We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
tappan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My reservation for a king size bed wasn't there
The room was so small ...
The dinner I ate made me wish I hadn't
But the no 1 complaint
Hotel tried to double bill me for the same meal
Once as a dining charge and than co-mingled with my hotel room
When I called the hotel to report the double billing Stephanie Michalik was anything but professional
If I hadn't looked the double billing, a clear violation, would have remained on my card
You have choices, don't let this hotel be one of them

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hopejudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Hopejudith,


Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your feedback. Regarding your reservation, we do try to honor each and every request for room types, especially when they have come across our system as another type. If we would have had the room type available, we would have gladly placed you in a king size room. I apologize that the room size was not to your liking, we did just fully renovate our hotel. While doing so, we were unable to expand the room type but we did do our best to stage the room with movement in mind.

I apologize but there isn't very much information on your restaurant experience, but I am sorry that you didn't feel it was to your liking. If you have the opportunity, I would like to hear more about your experience.

I have spoken with Stephanie regarding the double billing to your account, which I do apologize for the confusion. She did follow proper protocol, though we understand your frustration with us asking for a bit more information on the charge, we do have to follow checks and balances on our end. However, that error should not have happened and we do appreciate your patience.

Thank you again for taking the time to reach out, Hopejudith. If you are in the area again, we would like the opportunity to make it right and redeem our location for you.

Kind Regards,

Tausha Vargas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    73
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
70
30
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Nice place, we are in the exeutive suites to work for a few weeks. Room is nice except a couple of little things. I have a big king bed and lounge chair & tree outside my window which makes a pleasant view. Too bad I can't open the window for the beautiful weather we're having! Sunny 70s I hate AC unless it's hot, really wish I could have a breeze instead plus the AC is terribly loud. So you go from complete quiet to the unit kicking on so I didn't get much sleep the first 2 nights. Also - why do nice places like this give you cheap little plastic cups for the bathroom instead of a glass?

The pool looks nice, will go check it out today while I do laundry though I noted 2/4 machines were broke. Hope this doesn't take all day. But I do have all day since I HAD TO CALL OFF WORK YESTERDAY AND TODAY!!

Which is the real reason I'm writing to warn you NOT TO EAT IN THE HOTEL RESTAURANT. I got food poisoning from their Thursday night special of a small cheeseburger and fries. I started getting really sick in the early morning hours of 3 am thinking nothing major until I started with constant diarrhea and vomitting at 5 am until last night. I was so sick, tried to sleep as much as possible because every movement caused me to run to the bathroom.l Lost 3 hours of pay from yesterday and 16 hours of pay for today. I am HERE TO WORK, NOT SLEEP, so this makes me a very unhapppy camper. I am here for 2 more weeks and now will have to go elsewhere to eat too....

Room Tip: Personally I'd rather have a room over by the pool as it looks like they have patios meaning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robineliza1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear robineliza1961,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a reservation with Hotels.com at this Holiday Inn made several months ago for an executive suite. When we got to the check in desk we were told that our reservation was cancelled. After arguing with the clerk, who happened to be rude, and calling Hotels.com, our reservation was found. The hotel clerk told us that our original room was not available but that we could get an inferior room. This was the worst experience we've ever had with a hotel reservation.
I would not recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Aee7,

Thank you for your review, I do apologize for your experiance and would like the opportuntity to speak with you regarding your Hotels.com reservation. There is limited information here for me to fully investigate your review further but I would like the opportunity to do so.

You can reach me directly at the hotel and ask for the Guest Service Manager.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

If your a woman you will not like the bathroom counter space since there is hardly any to place any of your things. The hotel is a Holiday Inn Express so you get the free breakfast and it offers a fairly good rate and close to the university but this is a property in need of a facelift and that is on the inside. The bathrooms are very small and the bedrooms are standard Holiday Inn rooms

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your review, I would like to just clarify for other guests that we are not a Holiday Inn Express. I wanted to make sure to address that part of the review first, so that future guests are not disappointed that they will not receive a free breakfast, as our sister property offers.

With the Holiday Inn Express comment, I am not sure if you did indeed mean to review our property? However, if so I do apologize that you felt our bathrooms were too small. Our property did just go through quite an extensive renovation overhaul last year, from exterior to interior. We did our best to uitlize every inch of our bathrooms to make them as spacious as possible. However, not being a newer property we were unable to expand the bathrooms to a larger size.

We appreciate your feedback, whether you meant to review our hotel or the Holiday Inn Express.
We do hope that your stay did not hinder your thoughts on our IHG properties, we come in all shapes and sizes. Our hope is that you remain a loyal customer.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night after a michigan home softball game because we went to the 1:00 game the next day as well. This hotel was very nice. The pool was awesome, my kids loved how the indoor and outdoor were connected and could swim in either one! It was very warm! My kids also enjoyed the little game area they had playing air hockey! The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here in the future!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Awilson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaushaV, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Awilson01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your feedback! The experience that you had with your family, is what we pride ourselves on. I look forward to passing your review on, we do hope that you will come and see us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The location is great. Near hospitals and the University of Michigan. The very best restaurant and bar are there and it is called Doc Hollerins. The staff makes you feel so welcome. I go to Ann Arbor several times a year, and I feel like this hotel is my home. The restaurant staff are the epitome of mid-western friendliness. I am in this fantastic restaurant every night when I am in Ann Arbor. Love it. The hotel is very clean. The maids are some of the best. They are very nice people.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenneth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had to visit the University of Michigan and when I called to make the reservation, the reservation agent was very nice and suggested since I was only there for one day, it was really unnecessary to rent a car. The hotel had a shuttle that could definitely take me to the university and later to the Amtrak train station. I made the unfortunate decision to trust her. Upon my arrival, I booked at the front desk who told me my daughter and I had seats on the shuttle at 8:15 am for arrival to the main campus at 8:30 am. We got on the shuttle and did not realize the driver was just going to the North campus to drop off some guys who were heading to engineering. When I asked the driver, he said he could not take me to the main campus as he had other passengers to pick up. Long story short, I finally got to the main campus through more negotiations on the phone with the front desk staff. I was half hour late for my appointment. The return trip was even worse. I called the hotel and they said the shuttle could not come to pick me up. I contacted 4 or 5 taxis who were all busy. I almost did not make my train. I was stranded in the middle of frigid temperatures without a vehicle. I WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Dear Renae2006,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your overall stay with us. We pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced in particular with the shuttle and front office services. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We have sent you a private message regarding this unsatisfactory experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.6 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ann Arbor
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan

Property: Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
Address: 3600 Plymouth Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2660
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amongst all other Ann Arbor hotels, discover Ann Arbor's friendliest hotel. Your stay will always begin with a smile. We are conveniently located at US 23 and Plymouth Rd. just 25 minutes from (DTW) Detroit Metro Airport, the University of Michigan, the Big House, the U of M Hospital and Domino s Pizza. Experience the best live blues music and dancing in Ann Arbor at Guy Hollerin's Restaurant and Bar every Saturday evening. Our Ann Arbor restaurant features the best happy hour and will help you unwind after work. Our relaxing executive floor features private key access, hardwood floors, pillow top mattresses, refrigerator and microwaves and luxurious bath amenities. Our Ann Arbor hotel is pet friendly. We are proud to offer a free around town shuttle based on advanced reservations. Relax and swim in our indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub for family getaways. Our Ann Arbor weddings and banquet space can accommodate up to 300 people with free wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University Of Michigan Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing