We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodating, helpful staff and a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Ohio
Level Contributor
300 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Accommodating, helpful staff and a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

In a sea of hotels of only dorm-worthy status, there are a few highlights and this Courtyard is one of them. It is difficult to find a NICE hotel near the University of Michigan.

The remodeling of the lobby is complete and it is attractive and welcoming.

The rooms are all very nice, as is the pool.

The other big difference is the wonderful staff. During the stay, my son's friend got sick and the staff allowed us to stay a bit later to get the situation stabilized and was helpful with providing some necessities for a sick guest.

Room Tip: If your son/daughter is auditioning at the UM school of music, ask for a high floor, so they can pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magsdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Ann Arbor for your trip into Ann Arbor and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your special room tips as well! For any special needs, please know that our desk will always do their best to accomodate and make you and your guests feel comfortable. We look forward to having you back on your next trip into Ann arbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    106
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
23
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend and we're extremely disappointed with a front desk associate named Denise. She is clearly in the wrong line of work- rude, argumentative and just not a nice person. In fact, most of the front desk associates were quite snippy with us, especially at check in on Friday, and we are Marriott Rewards members. It was like we were a big bother and they could not wait for us to leave. The pool was small and filthy. You could not see the bottom of the pool...ewww. Will not be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Courtyard by Marriott Ann Arbor. We appreciate your comments and apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. We strive to provide the best customer service and a friendly staff for everyone and are truly dissapointed when we have not done that. We want this hotel to be a place where everyone wants to return to and will work to improve in hopes that you will give us another chance. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I always stay here when in Ann Arbor. The staff is very friendly AND they are adept at processing my Mariott gift cards with ease (that has been a problem at other locations). One complaint: no complimentary coffee station any more - gotta buy it - and it AINT cheap. The Courtyard is much more upscale, fresh and clean since the upgrades. This location is really good too - just off the I-94 and very close to the mall, food, etc.

Room Tip: I like first floor just for convenience. No bad room locations really.
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is environmentally friendly. They encourage re-use of towels. The shower heads are efficient but with good pressure.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. In regards to the complimentary coffee being removed, this is a new Courtyard standard across the brand as of 2014 as we serve Starbucks in our hotel. We are moving our in room coffee products to include the "one cup" brew system as well as disposable cups/lids to assist in the complimentary coffee loss. This way you will still have access to complimentary coffee and the ability to take it with you as was the case with our previous lobby coffee. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Ann Arbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a block of rooms for my daughters wedding and everyone's experience was great. The rooms were very clean and large enough to hold a family get together after the wedding. The staff was extremely friendly from the front desk to housekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review from your stay. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am business travelor and always looking at how hotels make us feel special. this hotel was a welcome experience. I have stayed in Ann Arbor many times for business but the first time at the Courtyard.....it was wonderful and will stay her always in the future...they made me feel like family and the rooms were immaculate....make this your hotel of choice..
kathy

Room Tip: top floor less noise always
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the property. We look forward to having you back with us on your next stay in Ann Arbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevil, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The lobby was big & beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly! The room was clean! All the equipment worked. The food was really good! In my opinion, this was a flawless stay. Warning, if you want free breakfast, free coffee, free, free, free. Courtyard isn't the place for you!!! Do some research and find a Drury. If you want a high quality stay with a friendly staff, and a good nights rest, this Courtyard will be exactly what you're looking for.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCV-BoydBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Ann Arbor and for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to having you back with us when your travels bring you back to Michigan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

No raves, but no complaints either. Comfortable, clean accommodations. Ample lobby lounge area. Limited bar / food service area. Traveling with a dozen or so colleagues, with similar experience. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adeluciajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Ann Arbor. We truly value your business and reviews and hope that on your next stay with us you will leave with rave reviews. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#16 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Property: Courtyard Ann Arbor
Address: 3205 Boardwalk, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Courtyard
Ann Arbor Marriott
Courtyard Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing