We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Marysville, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly”
Reviewed 18 October 2008

I needed a cheap place to stay one night and this was very good.

Continental breakfast was OK; room was comfy; bathroom is small, but sink area roomy.

Wireless internet didn't work, but not for lack of trying by the staff.

I'd recommend for anyone needing a room for a couple nights - not much more than that, but that's all you need sometimes.

  • Liked — Affordable and clean
  • Disliked — Wireless internet didn't work
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jhvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    57
    48
    21
    18
See reviews for
64
31
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2008

After reading some of the other reviews, I was hesitant to stay at this hotel. However, because we were looking for a budget hotel my husband and I decided to give it a try, and I'm happy we did. The hotel looks sort of rundown from the outside, but the staff was friendly and professional, the room was clean, and the complementary continental breakfast -- although not anything spectacular -- was a great way to save some money on breakfast. Also, while at some hotels the continental breakfast looks like it was set out and then forgotten about, here there was someone checking up on it every ten minutes or so, adding more food, emptying the trashcans, and wiping down the tables. All in all, I'm very glad we chose this hotel, and would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive hotel. It was nothing special, but for less than sixty dollars a night it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Calliope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2008

I took a chance on this location after reading the reviews here on Trip Advisor. I was in Ann Arbor attending a weekend of teaching by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and just wanted a place to call home while in Ann Arbor.

The room was modern and clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. The free continental breakfast was quite simple and a nice addition to what I consider to be a very reasonable price of $55 per night.

I couldn't have asked for a better experience considering what I paid. I will say that the bathroom is indeed small, the television only gets about 20 channels, only about half of the free expresso options were available as the others were out of order, and the walls were pretty thin as I could hear people coming and going and also conversations in the room next door as I was trying to take an afternoon nap.

The room was clean! The staff friendly! The price was cheap! If you just need a place to crash while in town, this is a steal! If you are planning on spending lots of time in the room I would probably stay someplace else, but if you want something affordable and practical then this is it!

  • Liked — the price was a steal for what you get / continental breakfast
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culture_connaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

I stay in many hotels, from simple 3 stars (like this one, supposedly) to 5 stars. But one of the things that is most important for me is the price/quality ratio. The Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor South is a hotel that scores just optimal on this ratio!!!

Having stayed in one Red Roof Inn before, namely in Victoria BC in Sept 2006, I wanted to try this one as well. Actually I wanted to stay in one of the many other hotels around exit 177 near Briarwood Mall (as a group was staying there), but the price of the other hotel was a bit too high for what it seemed to offer (125usd pn). So I started looking for another hotel, and found the RRI, which cost only 60usd, including taxes, breakfast, free wifi. A great value by definition. Moreover, the room is just really comfortable. The bed room itself is large, very clean and has a litle table, two drawers, a little fridge, microwave. The beds are great, nice soft top with fluffy pillows, it seems all new. Certainly the place is spotless clean, something that cannot be said about the much more expensive places. The bathroom is a bit older, but also clean and just exactly what you need, including shampoo and soap.

The breakfast is typical american (baggle, some "minute maid" OJ, coffee machine with different types of coffee and chocolate, some fruit, danish pastries etc. Just exactly what you find at the more expansive places. All machines were new and again spotless clean.

Staff is friendly, helpful and responsive. I wanted to check in early and also check out late... no problem for them. They also helped me with some other issues.

All in all I'm writing such a long review because I really think this hotel is just a fantastic choice. Not only does it offer a fantastic price/quality ratio, but also in absolute terms it is a very good place to stay. Comparing it with real 4 stars (i.e. hotels that actually earn this degree of recognition) I believe this hotel comes very close! So, another supergood Red Roof Inn experience!

  • Liked — great quality/price ratio
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying_Dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2007

I recognise that it was not an expensive motel however I would highly recommend paying a bit extra to stay somewhere nicer.

PROS:
- Across the road from Briarwood Mall (although it is a very busy road to cross).

CONS:
- Very poor reception staff. Not interested in you at all.
- Didn't accept travellers checks, the ATM was broken and I couldn't do an online transfer so I had to walk to the nearest gas station to find an ATM (thankfully not too far)
- Forced to haul a 75 pound suitcase up (and later down) a flight of stairs as no one would help when I asked for assistance (I am a small female!)
- I was there for New Years Eve and there were at least 50 people partying VERY loudly in the parking lot until 3 or 4 in the morning.. not a thing was done about this. I felt very unsafe.. I literally had my suitcase against the door (maybe it's lucky it was so heavy after all?)

The only good thing about my stay was its location across from Briarwood Mall.. however there are many other hotels as close or closer which seem to be much, much nicer.

  • Liked — Location across the road from a mall
  • Disliked — Very poor staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laurrrenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

I'm sure this once was a nice hotel but that it no longer the case. Our first problem occured as soon as we arrived and tried to open the door - we found out from the guests in the next room that you need to "play" with the card and swipe it slowly and then quickly several times to get your door to unlock. Once we were finally inside the deadbolt on the door and the chain lock were both broken - we obviously didn't feel safe.

The carpet in the room was filthy leaving our socks and feet black. Wallpaper was peeling in several areas. The grout in the bathroom was black and the fixtures looked ancient. There were stains on the bathroom ceiling and it was gross. We also had 2 ashtrays in a non-smoking room. The fitted sheets on the bed did not fit and there were holes in the blankets.

To make matters even worse there were cockroaches!!! I'm not sure how many my husband killed in the 2 nights we stayed there - he lost count.

Since we were there for the NASCAR race every hotel in Ann Arbor was filled to capacity including this one so we couldn't go elsewhere otherwise we would have. We didn't feel safe staying here and the kids were terrified even though they didn't see any bugs.

The good points about this hotel - the location is great. It is close to the highway and there are several restaurants in the area. It was also very quiet we couldn't hear the people above us or the people on either side, however, if someone walked by your room you could definately here them.

Bottom line, I'd rather sleep in the car than stay here again - at least it would be cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blonde_Barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#30 of 34 in Ann Arbor
148 reviews
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Property: Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Address: 3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U Of Michigan South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing