We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Have stayed at this facility before while visiting. Requested a nonsmoking room and was given one except the wing we were in was once a smoking wing. Still had the oder of smoke lingering. Probably because of nonsmoking nose. Garbage disposal did not work and lights under microwave did not work. We're not that finiky so weren't that concerned about minor problems. The rooms are always clean and the location for us is ideal. No room service as it is built for extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
15
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

For $65.00/night, my expectations were pretty low. I was very, very pleasantly surprised with my stay at Candlewood. Check -in was effortless. Staff was very friendly- even asking which floor I would prefer to have my room.

The room itself was very, very clean and nicely appointed. The refrigerator was a great amenity, and was immaculately clean. The bed had feather pillows and clean, contemporary linens. I was on the third floor, and it was nice to be able to open the window for fresh air. The wireless internet , armchair recliner, and contemporary desk/office set up was very nice.

Overall, I felt very at home and was happily surprised. It's definitely a perfect place to stay for short trips/overnights. Close to freeway, shopping and downtown Ann Arbor. Very comfortable, and for a single traveler, I felt very safe.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5loavesand2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

I travel a lot, and this was easily the worst hotel stay I've had in many years. It wasn't just one thing, it was several things that added up:
1) Although the entire hotel is supposedly non-smoking, my room (in fact the entire hotel wing) smelled like an ashtray. The cigarette smoke permeated everything -- the bedspreads, the curtains, the carpeting. I opened the window to try to air out the room, but to no avail. Made the entire room feel filthy.
2) The curtains are attached to the curtain rods with sharp pins. I found out the hard way when opening the curtains in the morning. Very dangerous.
3) There are no ice machines in the hotel. There are refrigerators in each room with ice makers, but there was no ice in the ice makers, either.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Warrior
Level Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I just spent 2 weeks at the Candlewood Ann Arbor. I've always been kind of leery about trying Candlewood Suites because they are usually so inexpensive but I decided to finally beak down and try one. Wow....I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. ...! I've stayed in pretty much every other extended stay brand hotel and this one easily ranked up there as one of my favorites, especially for the price.

My room was a 2 twin bed suite. I'd never seen twin (aka single) beds in a hotel before so automatically assumed twin meant double...ooops...so it was quite a shock to see these 2 tiny beds in my room. I could have gotten a different room but it would have been $10 a night more so my wife and I pulled a Lucy and Ricky Ricardo and slept in separate beds. The beds were really small, almost like a child's bed and I barely fit, in fact my feet hung off the end and it's not like I'm a giant I'm 6'1. Beyond the size of the bed I didn't care for the mattress either. Others here have raved about the mattresses but they just weren't my cup of tea, too springy for my taste.

The beds we really the only negative though. MY room was very clean, the housekeepers really do an excellent job here and I'm picky when it comes to room cleanliness. My blanket had some spaghetti sauce stains but other then that everything else was quite clean, especially for an extended stay. From my experience extended stay type hotels usually are not as clean as normal hotels since the rooms get cleaned more often. You only get housekeeping once a week in extended stays.

The furnishings in the room were a little old and worn but everything worked well. My room had a dvd player, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, (2) burner cooktop, kitchen utensils and wired high speed Internet. The Internet worked quite well for my entire stay and at a little over 1mbps the speeds were acceptable, in fact they were better then I expected for the price of the hotel.

The hotel has a lot of nice amenities like FREE laundry, just keep in mind the laundry room gets super busy so you might need to get up very early to do it. Also they have a decent fitness center and a pantry with soda's and snacks that is based on the honor system which was convenient.

The hotel was busy and the parking lot was pretty much full every day I was there but I really never heard a peep from anyone, my stay was quiet and uneventful.

I loved the location and there is a Whole Foods just across the street which was a big plus..!

All in all I really enjoyed my stay and the price was unbeatable. From now on I'll be staying in Candlewoods any time I run across them in my travels.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

this was everything I'd expect from a Candlewood. room was nice and clean and comfortable. Hotel was very quiet.
Work out room appeared that everything was operational.
Front desk staff nice and friendly at check in and check out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

My non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke the entire time I was there; when I got home I had to wash all of my clothing, even the items I hadn't worn, to get rid of the stench!

If it hadn't been for the stink, I would have liked the place. Comfortable bed, good location (on 2 bus routes, near a Panera and Whole Foods), the kitchenette even had a dishwasher. The walls are thin (could hear the neighbor's tv), but it would have been all right if not for the smoke.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaNon_smoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

It was a 4 day visit in September. The room was remodeled, kitchen was nice - good sized refrigerator, close to shopping (Meijer's is a cool store). It's a 1.4 mile walk to the "Big House" if you are there on a Saturday in the fall (Chrysler Arena would be close also). The service staff was nice, but this hotel only cleans rooms once per week, so make sure and hang your towels. The rooms are a good size. The gym is fairly simple and there is a snack store attached.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldExplorer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#21 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
Fairfield Inn Ann Arbor
#25 of 34 in Ann Arbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ann Arbor West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Property: Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Address: 701 Waymarket Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#8 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Detroit Ann Arbor is nestled in the city of Ann Arbor, the home of the Ann Arbor Art Festival. The hotel is located only 40 miles west of Detroit and close to I-94. Only a hop, skip and jump away you may visit the University of Michigan, Cabela's and Lake Forest Golf Course. Concordia and Eastern Michigan Universities are 10 minutes away. Shop until you drop at Briarwood Mall within mile and enjoy 10 excellent restaurants & Whole Foods Market directly across the street. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Everything from an executive desk to home entertainment helps guests work smart and relax. With two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access, you can relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers a full kitchen, DVD/VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. You may also borrow from our video & CD library. If you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Complimentary on-site fitness and laundry facility are always available. Domino's World Headquarters, VA Hospital, General Motors, Henry Ford Museum and Purple Rose Theatre are all in proximity. This is life on the road at its best.Pet friendly restrictions and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing