We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I'm not one to complain and I have never left a hotel due to the conditions found there, but this hotel was terrible. From the front desk clerk smelling like weed and jumping over the counter to help us to the feces in the toilet in our room... The first room we were given was filthy and apparently had never been clean. We went back down to get another room feeling more and more apprehensive. The floors were dirty and the lobby smelled like pot. He gave us another room and when we went up to that one while the sheets were on the bed this time, it wasn't much better. When we found the toilet with poop in it we had to leave. He gave us a third room, but by that time we were late for the hockey game we had come for so we left. Thankfully Hotwire refunded our money and switched us to another hotel. (which happened to be the Extended Stay across the street at Boardwalk Dr. MUCH better experience there!!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The room conditions you described are not acceptable and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. As well, I am sorry to hear that our staff did not attend to your needs in a professional manner. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at daa@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    12
    22
    19
See reviews for
17
13
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have never been soooo discussed & hurt with people since since my husbands accident. Stayed at a your hotel last night February 23, 2014 sidewalks full of snow & ice. Thank goodness there were two guest outside that were able to help me to get my husband on sidewalk since the handicap ramps where full of ice and snow. The next morning checking out my husband almost fell off your sidewalk. Went back in to speak with the hotel manager ( Erika Medina) told her how I felt & her lovely answer was this is Michigan Weather & that they can't do anything about it!!! And that there is nothing they can do!!!! This is totally uncalled for!!!!!

The pictures that are attached do you think that is accessible for someone that is in a wheelchair....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queenie1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the walkways were not completely cleared. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure this does not happen in the future. Guest safety is a top priority of ours and we will be sure to take the appropriate actions so that your experience is not repeated. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at daa@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to all of the front desk staff. They were very friendly and helpful during my stay there. The hotel is in a great location next to the Briarwood Mall in Ann Arbor. It is a clean place to reside or stay as your home away from home. Thank you to all of the staff there. This truly is a great hotel to stay in for the money!

Room Tip: Rooms on the end of the hall seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Sheryl - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Providing outstanding customer service is one of our top priorities and I am pleased that we met that goal.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Call first, no email is effective as person to person, all they can do for you they will regardless of who you are. So enjoy your visit in beautiful Ann Arbor, Michigan. I went outside in the below freezing weather to help shovel snow around the parking lot, I like to give back to those whom treat and respect me. Each time I leave or go, someones speaks to me with wishes of be safe and have fun and upon returning how was your day. I talk personally with staff as I am affiliated with multiple Democratic Campaign Committees, and encourage the staff to vote Democrat and to support Hillary Clinton for President in 2016, but first we need more U.S. House seats to get more done for the Obama Admistration. Get out and vote.

Room Tip: I got lucky and got same room, makes me feel back at home, as my stays are for a few months at a tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampatoAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that we were able to establish a "home away from home" during your stay. The staff and I truly enjoy having you visit our hotel and are so glad that we could make your time away from home that much better. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for NYE as we booked late and nothing was left. I was nervous as Extended Stays don't have the best reputation but we were so pleasantly surprised! The staff was super friendly, upbeat and helpful and the room was very clean! This is a great hotel for the money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 224AnneC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Anne - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your your room and our staff's friendly service. It was a pleasure having you stay with us for NYE and we look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed there for 10 nights, it's a big&clean place. There're a big clean bed, a big TV, a simple kitchen (include microwave and some cookers),an AC/heater and a big bathroom as well.
The staffs were nice and helpful.
The location of the place is really great. Tt is accessible to anywhere around, bus station and shopping mall are both in walking distance.
The hotel also offers free grab-and-go breakfast, like coffee, tea, fruit,oatmeal. It's very convenient for the people who are traveling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Richard - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that we provided clean, comfortable, spacious accommodations for you and that you enjoyed our convenient location and grab-and-go breakfast.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I reached this hotel at around 1:00 AM in the morning, since the flight was delayed. I had to knock of the glass door of the main entrance - to enter the hotel. The receptionist told me, that there was some report of burglary in the adjacent area - hence this was a precaution for safety. I appreciated the hotel staff for their thoughtfulness. During my seven days of stay in this hotel I cooked for myself, made full use of the kitchenette. The kitchen has full set of utensils to cook. the AC however made loud noise at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durgasankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.6 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ann Arbor
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall
Address: 1501 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1662
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing