We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not close to Main Campus of UM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked a weekend to visit our daughter and attend a Michigan football game at The Big House. This hotel was a good Holiday Inn. Given the substantial increase in rates to accommodate an "event" weekend, Holiday Inn hotel management should have used the extra revenue to have an adequate number of employees to handle the larger than normal crowd. Waiting significantly extra time to check in made us see "red," not "blue." It seemed that all hotel services were delayed because of the full house. The usual things room accommodations, cleanliness, were consistent with an average Holiday Inn - passable nothing spectacular.
The annoying issue is the misleading banner: Holiday Inn/University of Michigan. The main campus is at least a 20 minute ( and more likely a 30 minute) car/cab ride from the hotel. It is not at all walkable. The hotel staff tried to justify their misleading moniker by saying that the Inn was close to the North Campus -the Siberia of UM housing for unfortunate freshmen and the engineering school. There is a shuttle (if the van has not broken down) and a goodly number of cabs. But still it is way far from the main campus. Well, as our first trip to AA it was a learning experience - don't trust the hotel advertising banner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoPlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is a good option if you are looking for an Ann Arbor hotel near the I-94 junction. The hotel was clean and included free breakfast, which was pretty good. The hotel is a few minutes from downtown Ann Arbor, but it is much less expensive than the downtown Ann Arbor hotel options. In sum, I would rate this a solid hotel, but not a great option without a car.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank sc_caywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I’m always a bit leery when a property has a new look when you enter. The lobby has a fresh new look. The halls and rooms have been redecorated. While there are still some signs of the bones of this hotel, they’ve done a nice job reworking things to look fresh. The carpeting and the chair and ottoman in my room were a fresh new look. The bathrooms are still the original walls (read: it’s small in there) but the new fixtures make things nice even if they no longer offer the heat lamp I appreciate in the winter. The bath needed some attention from maintenance and that was handled quickly. I also commend the staff for how well they dealt with the 300 (I was told) people there for a hockey trournament. I reviewed the restaurant separately since it really is the same as it was before . . . a disappointment. The freshness and location still make this a property good for any visit but especially if you are needing to visit Concordia University, just one exit south.

Room Tip: The backside of the property is wonderfully quiet . . . no noise carry over from the pool area at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn because it was on the list of Big Bear Hockey Tournament hotels.
I always brace myself to be treated as second class citizens by hotels when with a hockey group.
This was one of the best experiences in the 5 years we have been playing hockey. The staff was always professional and accomadaing. The breakfast buffet was nice and quite a positive change from most complimentary continental breakfasts. The kids all had a great time and at no point were they made to feel unwelcome like some other hockey tournament sponsored hotels.
Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are outside rooms and inside rooms that face the pool. Be aware when asking for quiet or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbill97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is the best one I have ever been in.The staff is all extremely friendly and very helpful.The hotel is extremely beautiful and well set up.Absolutely loved the pool/whirlpool area.The hotel shuttle van was a huge help for me and my family,as we didn't know our way around the town and it took the stress out of driving in a strange city.The restaurant has good food,prices were reasonable,and had great service.The room itself was amazing and we couldn't have topped it anywhere else in our opinion.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Great hotel to stay at. The rooms were clean and it was pretty quiet even though it is close to U of M. It's not too far from the dowtoen area which makes it easy travel and it does have some restaurants across the street as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liannamulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It was football weekend and the prepaid rate went from $99.00 to $239.00. While this is to be expected (and all the other local hotels did the same thing) this two star property was ill-suited to provide its guests with even satisfactory service. The dining experience is to be avoided, especially at breakfast. My room rate included breakfast. After the first morning, and waiting 40 minutes for eggs (they were out of bacon), I went to the front desk and asked to be credited for that breakfast (there is a 100% guaranty) as well as the next two mornings breakfasts. Only a partial credit appeared on my folio for one day. Most of the restaurant staff seemed upset they were working on football weekend. Paying what the market will bear is understandable, but along with that, the hotel should put a little effort into treating guests properly and being prepared for a busy weekend. I have stayed at this property over the years and the recent remodeling improved the stay. Set your expectations accordingly. This property is conveniently located with easy highway access, but underneath it all it is still a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Robert K,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan

Address: 3600 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range: £89 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst all other Ann Arbor hotels, discover Ann Arbor's friendliest hotel. Your stay will always begin with a smile. We are conveniently located at US 23 and Plymouth Rd. just 25 minutes from (DTW) Detroit Metro Airport, the University of Michigan, the Big House, the U of M Hospital and Domino s Pizza. Experience the best live blues music and dancing in Ann Arbor at Guy Hollerin's Restaurant and Bar every Saturday evening. Our Ann Arbor restaurant features the best happy hour and will help you unwind after work. Our relaxing executive floor features private key access, hardwood floors, pillow top mattresses, refrigerator and microwaves and luxurious bath amenities. Our Ann Arbor hotel is pet friendly. We are proud to offer a free around town shuttle based on advanced reservations. Relax and swim in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub for family getaways. Our Ann Arbor weddings and banquet space can accommodate up to 300 people with free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University Of Michigan Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing