We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Golden, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice hotel for a college town. Large, has an adequate bar where you can get a double gin and tonic. Mix of parents and wild students running around the hotel. Just what you would expect. It was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    74
    49
    13
    9
See reviews for
71
30
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Booked two rooms for three nights surrounding the NHL Winger Classic - spacious and quiet adjoining rooms, friendly staff that aren't frazzled by the fan base who arrive mainly wearing Blue & White! Beds are comfy, showers great. Nearby is a Busch grocery store to stock up on essentials for teens and parents to snack and drink.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithKECA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear TravelsWithKECA,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel has been recently updated and the rooms look nice and modern. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant was decent. There are plenty of restaurants nearby if you want to eat dinner elsewhere. I didn't have a chance to try the pool or fitness center but they looked nice. The pool is smallish but has a connected indoor and outdoor section.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn on the outskirts of Ann Arbor for the Christmas holiday this year while I visited family. The facility is under renovation, and my room was spotless -- I noticed just how bright white the new tile in the bathroom was -- rare sight in a hotel. Admittedly, Christmas is a weird time for hotels, and this one was almost empty, but it's also a good test of how they rise to the occasion. This one fell short. Walking in and out of the lobby, staff were invisible at most hours. The pool and exercise room were unexpectedly shut down for renovation and a note slipped under room doors to tell us, but no mention of a refund -- and this was one reason I'd booked this hotel. The restaurant hours around the holiday were shortened and it was closed on Christmas morning with one older man sitting in the lobby pointing to a sort of continental breakfast in a lobby alcove -- if you noticed him and walked up to him. And this with a "breakfast package" offered at booking. Overall, it felt like no one was in charge of the hotel over the holiday and they might as well have closed. The people I did interact with were nice, but communication and hospitality were weak.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bufordwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear bufordwx,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience and appreciate your feedback. Please accept my apologies for your less than satisfactory stay and apologize that our hotel staff service and amenities fell below your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Again, thank you for your review. We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that there was an indoor/outdoor pool. But when we arrived with our 8 grand children we were disappointed to find out that the outdoor portion of the heated pool was closed until March. We had been telling them how much fun it would be to swim under the partition into the winter air, and we were very dismayed that the hotel did not state in any form that the amenities were changed. In fact, if you look up their site now, you will see that they still advertise this amenity. If we wanted to just swim in a pool we could have saved traveling an extra hour. Thanks for the heads up holiday inn.

Room Tip: Find another place that values customer service before profits, also their world class workout faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichDandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear MichDandR,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with our pool area. We deeply regret that this aspect has negatively impacted your overall stay with us.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Dearborn, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We found out, upon arrival, that the hotel offers a free shuttle to the UM Medical Center area. For people concerned with their appointments and procedures, this is a fantastic service. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. We paid less for a large suite than we have for many ordinary rooms. Decent food. Easy access to local expressways and North Campus and Medical Center areas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Donna A,

Thank you for your glowing review! Our main goal is to ensure that we have met all of your needs and made you feel at home. I will pass along your comments to our staff, which will make them feel wonderful! I hope that when you are back in Ann Arbor, that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has gone through some good renovation work and is a good product at the price point. My stay was quiet and comfortable but I must note I was here on a very light travel night with low occupancy. No groups or sports teams. The hotel public area hallways did carry the chlorine odor of the swimming pool, similar to older "Holidome" properties. Like other renovated Holiday Inns it falls a bit short of the crisp quality I've experienced in newer examples of the brand, but is not a surprise and offers good value. My limited contact with front desk staff at check in was pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WARSAWRUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear WARSAWRUN,

Thank you for your review, we value your feedback and appreciate your honesty. I was pleased to read about your comfortable stay and thank you for your compliments. You observation regarding the pool is very helpful and has been brought to the attention of our chief engineer.

I do hope that you will choose our hotel again, when you are back in Ann Arbor.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.2 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan

Property: Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Address: 3600 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst all other Ann Arbor hotels, discover Ann Arbor's friendliest hotel. Your stay will always begin with a smile. We are conveniently located at US 23 and Plymouth Rd. just 25 minutes from (DTW) Detroit Metro Airport, the University of Michigan, the Big House, the U of M Hospital and Domino s Pizza. Experience the best live blues music and dancing in Ann Arbor at Guy Hollerin's Restaurant and Bar every Saturday evening. Our Ann Arbor restaurant features the best happy hour and will help you unwind after work. Our relaxing executive floor features private key access, hardwood floors, pillow top mattresses, refrigerator and microwaves and luxurious bath amenities. Our Ann Arbor hotel is pet friendly. We are proud to offer a free around town shuttle based on advanced reservations. Relax and swim in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub for family getaways. Our Ann Arbor weddings and banquet space can accommodate up to 300 people with free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University Of Michigan Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing