We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel needs to be refreshed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel needs to be refreshed”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although lobby and elevator floors were replaced within the past year, the wall covering is still in need of replacement and the duvets are lumpy - seems like they've been washed too many times. Ask to be placed in a room away from the elevators - they are noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank WalkingLady60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I also would like to thank you for taking out the time to complete a trip advisor review, as customer feedback is vital to our sucess. I am sorry that you felt as though our hotel need to be "refreshed." I would like to inform you though, that our hotel will be undergoing a renovation in the upcoming months. I will be sure to pass your thoughts along to upper management as a valuable customer comment. If you are ever in the area again, I hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We would love the chance to provide you with a much better experience in the future. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    183
    121
    50
    27
See reviews for
252
127
53
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is one of the best ones that I have ever stayed at..Everyone was friendly, nice rooms and a comfortable bed. Also they had a fabulous breakfast to enjoy. Loved my stay and will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank yoda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I also wanted to thank you for your very kind sentiments in regards to our staff. We always believe in passing positive comments along to our staff to highlight a job well done. If you are ever in the area again, I hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We would love the chance to provide you with an even better experience in the future. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is not worth staying in especially for the price. The rooms are old and not well kept. The heating /ventilating systems are out of date and not efficient. The bathrooms are small and cramped. The tiles in the bathroom was coming up in spots. The carpeting in the hallway was torn, worn, and coming up in spots, uneven in other spots. The lobby was small and cramped. The parking was very limited out front for the older less mobile generation. Even parking out back was not convenient. And lastly, do not eat at the Applebees next door, it was a disaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I appreciate you taking out the time to give us customer feedback, as it is vital to our sucess. I wanted to apologize to you, for the issues you had during your recent stay with us. I would like to inforrm you that our property will be undergoing a renovation in the upcoming months. I will be sure to pass your comments along to upper management as a valuable customer compliant. If you are ever in the area again, we would the love the chance to provide you with a much better experience. Thank you and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is connected to a Applebee's they offer free wifi, small indoor pool no hot tub. Very close to dominos farm and mich university. Free breakfast. I got it at the government rate of $99 a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I also wanted to thank you for your very kind sentiments regarding our property. We firmly believe in passing positive comments along to our staff, to highlight a job well done, and I will be sure to do that with your survey. If you are ever in the area again, I hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We would love to provide you with an even better experience in the future. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location...close to all U of M events & shopping in Ann Arbor. And just a short jog (via freeway) to Detroit sporting events without the big city distractions. Five star recommended by our pet. Attached restaurant and on site breakfast makes it possible to never have to leave the Inn. Perfect reception on the TV another bonus. Only thing not guaranteed is a Wolverine victory...but they win 80% of the time anyway! Great stay as usual!!!! GO BLUE!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 1997JIMBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I also wanted to thank you for your very kind sentiments about our property. I will be sure to pass these comments along to our staff as they work very hard to gain feedback such as this. When you are in the area again, we hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience in the future. Thank you and have a great day.

PS: Go Blue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is very convenient to the highway and a short drive to the University campus. A shuttle service to campus can be arranged. Rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable beds and linens, good amenities. Free Wi-fi and free breakfast. Nice hot entree breakfast options - scrambled eggs with cheese, potatoes, nice bakery assortment, canned mixed fruit, but also apples and bananas. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 439candiceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for chooisng to stay at the Hampton Inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. We appreciate you taking out the time to provide feedback, as it is vital to our success. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We believe in passing positive comments along to highlight a job well done, and I will be sure to inform our staff of your very nice sentiments. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience the next time you are in the area. Thank you and have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stay here with my in-laws when we all visit family together. It's a perfectly fine, comfortable hotel. I don't give it a better score because there is no hot tub in the pool, which is a strange shape and is inconvenient both for kids playing and adults exercising. There is no flat shallow section, the entire pool is a slope, which means if you do water aerobics, only the deep water works well, unless you enjoy water running on a slope. (I managed my exercise routine with the pool to myself until a pair of polite well-behaved boys came along, and we shared it easily. Complemented the parents for the kids' consideration. If only the hotel could make all families behave like that!)

The breakfast is standard hotel free hot....heated pre-cooked eggs and meat. Edible, but not all that nice. Make your own waffles, which are good but not healthy. Fruit and yogurt, etc. As anticipated, no matze for us Jews at Passover (no hotel ever seems to have any, so we come prepared).

Room is comfortable and clean. All but one staff member were pleasant (that one young 20-something staffer was surly....it was actually funny how grumpy she was!! She averaged out the overly garrulous breakfast manager ;-) )

We left tips every morning as taught by friends with relatives working in hotels. A few bucks with "for the maid" written on the pad. They wrote a quick thank you back!

This would be my first choice for relative visiting if only there were a hot tub. If I get to choose (rather than sticking with in laws), I'd pick another. But if you don't need that particular amenity, this is Just Fine.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelinasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Ann Arbor, as you have many lodging options. Our team is always looking to improve and it is feeback like yours that allows us to do so. I apologize for the attitude of our breakfast attendant, but I am glad that the rest of your stay was fine. If you are ever in the area again, I hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We would love the oppurtunity to provide you with an even better experience in the future. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing