We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely kept older hotel”
Review of Weber's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Weber's
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicely kept older hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This place has been around for fifty years. They do a good job of keeping it current. The room we had must have been recently refurbished. Most things were new. They provided bath sheets, not towels. The only knock was the old style air conditioning/heater. It was either on (hot) or off (cold). I adjusted it a lot to keep us sane. We didn't eat in the restaurant. So, I can't help you there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Velohog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    134
    65
    28
    20
See reviews for
106
96
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I booked an Executive CAFE SUITE ( Jacuzzi tub room) for a quickie romantic getaway. The $299.00 package included a dinner and drinks plus breakfast voucher. While my wife was soaking in the tub 5 min after arrival she noticed the "smell of grout". 10 min later she tried to nap but could not get comfortable in bed and she still said she could smell something weird. We found that a one foot section of wallpaper in the separate bedroom was peeling from the wall in the corner and behind it were black mold spots. We vacated the room immediately after spending a total of 15 "romantic" minutes in it and reported the problem to the friendly front desk staff, who offered no other solution, so we checked out after quickly obtaining a full refund.

The room itself was dated and the couch in the sitting area was well worn with dirty/grubby arms and cushions. The public areas of the hotel and central indoor pool looked nice and updated but this room was lacking attention and was not what I expected for 200+ dollars.. The Jacuzzi had hard-water calcium build up on the spout and though it turned off/on the other electronic controls in this vintage 1990's corner tub seemed not to function at all. ( no bubble control, weak jets )

A disappointing first time experience at this self proclaimed boutique hotel.

Room Tip: ask to see the updated room before you are to check-in. I have heard from others that some rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dlacerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Manager at Weber's, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear dlacerte,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Weber’s.

We are continually striving to exceed the level of expectations of our guests and truly appreciate any feedback we receive, whether positive or negative. I apologize your stay was not as you had anticipated it to be. The hotel room you were in has been inspected and although there was no black mold in that room, we have sterilized the room and replaced the wallpaper which had a by-product from the wallpaper adhesive.

We sincerely hope that when you are in need of hotel accommodations in the Ann Arbor area in the future you will consider making reservations at Weber’s Inn.

If I can be of any assistance to you in the future, please contact me.

Carolyn Crowley
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After reading the reviews I booked a room at Weber's for my husband and son for the night of the Winter Classic. Their room was in the wing of the hotel where the pool was and had a strong chlorine smell. The room was in need of refurbishing particularly the bedding which was very well worn! The tiles in the washroom had mildew stains and the washroom in general was dingy. With the event pricing that I paid (more than double their regular price) and the reviews that I had read I was expecting a much nicer room. The only explanation I can come up with is that they were using every available room in the hotel, even those slated for renovation.
That being said, the rest of the hotel met our expectations. The common areas were bright and clean and well appointed and the restaurant was pleasant with good food and service.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel I would ask for a room that has been recently renovated and is not close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We just stayed at Weber's with another couple the night of the Winter Classic. We chose this hotel based on it's location to the event and the reviews.

The pros...

The beds were very comfy, the hotel itself is very nice, the rooms were updated and the restaurant was awesome.

The cons...

On the morning we were to check out, we were awoken by the sound of hammers on concrete and power drills in the room beside us. This was very frustrating and after a long day previously of driving and attending the Winter Classic, this isn't the kind of morning we expected.

I informed the front desk however they didn't seem to really care. Having paid $400+ for the one night's accommodation and $200+ at the restaurant, I would have expected either a credit of some sort towards our bill, or even an apology.

All in all, I would highly recommend the hotel and restaurant and hope that our experience with the noise was an anomaly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collabr8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Wait, an indie hotel in the Midwest?! That's +two stars automatically.

Service was uber friendly. Rooms were clean and overall just fine, with the caveat that I've never seen the purpose of "large" bathrooms anywhere, be it hotels or homes, America or Europe.

The poolside room and common area layout was awesome for families & kids. Lots to do and plenty of room to just hang out. So great to see the well-stocked fitness room. The beach balls were a simple but wonderful perk. Very honest, homey, non-corporate feeling overall but certainly not backwater feeling either. But if you like large slick industrial-scale tourist theme park type hotels you will totally be wrinkling your nose.

Our advice to the management: trade a couple degrees of heating bills in the common area (which was, most of the time, too hot for even our kids) for some basic perks: microwaves, 2 coffee cups (instead of one) in the rooms, cookies for the kids. Also the 11AM checkout time automatically fails large families.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kev_heber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Don't complain or you will be banned from this hotel.

We have stayed at Webbers many times for out-of-town family reunions, and it used to be a good and accommodating hotel. However, in recent years we have noticed a decrease in hospitality and the elimination of complimentary morning coffee and cinnamon buns in the hotel lobby.

The latest insult came this fall when we called to reserve our annual reunion (30 people strong)and were told that we have been banned from the hotel because they have records of us complaining too much from previous years..!

I guess Webbers wants to pick & choose it's guests.

Good bye from us Webbers.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C, Manager at Weber's, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear John S,

We constantly strive to offer the highest level of service to all of our guests.

Over the past several years, there were occasions when apparently we were not meeting your expectations for your family reunion. There were concerns about our rates, our amenities and with some of our policies.

As a result, in the best interest of your family, we felt it would be wise for your family to choose a different property for your events.

We wish you and your family all the best.

Sincerely,

Carolyn Crowley
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Unique character? Yes. And a lot more. Spacious rooms, high speed wifi, friendly staff. Very nice restaurant with a creative wine list. Location is solid for Ann Arbor business, even downtown. Only negative for me was painfully loud music in the lounge mid-week.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
6.2 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
4.1 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#9 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
2.7 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weber's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weber's

Property: Weber's
Address: 3050 Jackson Ave, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-1997
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Weber's 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Ann Arbor, Michigan near the University of Michigan. One of the top Michigan hotels, Weber’s is a deluxe, full service Hotel, Restaurant, Banquet & Conference property. Founded in 1937 by Herman Weber, Weber’s is still owned and operated by the Weber family, committed to guest satisfaction. Weber’s poolside hotel rooms and suites are unique to the Ann Arbor area and are very popular featuring balconies and spiral staircases or first floor walk out to our Four Seasons Pool and Recreation area where “The Sun Shines ’til Midnight”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Weber's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weber`s Restaurant Hotel Ann Arbor
Webers Hotel Ann Arbor
Weber Inn
Weber's Ann Arbor, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing