We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet iffy - unusual for a major city location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Internet iffy - unusual for a major city location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel is fine but you'll need to WIRE into the Internet in your sleeping room. We used the Gresham II meeting room and had the same problem. The street is now called Hilton Blvd., so try that if your GPS can't find it on the first try. Also, if your GPS is in charge, it will try to direct you through Downtown Ann Arbor. I don't recommend this between August - May. It's better to exit I-94 at State Street and the hotel is on the circular drive surrounding Briarwood Mall (just north of I-94, west of US-23, and west of State Street. State Street extends south from Main Street (Bus-23).

Room Tip: Be sure to get an Ethernet cable for the Internet. Ask for a room closer to the mall (it will be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear professordoctormom,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you bringing the problem that you had with our internet service to our attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we look forwarded to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    68
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
26
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I can't say anything about the location as this hotel was just a flop for me on my way to somewhere else. Its just an average HIE, with beds that aren't very good. And I will say that the "simply smart" breakfast that was so fun years ago when it was new is really kinda lame and unappealing to me now. So if you know what you are used to paying for this kind of hotel, look at the rate and determine your personal value. I think I paid 50% too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoccasinMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamHotelSystems, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear MoccasinMike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ann Arbor. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us, and we are committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests.

Please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction with our complimentary Smart Start Breakfast. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your feedback thank you for all of your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites and providing valuable feedback.

Sincerely,
Lora Jennings
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is across from a mall that has several eatting options and walking distance to three restaurants. There are multiple walking/running options in the area. It is close to the University of Michigan. The rooms were quite comfortable with a great breakfast area. Staff were friendly. Overall the hotel was clean, comfortable, and has free interenet. Will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamHotelSystems, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear QuietmanTravels,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your recent stay in Ann Arbor! We are delighted to hear that our location was a convenience during your trip, and that you found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Lora Jennings
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 5 days. The location was very close to the mall and had good parking space. The staff was very friendly and their buffet breakfast was filled with so many varieties. The room was clean and decent. There was free wireless service (although it goes off sometimes) and vending machine at our floor. They offer fast check out service too! Lovely hotel! Would recommend it especially if u love shopping!

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor rooms it's cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed here for just a few days while on business. The close proximity to the university was wonderful and there were plenty of restaurants nearby that weren't just fastfood, which is always a plus. The front desk attendants were always very polite and so were the housekeeping staff. Overall it was a great enjoyable visit, but there wasn't really anything that made it go above and beyond what I've experienced at other Holiday Inn Expresses.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BioAnthroNerd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was our first stay at this property and it was a fine stay. The rooms were comfortable and up to date. Bathrooms clean and the complimentary breakfast extremely nice. The location is 2 miles south of the U Mich campus and a few hundred feet from the Interstate highway. Definitely a hotel we'll come back to.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4starrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

As a Holiday Inn Express the Ann Arbor location delivers what you expect with no surprises. Friendly staff, nice breakfast included free, decent clean rooms. The other reviews are right on. and you get Holiday Inn points too!

Room Tip: all good rooms with excellent sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.1 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Address: 600 Briarwood Circle, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two miles South of the University of Michigan, near I-94, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor offers a convenient location for Ann Arbor's visitors. Whether visiting Ann Arbor's growing campus or city center, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor is only 5 minutes away from most destinations including athletic and performing arts venues. We are located next door to a major regional shopping mall and an easy 22 mile drive West from the Detroit Metropolitan Airport. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hard boiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Ann Arbor, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Holiday Inn Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing