We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up to par” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Up to par”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have been a traveller for the last 20+ years and always prefer to stay at Hampton inns. I stayed here due to my previous experience with HI and an event at nearby UM. Very nice experience. Room was nicely sized and comfortable. Quality hot breakfast and coffee in the morning. Staff was nice and friendly ( with the one exception of the employee working at the front desk during check out ). Hotel conveniently located off highway and a short drive to campus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGuapo311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Rich,

Thank you for the review. We enjoy hearing that you liked your experience with us. I apologize about the attendant who checked you out, but appreciate you letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    169
    112
    50
    25
See reviews for
229
120
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My complaint with this hotel is that I believe I was penalized for using Priceline to book. I arrived on a summer Sunday night - hotel in college town not full - and was assigned to room 215. Everything in room was fine (except for the wireless, which did not work), clean, spacious, etc. However, this room sat behind the elevators. I walked in and realized that, but listened for a bit and didn't hear anything so plunked down my stuff and then went out for a bit. Only discovered when I went to bed that I could hear the elevators running, which disrupted my sleep. Now - I KNOW the clerks know the pros/cons of the rooms - so can't help but assume I got tagged b/c I paid less than if I had booked direct with the hotel. Which is a BAD STRATEGY HOTEL PEOPLE - because today's priceline consumer is tomorrow's full rate/wedding/family reunion guest...!

The other negatives were the only treadmill in the exercise room was down - but I ran outside which turned out to be nice since there are good running trails outside the hotel.

Positives: Free parking, location off of highway, proximity to U of M (10 minutes to campus/downtown), breakfast (cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, waffles, etc., not just cheap continental...), plenty of restaurants/bars etc. nearby.

Overall it's a great hotel especially for the price I paid on Priceline. However, if I had it to do all over I would have walked down to the front desk and insistent on a room away from the elevator, and that would have greatly improved my visit from a customer perspective.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 215 (and assuming 315 and 415)...right behind elevator shafts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
HoosierinDC,

I appreciate the feedback on how your experience was. Had you informed the desk of the requests and concerns you had, my team would have been able to relocate you to a different room so that you didn't experience the elevator noise. I'm sorry that you had to endure that during your time with us. Thank you for letting me know so that I can pass this on my to team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an awful hotel, it should be classified as a motel. The whole place needs to be renovated immediately. Everything is weathered. I had the worse sleep, as the bed was very lumpy. The hotel clerk blamed the lumpiness on an old mattress, shouldn't they dispose of it? The stench on the first floor from the animals is terrible. I should have known that there was something wrong with an opening at this hotel, when it appeared most of the other hotels were sold out. I would never recommend this place to anyone, unless they are looking for subpar accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Reese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Reese,

I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay with us. My team does want to deliver great service and resolve our guest's concerns prior to their departure. I'm sorry about the stay you had with us. This isn't the typical service which we provide at our hotel. I do hope that you will give us a second chance when you are in town next time, as we would like to be given another opportunity to prove to you that we are better than what you experienced on your last stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

All of the right amenities. Friendly, courteous and helpful staff. More convenient electrical outlets than many other places I've stayed. Very quiet room. Nice desk - perfect for working on my laptop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Benjamin,

Thank you for the feedback, as we do like to hear what our enjoyed during their time with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The facility was immaculately clean and well maintained, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was wonderful. There are stores and restaurants nearby, and it is only a short drive into downtown. It was perfect for our little four-day getaway to southern Michigan and across to Canada.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cinthya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Cinthya,

Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again, if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the first time and found it very comfortable. There was a couch and a desk in my room. The shower and hot water worked fine. There is an Applebee's next door. The free wifi worked well. There are plenty of electrical outlets in the room. The breakfast is pretty average and there is a waffle machine if you like waffles. I would give it a solid three stars, but for me it's above average because of the staff. Most everyone was friendly in a relaxed way and the people seemed to get along with one another. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank movingsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee Y, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Movingsound,

It's good to know that you would come back and stay with us, I'm glad that we were able to provide you with what you needed. Come visit us again if you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for the 2nd time. Both times were very positive. Hotel front desk staff are terrific, welcoming and helpful. The room was very tidy and very comfortable. The room and bath were spotless. Attached restaurant was a bonus.The pool was beautiful, wish the hot tub was still there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strandedmotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn North on your recent visit to Ann Arbor. I also would like to thank you for taking out the time to complete a Trip Advisor survey, as customer feedback is vital to our success. We appreciate your very kind sentiments regarding our staff and our property overall. Here at our property we firmly believe in passing positive comments along to our staff, and I will be sure to pass your comments along, to highlight a job well done. If you are ever in the area again, I hope that you would choose to stay at our property. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience in the future. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing