We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Tower Hotel(Ann Arbor)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor(Ann Arbor)(Great Value!)
US$126
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
52
46
28
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
46
28
23
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbi levelseparate buildingsfloor suitegallon waterdog runfull kitchenbasic toiletriesour home away from homeliving areaoutdoor poollight sleeperan extended staysmall kitchenstate streetfree breakfast isexercise roomstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms appeared to be clean but after showering our 7 year old she walked around and her feet where dirty. The carpet obviously hadn't been steamed clean in a while. Its ashame you are paying extremely high prices for what you are getting. If you paid $85+taxes per night you couldn't complain. Property is currently going through a refurbishment. Air conditioning is very noisy (DC10 is quieter). Beds are V shaped, queen (not king) and you roll into the middle. The outside is in need of some TLC. On the plus, the pool is outdoors and was excellent for our 7 year old. It was good to have an outdoor pool rather than indoor which is what we have been experiencing on our trip around the east coast. Would I stay here again, probably not. They would need to change a/c unit and upgrade their rooms before we stayed again. We paid $149+taxes for the night and we are now in Chicago at the moment staying in the Residence Inn and paying $180 including parking+taxes and the room is exceptionally good (up to Residence Inn standard).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

CassF1,

We appreciate the comments regarding your recent stay. As you noticed we are currently undergoing renovation. I’m glad to hear that the construction was not bothersome to you and that you were able to enjoy our fabulous outdoor pool! We are sorry your suite did not meet or exceed your expectations. We will be looking into your specific concerns to address any issues right away. Once completed the newly renovated rooms will have completely new décor, carpet, mattresses and exterior building. If you would like to discuss your visit in greater detail please feel free to email me at ri.arrmi.agm@marriott.com. We do hope to have the chance to accommodate your family again after the remodel. Thank you!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Neumayer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was a great experience. The staff were wonderful, the rooms were a generous size, the breakfast was very good and the cleaning staff were amazing! We saw renovations were going on and although I think our room was outdated and probably on the list, a clean room is so much more important than new appliances. I had the dishwasher cleared and reloaded while we were out for the day. I could not have asked for more. The pool and whirlpool were clean and open until late. My family feel in love with Ann Arbor and when we come back, we will positively stay at this hotel. Thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: The 9 building would be a new room and close to the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

It is so great to hear what a wonderful time you had with us. Thank you for all the amazing compliments. It is our goal to have every guest have an experience like yours, we’ll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Rooms are a bit date; room was a bit dark (not enough lamps). Location is convenient to 94, and the immediate area has a nice selection of fast food and nite spots. Good breakfast, lots of parking. They were undergoing construction while there so the breakfast service was a bit cramped but they did well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It is good to hear thank you will be back! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. As we are going through our much anticipated renovation we strive to have all our guest unaffected. We are happy you were able to still enjoy our ongoing amenities like complimentary breakfast, guest social and fitness center. See you next time at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I can't say enough positive things about the Residence Inn by Marriott in Ann Arbor. They took us in for three weeks while our house was being dried out from water damage. The entire staff made us feel like we were in our home away from home. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and stress free: the manager, sales representative, desk clerks, maintenance staff, food services, maid service - everyone we encountered. The breakfasts and dinners were first rate! Couldn't ask for more. The fitness center was always extremely clean, stocked with fresh towels and helped us with stress release due to the diversity of the equipment. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short get away or a long term stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It was our pleasure to have you here at the Residence Inn Ann Arbor! It is our goal to treat our guests like family and be a “home away from home” especially in a situation like yours. We are so happy we were able to meet out standards with your family. It’s great to hear you’ve got your home back, we look forward to seeing you again under better circumstances!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked a two room bi-level suite as we were traveling with our 16 year old daughter. The room was definitely clean, but everything else was old, tired and uncomfortable. Horrible lighting from the 1980s, ancient colors, and yes, the outdoor steps up to the room were indeed, crumbling, and coated with snow and ice (it was the middle of winter in Michigan) - downright unsafe. Breakfast room was truly odd and disjointed, with little variety and the same tired look as the rest of the property. Definitely not worth nearly what we paid for these rooms. This one has to be on Marriott's upgrade list, pronto; I would never go back unless I knew significant money had been invested.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_AGM, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and the kind compliments about our housekeeping staff and property cleanliness. Our goal is to provide every guest with a superb experience in every aspect, we apologize for not doing so. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the room décor and complimentary breakfast offerings. To address your concerns I am happy to announce our extensive multi-million dollar renovation that will begin this month. If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at ri.arrmi.agm@marriott.com We hope to have to opportunity to accommodate you again after our construction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews