We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We hosted a baby shower that the hotel catered. The staff from beginning to end was friendly, supportive and professional. The recently renovated lobby was amazing as well as the outdoor courtyard. We stayed one night and enjoyed the high level comfort and cleanliness, as well as the proximity to U of M. Definately a winner!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    106
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
23
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
630 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

In a cluster of hotels near I-94, you will find this clean modern Courtyard by Marriott. Indoor pool, free WiFi. Recommended hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Clean, well-located hotel. Excellent staff--friendly & helpful. Higgly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MH858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I was suprised at how nice this hotel was. Great value for the money. Clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel catered our lunch at the meeting I was at and it was very good. Well located -close to the mall amd U of M. This will be my first choice for an Ann Arbor stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozkzpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Spent one night at the Ann Arbor Courtyard Marriott to attend a business meeting nearby the next day. Lobby and courtyard are lovely. I had an extended king (suite) that had a living room area with flat screen tv, fridge, couch, chair and desk. Bedroom had large king bed and another flat screen tv. Decor modern, nice and colorful. My only complaint is the fan in the bathroom. I stay in a lot of hotels and I have never heard a bathroom fan so loud! Unfortunately, anytime you turn on the bathroom light the fan comes on too. I was surprised that I did not see other reviews mention this so maybe it was just in the room I had (223).
Overall good choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut Hill, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great stay! Clean, new, & great for groups. Lobby area great for congregating. Traveled with large group for wedding, always able to sit together in the lobby and chat.

Gym - two treadmills, one elliptical, one bike, and some free weights. Not huge.

Indoor pool and hot tub. (No outdoor pool, but they did have an outdoor sitting area.)

Breakfast - there is free coffee in the lobby, AND a Starbucks counter (er, breakfast counter which served Starbucks). "Starbucks" counter also served omelets, oatmeal - good simple breakfasts.

Would recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpscaleButRealistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 7 nights here in a handicap accessible room that was lovely. The room had 2 queen beds, a good-size LCD TV, coffee maker, fridge, and good working desk. The bathroom was clean and the bath featured a "bench" that could be put down to lay across the length of the tub to sit on and shower. My mother used this and thought it a great arrangement.

As other reviewers have said, the lobby is elegant -- the furnishings throughout the hotel are tasteful, elegant, and new. The hotel gym was small, but had nice equipment. There are computers in the lobby that you can use to print out boarding passes -- a nice touch. Wifi was free. There is a small shop, "The Market" next to the reception area that has food items and other necessities and seems to be open 24 hrs/day.

A key reason for a hotel stay is to sleep. Unfortunately, we found this difficult given the amazingly worn-out mattresses. We couldn't sit on the beds as the edges gave way completely. The front desk staff were very nice, but none was able to resolve the mattress situation. We spoke with the front desk after our first night in the room and were told that they could put a board under the (worst) mattress. This did not happen. We spoke to another person the next day and she told me that the person who told us that they had boards to put under the mattress didn't work there... very confusing given that this person had been behind the front desk. We were also told that although they didn't have boards, they could swap out the mattresses as they had some empty rooms. That never happened. We finally gave up.

Another issue was that twice during our 7 day stay, the water was turned off with less than one hour's notice. We were notified by a phone call to the room. There were no posted messages in the elevator and no flyers put under doors. People coming back to the hotel or from the gym would not have known that they would have no water in their room for an hour or so.

Finally, the cleaning crew uses an air freshener that has a strong smell. Since the windows do not open to air out the room, we requested that the air freshener not be used. Despite requesting this at the front desk (they said they passed on the request to housekeeping), and to a housekeeping person on our floor, the air freshener was used all but one or two days.

Despite these negatives, the hotel is a good value and I would stay here again, but would first check out the beds.

The hotel is located just off the I-94 highway and close to Briarwood, a shopping mall, fast food restaurants, and Damon's, a sports bar/grill. The hotel is not in a walking neighborhood, but it is conveniently located within a few miles of downtown Ann Arbor and the U of Michigan.

Room Tip: Check out the beds! If you're allergic or don't like perfume, try requesting no air fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarryNight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#16 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Property: Courtyard Ann Arbor
Address: 3205 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Courtyard
Ann Arbor Marriott
Courtyard Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing