We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help when we needed it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Help when we needed it”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After the winter classic hockey game that took place in Ann Arbor new year's day, our group was unable to secure a taxi for our short 20 minute ride back to our Belleville Red Roof. After walking for 1+ hours we finally made it to the University South Red Roof and as we had no phone to dial a cab, we decided to ask for help from the staff at the front desk. We were helped by Jason and Londan, who were very polite, courteous, and understanding of our situation. They were very patient as I made exasperated phone calls to cab company after cab company, and Jason even went as far as to look up limousine companies as an alternative way to get "home". After many phone calls we were finally successful and were able to be on our way. Just wanted to say thank you again to the exceptional staff working on this night you made the difference in our trip. These two deserve a raise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Although you didn't stay at our Red Roof Inn, we appreciate your positive comments. I am so pleased to hear Londan and Jason were able to help you with your travel needs during your trip to Ann Arbor. We continuously aim to provide the best possible service and are glad you were able to take advantage of this.

All of your comments will be passed onto our staff, as they are much appreciated and always welcomed.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,
Magdalena Sayed
General Manager
Red Roof Inn-U of M, South- Ann Arbor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    57
    48
    21
    18
See reviews for
64
31
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently stayed at this location as I do every time the Buckeyes play UM. The check-in process was extremely fast and the staff was courteous. It is a very busy weekend for all the employees. the room was clean. I needed extra towels and went directly to the front desk where the manager promptly had extras in the closet and apologized.. We had a two extra people in the room that with a single queen. Although there were towels in the room it was no problem getting towels. the Breakfast buffet in morning was clean and organized. Check-out was just as fast.

Room Tip: Corner ones near back are best. We did not use the pool or fitness center. Plenty of room for corn h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived around 6:00pm and checked into our room. Beware of the steps up to any room on the upper floor. They are wooden, steep, and slippery. The first room we were given keys to hadn't been cleaned. The bed was a mess and a maid clearly hadn't been through the room at all. The receptionist met us upstairs and gave us keys to the room next door. That one smelled moldy, but we were in too much of a hurry to request another transfer. The keys worked intermittently. We ended up leaving at 1:00am because the hotel was far too loud. People running up and down the halls outside, yelling, standing outside of rooms smoking. It was just not anything that could be considered relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor if you have any issues with steep, slick stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrantonVeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I'm partial to Red Roof Inns becase they provide an excellent value. This was the worst of the ones I've stayed at.

I arrived late at night with my young child and had to return to the front desk TWICE from my assigned second floor room because they keys didn't work. After being assigned another room, things did get better. To be fair, upon check-out, one of the ladies staffing the evening we arrived said that they had fixed the problem and that she hoped the second room had been to our liking.

The beds, bathroom, fridge and amenities were decent. The carpet wasn't in great shape. The way the parking lot is configured is very awkward for many of the rooms because you can't go all the way around the property.

The least pleasant part of the stay was having the smokers congregate on the balcony late at night. Their loud chit-chat was unpleasant.

Having said all this, at $60.00 a night, across from the Mall, the Red Roof Inn does provide value comparable to the price. It provided my son and I a place to sleep, shower, keep food in the fridge and relax and watch some TV after an active day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Abiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after a michigan football game. The rooms is average withnew Samsung tv's, clean carpet, a comfy beds. However the bathroom is dungeon like. A bit of mold on the ceiling in the shower. Better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In Ann Arbor for a scheduled Medical procedure.Hotel is in need of updates. Room was clean,bathtub was not very clean,debris on floor and hair tub. I would think that in a city like Ann Arbor,Red Roof would make sure their properties would be above average. Front desk and check in was out standing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tplaisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just back from my son's move to the University of Michigan. Clean, comfortable and well-sized room very conveniently located in relation to the school, Bed, Bath and Beyond, Target and Best Buy. Lots of food options close by open early and late. Great value. Breakfast not as good as the Holiday Inn Express close by but rates were also cheaper here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludette867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#11 of 34 in Ann Arbor
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U Of Michigan South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing