We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn - Ann Arbor - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn - Ann Arbor - good location”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012 using points.

Location:
This hotel is located near to I-94 (3 minute drive), the Briarwood Mall (2 minute drive), U of M campus (5-15 minute drive), and the U of M medical center (15 minute drive).
First, this hotel was a little difficult to find. When our GPS told us that we had arrived at our destination we were a little puzzled as we didn't see it anywhere and there wasn't any sign at the road/driveway for it, so turn in at the Courtyard and it is back behind it. (Also in the immediate area there are a ton of hotels, any brand you want. It is basically located in a little subdivision of hotels.) The only restaurant within walking distance is Wendys. But since this hotel is close to the mall, there are lots of mid-priced chain restaurants in the area. The only downside of this hotel (although it would be the same for all of the other hotels nearby as well) was the train. We didn't see the train tracks, when we arrived, but around 2am each night we were awoken by the train.

Staff:
The woman who works the desk in the evening/night is great, very pleasant to deal with.

Room & Amenities:
Our room was of average Marriott hotel size. We had a "king" but it was definitely smaller than a king, but bigger than a queen. The towels were thin and rough, but that's what we typically find at Fairfields. The sink was in the room and the toilet and tub/shower was in a separate room. There was an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, and minifridge in the room. The hotel has free wireless, which worked fine. There is a pool and workout room (2 treadmills and 1 elliptical). This hotel also has free breakfast with a large seating area. For breakfast, there were apples, bananas, yogurt, bread, bagels, muffins, microwavable sandwiches, oatmeal, cereal, waffles, coffee, and tea.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    78
    53
    20
    13
See reviews for
78
32
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I usually don't stay at Fairfield inns. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Nothing exciting,mbut nothing to worry about either

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I was here for a 1 night stay in January, 2012. I stayed in Room 132, which is right next to the stairs. It was very noisy, every time somebody went up or down the stairs it seemed as though they were coming into my room. Also, only about 20% of the TV channels worked, although I didn't notice this until about an hour before checkout when I turned my TV on for the first time.

Other than that, it was exactly what you'd expect from a Fairfield Inn... Decent bed, good shower pressure, good location, seamless checkin and checkout, average free breakfast, etc.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We are members of the Marriott program and our profile was honored, High floor, away from elevator. The room is on the small side, with a mini fridge, but no microwave, we had to use the one in the lobby. It worked. We did nit like the sink in the room instead of the bathroom, with carpet it is not as good as the tile floor. The heat worked well, it was a raw evening and that was nice. I enjoyed the pool and hot tub, both are big enough and the temperature was right. Location is in an area with other hotels, just off Hwy 94. We needed a room for the night, the last night of a very long trip, it fit the bill.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed here for two weeks while doing business with an Ann Arbor company. I would not recommend this hotel for more than a one or two night stay. They did have a refrigerator but no microwave as I have seen in other Fairfields. The rooms are generally small with a small bathroom. The room was kept inpeccably clean, and the hotel service is excellent. So for that one or two night stay, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schertz, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

While in town a friend of mine recommended this hotel. It was a night before New Years eve and the hotel was very busy but the night girl tried her best to get us a room.Unexpectedly we had to extend our stay.. But our stay was great.. my children enjoyed the indoor pool... and breakfast was great. Though it was packed the place seemed very cheerful. Hopefully this winter on our next trip we will stay again.

Room Tip: Getting to the breakfast room earlier is better b/c you dn't have to wait in line as long..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerlillyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I often choose a Fairfield when I travel for business because your pretty much get what you expect - not plush but comfortable. My stay at the Ann Arbor Fairfield was fair but there were some characteristics that would cause me not to choose this location in the future. The bathroom was so small it was hard to get in the door and only contained the toilet and tub/shower. The small (less than 3 ft.) sink vanity was in the main room. This made it difficult for one of us to get up and ready early while the other person slept. Also, the bathroom fan was loud - very loud and you could not enter and close the door then turn on the light fan. You had to flip the switch in the main room, again causing the light and fan to wake the person still trying to sleep. The room itself had a fairly strong unpleasant smell, thankfully I was so tired I 'got use to it' and was able to sleep. The room was small. On the positive side the front desk staff were very good on our arrival.

Room Tip: The room I was in was on the main floor next to the workout room - avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Courtyard Ann Arbor
#16 of 34 in Ann Arbor
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 34 in Ann Arbor
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#22 of 34 in Ann Arbor
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor

Property: Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Address: 3285 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1773
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated in 2015 the Ann Arbor Fairfield Inn has stylish designed rooms and lobby. Located conveniently 2 miles away from the University of Michigan. Briarwood Mall is only a short walk away with many shops and dining choices! Come visit our hotel and #stayamazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Fairfield Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing