We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Ann Arbor: Fail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Hampton Inn Ann Arbor: Fail”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

we checked in after a very long day of driving and the woman at check in was "very sorry" to inform us that the room we booked ("King study with sofabed") was unavailable and all they had to offer was a room with a 'full' size bed. I suppose we didn't really *need* a king bed, but it would have been nice if they'd at least called to let me know the room we'd booked was unavailable and given me the opportunity to book a different hotel. the room itself was clean and the hotel building was in decent shape; the whole experience wouldn't have left such a bad taste in my mouth if someone hadn't knocked on our door literally *five minutes* after check out (we had our "do not disturb" sign on the door) and rudely asked us if we were staying another night. The woman could plainly see that we were in the middle of packing our bags. Hampton Inn, I am disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will investigate this situation to see what happened and see how we can prevent this from happening in the future. We would like to issue you the 100% Hampton guarantee, since you were not satisfied you we would be happy to refund you for your stay. Please contact myself or anyone at the hotel for a full refund. Thank you for your understanding in this matter and also for taking the time to let us know this occurred so it can be corrected moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    178
    118
    50
    27
See reviews for
246
124
50
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I would give your hotel a ‘10+’. I was checked into the hotel in less than two minutes by a very pleasant employee. The room was well appointed, clean, and very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised by the snacks left for me, a Hilton Honors member. I thoroughly enjoyed them. The breakfast and cookies were delicious and plentiful, and my check-out experience was as good as my check-in experience. Thank you for going above and beyond for the comfort and consideration of your guests. I will recommend your hotel to anyone I know going to Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Thank you very much for such an encouraging response! I will make sure to share this with all of your staff members. We look forward to seeing you back at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I just stayed at the Hampton Inn North this past weekend, to attend the Ann Arbor art fairs. I stayed there because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and the hotel didn't disappoint. The hotel was clean and comfortable, has an extensive hot breakfast (included) and friendly staff that go above and beyond. It was located about a 10-15 minute drive to downtown/UM, but we expected that.

TIP: I wanted to stay three nights, but couldn't find availability on Expedia for all three nights. I ended up booking two nights via Expedia and got a great deal, and booked the third night directly through the hotel website. The latter was more expensive, but overall it worked out to be a great value (about $110/night, after taxes, and breakfast included).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teale187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide your feedback. We try to make sure every single guest walks out of door happy. We look forward to seeing you for Art Fair next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The Hampton Inn North was a great hotel and worth every penny, although it was not expensive. The hotel was booked solid when we were there, but the staff could not have been nicer. The breakfast is excellent and the staff did a great job of keeping the items stocked despite being overwhelmed with customers. The pool was a perfect temperature and the exercise facilities were good. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
What a wonderful compliment! We appreciate you taking time out of your day to recognize our staff members. Everyone really tries hard to make every guest happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed only one night but we wish we'd had more time at the Hampton Harbor Inn North. The beds are so comfortable you might actually be tempted to skip the day's plans just to stay between the amazingly comfortable sheets! Our room was absolutely spotless and noise between rooms was quite minimal. Although the breakfast wasn't anything out of the ordinary, the gentleman keeping things stocked and in order was so friendly he made a routine meal quite pleasant. Although we aren't interested in eggs, the hotel had just introduced hard boiled eggs to the breakfast line-up, which already includes waffles guests can cook themselves on the two waffle makers, fresh fruit, yogurt and assorted cereals and pastries.

The staff were all so friendly we felt we were long-lost friends....and when we discovered a toothbrush had been forgotten at home, the front desk was happy to provide us with a free replacement.

We would definitely stay here again should we find ourselves in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cemetery_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. The hard boiled eggs are new so I am glad to hear that our guests are enjoying them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for graduation weekend at University of Michigan. The hotel was packed with an excited crowd. But the staff were terrific: efficient, friendly, and competent in every way. Our room was quiet and well appointed and the bed was among the most comfortable I have encountered in a hotel. The breakfast was the usual hotel fare. Nice touches were the availability of coffee, tea and internet 24 hours, as well as internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 8 May 2010
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience here during University of Michigan's graduation weekend. We spend a lot of time preparing the staff on information and resources that guests may need during that event, we hope to see you back during future trips to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Twp, Mi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My wife and I traveled to A2 to see a show at the Michigan Theater on a Friday evening and then she had a seminar at the VA Hospital the next morning so for the $$ the Hampton Inn fit the bill nicely. The room was beautiful and spacious. The bed was incredibly comfortable and if there were any cons to be told, they'd be that we had to get out of said bed that next morning!

If I had to be critical, the back of the bathroom door could've been wiped down a little better but all that aside I would highly recommend especially if you had an event at or near the North Campus of UM

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennaSmithGM, Genearl Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, 18 April 2010
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. I will make sure to share them with our team. We will make sure to focus on bathroom doors and hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor / University of Michigan
5.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ann Arbor
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing