We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Very nice hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms and premises were very clean and well maintained. The pool and hot tub were sparkling clean. The location was convenient to University of Michigan North Campus, with plenty of shopping and amenities close by. Our room was completely quiet - I never heard another person. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadster909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn North, as we realize you have many lodging choices when visiting Ann Arbor. Our team is always working to improve our guest’s experience. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience during your next visit to the Ann Arbor area. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    184
    121
    50
    27
See reviews for
252
127
53
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Serving staff at breakfast and housekeepers went above and beyond the call of duty in accommodating our needs. Desk staff was efficient but otherwise neutral in their friendliness. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was quite clean, although the carpet was badly stained. We were disappointed that the room was so small. The bathroom was small and had very little counter space. In fact, we wondered if we were in Hampton Inn since we have stayed quiet often in Hampton Inns for our travels, and this was by far the smallest room we have had to date with our usual king size bed. Although the breakfast was very good, the breakfast room itself was small and drafty since it was open to the front outside doors. This could be improved by the addition of a wall to block the front desk from the breakfast area. It was very convenient location to where we visited all family members.

  • Liked — Hampton Inn's comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdklik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn North, as we realize you have many lodging choices when visiting Ann Arbor. Our team is always working to improve our guest’s experience. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve. I apologize that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. We have recently undergone some renovations that I am sure you will be pleased with. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience during your next visit to the Ann Arbor area. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My wife and I booked and stayed in a king room recently for a hockey game. I could see where the room had been updated (and our friend mentioned it had been updated since last time there). But unfortunately the room was not clean, which is the thing that bothers me most about hotel rooms. There was a half of a chunk of a cookie lying in the floor of the room. There's no way the room could've been cleaned, but this missed. There were also hairs on the kitchen sink, also indicative of the room not being cleaned.

I will have to say the bed was comfy and the room seemed quiet, but I can't give any more than 2 starts to a room that's dirty. It's unacceptable to me.

  • Liked — The staff at the front desk was friendy and helpful
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 6 February 2009
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. I am extremely sorry you experienced this inconvenience during your stay. I would be happy to refund you for your stay; we do expect all of our guests to be 100% satisfied during their stay with us. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can assist you with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2008

This hotel's common areas were dirty. The hallways were littered, the litter bin in the lobby was overflowing, the courtesy food area was picked clean, and the pool area was a disgrace. The room was small, the bathroom tiny. Really not up to to the better Hampton Inns. We think the Baymont on Carpenter Road is a better choice-- we stayed there before moving here three years ago.
Perhaps the dirty common areas were due to the holidays and housekeepers taking time off. But this would also indicate poor management.
I have a red bump on my forehead due to the hazardous design of the faucet lever over the bathroom sink. It protrudes out and about 5" up toward the user's face, and is hard to see until it's too late. Beware of stooping toward the basin!
We spent one night at this property due to a local power outage. We have stayed at about six or eight Hampton Inns on vacation in the last year. This one is at or near the bottom of our list. How it rates "#2 in Ann Arbor" is beyond our comprehension.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafflion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 6 January 2009
I appreciate you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback so we can provide better service for our future guests. I can you assure this is an isolated incident and not a typical representation of our hotel. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I can discuss refund you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Stayed here while visiting our son at the University of Michigan. This hotel was very close to everything; easy off and on from US 23. Our room was spotless, comfy and quiet. There were water bottles waiting for us - even a bag of fritos! The complimentary breakfast buffet was well stocked and had a wide variety of food. We never made it down to the pool but there were plenty of folks swimming. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn North, as we realize you have many lodging choices when visiting Ann Arbor. Our team is always working to improve our guest’s experience. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience during your next visit to the Ann Arbor area. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We have stayed at the hotel several times both on business and pleasure. It is highly recommended. The rooms are clean, the beds are wonderful, the pool is inviting and the staff helpful.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank naranja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, for choosing to stay with the Hampton Inn North, as we realize you have many lodging choices when visiting Ann Arbor. Our team is always working to improve our guest’s experience. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve. We look forward to providing you with an even better experience during your next visit to the Ann Arbor area. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Sure, it's clean and the beds are comfortable. In four stays, the longest eight nights, the ice bucket was never emptied of water the next day, coffee packets are irregularly replaced after use, front desk is uninterested in guests, and the breakfast runs out of basics for days (fruit or rice, for example); sometimes USA Today isn't delivered to the room although it's available downstairs. They don't care if you're an HHonors member, and VIP status, even Gold or Platinum, seems to be a concept foreign to the property. Sure, it's Hampton Inn, but it's also Hilton and the Inn's brand (at this location) tarnishes the Hilton brand.

  • Liked — I know what I'm getting.
  • Disliked — Uncaring management and front desk.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrSGPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 25 December 2008
On behalf of the entire staff at the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor North, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences and discomfort you encountered during your stay. We do have a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee at our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and I would be happy to refund you one night's room and tax. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback so we can improve our services for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing