommodations go, I was quite satisfied. I wouldn't want to live there, but otherwise.... I really don't have anything to complain about. I've stayed in other hotels (including other Red Roof Inns) that weren't as nice. No problem recommending. I had absolutely no concerns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    57
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
64
32
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We came to Ann Arbor for the Jr Olympics at the University. We did not book through the hotel (we used the aau advisor) but they ensured us that it was a great hotel for the area and the other hotel our team stayed at was booked. The front desk staff was great, check in was a simple and easy process. However, once inside the room, we found roaches. I called the desk and asked that the room be sprayed. They ensured me that maybe it was a junebug and they sprayed for roaches once a week. I informed them that it was definitely roaches and she said the maintenance guy would spray when he got there at 11:30am...no one showed up. My husband went to the desk and again they promised he would come out and spray. NO ONE CAME! The cleaning crew used profanity, were very unprofessional and very loud, some with name tags/some without, not what I expect for 91.00 a night!!! The breakfast was drab, no pool (not the hotels fault, aau stated they had a pool and exercise room and had neither) one washer and one dryer so you had to wait in line to wash....I can go on and on. Needless to say, I informed aau of all of these problems and asked them to please take this hotel off their list of recommened hotels. Location was good..across from the mall (it has no food court strangely) but if you can, stay somewhere else. I have never stayed at a red roof inn and after this experience, I will never again. Hope this helps someone make a better choice and I hope the owner sees this and makes some changes since they own the Comfort Inn next door to it. (which looked 200% better than this one..hate they had no vacancy)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasheedah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

There were several conferences going on in Ann Arbor the weekend we needed to stay. This was the only area motel I could find a room. Check in was fine, friendly staff. Lobby was a bit shabby but clean.

Our room was in the back with only one tight driveway in and out. Everything was fine when we brought our belongings in. The room was clean although under the sheets the mattresses looked old and stained. Bathroom area was nicely redone.

Later in the evening when we returned from dinner, people seemed to be loitering around outside and smoking outside their rooms. Also no parking near our room. It really felt unsafe to me.


Triple locked our door and had a relatively quite night. The next morning people were loitering around outside the lobby in their pajamas...weird.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennrn915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, WI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

For the price, this is a very nice hotel. I was surprised by some of the other reviews. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly and they had a nice contenental breakfast (most Red Roof's we've stayed in don't have anything or very limited). I would recommend this hotel if you just need a place ot sleep and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor. There is no elevator at Red Roofs with only 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirmanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

1. GREAT Hotel Staff
2. Updated guest rooms ( Clean ) with flat screen tv's, microwave & refrigerator
3. Convenient to U of M
4. Seconds from 94
5. 1/2 mile from Briarwood Mall
6. Many restaurants are within 3-5 minutes
7. Continental breakfast served in lobby along with vending/ice
8. Park right outside of your door
9. Sound proof ~ never heard next door neighbors
10. AAA discount / very affordable

Room Tip: Choose Outer Rooms to be close to your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swagginwagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The property is right off of exit and 3 miles from Univ. of Michigan so it is very convenient. For details see the travellers' photos, the property is no better no worse than the photos.

My room was clean and odorless. AC worked great. The bathroom was renovated but small (not a problem). Bedsheets were thick cotton and very comfortable, so was the mattress. Towels were a bit 'scratchy' but I happen to like them that way, I don't care for 'soft' ones which are less absorbent. Room had refrigerator and microwave which I didn't use but I can understand that these usually have more utility than coffeemaker and iron which were NOT available in the room. If you are paying $90 or less, this is a great stay. IF you are paying $100 you won't find the amenities such as elevators, pool, exercise room, coffeemaker, iron etc.

Breakfast was plentiful, Danishes, fresh fruit, breads/bages boiled eggs and cereal. Juices were not up to par, coffee was good.

The best part was the VERY HELPFUL AND CARING staff. They were courteous, helpful in giving directions and helping with other requests and they seemed to actually care if all my needs were met and I had a good stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Banned for smoking in room. I was only one who stayed in room and I don't smoke. Woman next room over smoked all night on balcony outside. Police were all over the place and kids partied Til 4 am. Hahaha

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumponin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
1.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#28 of 34 in Ann Arbor
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U Of Michigan South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing