We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel itself is in great condition - the grounds are nice and the lobby area had an open, inviting design. We had no issues with our room. For the most part, it was everything I've come to expect from a Marriott.

However, I must report on one bad experience - our family has dietary restrictions and so we always bring our own food. One morning we met some family in the dining area just off the lobby & asked for a couple of bowls to eat some cereal with the (non-dairy) milk we brought. Right after I received the bowls a food manger of some sort informed us that we were "not allowed to eat our food in the dining area," as there was "food that could be purchased." We had the option of "eating in our room." (how nice) I could immediately tell by the manager's tone that she was not to be reckoned with and that explaining our dietary restrictions would fall on deaf ears. She did relent a bit by saying that we could "eat outside", which turned out to be pleasant, all things considered. I really think that hotels should look to support choices of their guests and not make them feel like second-class citizens just because they don't want to buy a bowl of oatmeal. The dining area was plenty full (though not overcrowded). I still remain shocked at the way I was treated as a guest.

In summary, very nice hotel, but beware if you bring your own food into the dining area!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    106
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
23
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel fits all the needs for a business traveler. I was only there for one night, but I found it to be a very comfortable hotel.

Some highlights
-The bed was extremely comfortable
-The room was very spacious, good TV, good workspace, and a couch with a little table
-The lobby area was well laid out with good meeting spaces

The bathroom really was nothing to write home about. It was clean, but nothing spectacular. There are not a lot of places within walking distance (Wendy's, Damon's, Macaroni Grill), but there are several places a short 5 minute car ride away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We reserved a block of rooms here for our wedding guests. The hotel was well kept up. Decor was very nice. Andrea was wonderful to work with on the group reservation. We had a wonderful experience here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The2ofUStogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
362 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The actual courtyard in this hotel is a very nice place to sit and enjoy coffee or a glass of wine. Variety of nearby restaurants. The Briarwood Mall is a short drive and the location of the shuttle service to the arts fest. Staff is very helpful in recommending local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We found ourselves in Ann Arbor after completing a 10 day Circle Tour of Lake Superior. After that adventure it was really nice to be in such a comfortable hotel. The Courtyard Marriott here was quiet, clean and very well located. The staff were helpful and the whole property is beautifully maintained and welcoming.

We stayed two nights, were on the first floor and found the whole experience nearly uniformly positive. The only complaint I have is that the staffing of the "Coffee Shop" part of the The Bistro was spotty. I waited about 15 minutes one evening around 6 pm for someone to help me by pouring two coffees. I could see the coffee pots, and stood there. And the front desk clerk knew I was there. Did she come help? No. Did she get someone to come? No. I suggest that if the Bistro guy is going to go on an extended break then put the coffee urns up on the counter for self-service.

But if you are looking for a comfortable, clean, well located place here it is. Just far enough away from the noise and bustle to be quiet. But close enough to get to the good restaurants and shopping if you want it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I come to AA regularly for business and I recently switched from the Hampton on Green Road to this Courtyard.
Here's why:

+ Lobby/bar/bistro - this is a great place to do some work on the laptop in comfortable chairs, with wireless access, and beer from the bistro.
+ Outside seating area - this is a cool concept...the outside patio is a nice place to hang out if it's not too hot.
+ Location - it's close to I-94 (but not too) with several good dining options nearby
+ Staff - every time I've need to interact with the staff, they gave me the feeling that they were sincerely trying to help me and not just going through the motions.

- Fitness center is a joke....This is my only complaint. there are a handfull of barbells, two running machines, an elliptical, and stationary bike. It's 1970's reject...

o - althought the rooms are quite nice, they're no better than the Hampton...the lobby/bistro puts this over the Hampton Inns

Room Tip: If you want to use the gym, you're better off finding a different place. Parking lot can get cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier_Packer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We hosted a baby shower that the hotel catered. The staff from beginning to end was friendly, supportive and professional. The recently renovated lobby was amazing as well as the outdoor courtyard. We stayed one night and enjoyed the high level comfort and cleanliness, as well as the proximity to U of M. Definately a winner!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#14 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#11 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Property: Courtyard Ann Arbor
Address: 3205 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2701
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Marriott
Ann Arbor Courtyard
Courtyard Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing