We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Underwhelmed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Before I begin this review I urge you to read any of my other reviews to assure you I am not someone that complains about the littlest things. With that said...

My wife and I stayed the weekend at this hotel for parents' weekend at the University of Michigan. On football weekends in Ann Arbor rooms are at a premium and one should expect to pay the price, which we did. With a quick search the standard nightly weekend price for our room is $99, and about $85 if paid in advance. To give you an idea of football weekend inflation, I paid $455 for 2 nights at this hotel. I don't mind paying this price for a quality room; however, this fell under the "anything but quality" category.

As you approach the entrance, the first thing noticeable is the location of the outdoor ashtrays. State law forbids smoking within 25 feet of a doorway. These ashtrays were less than 10 feet on either side of the entrance, thus putting smokers literally on the doorstep to the hotel. Check-in was acceptable, albeit slow. Our room was clean and appropriately furnished, but with an undersized queen bed. To my knowledge, king beds are not an option at this hotel. Three very small pillows were provided, not much larger than a throw pillow for a couch. When I requested more at the front desk I was given what I asked for, so they ARE available if you ask.

We were not expecting to return to the room on day one after our first night's stay to discover that there is no room cleaning for "short-term" customers. No clean sheets, no bed made, no clean towels, no coffee refill, absolutely nothing. On the back of the key card envelope is a brief explanation of this policy, but we were not informed verbally. If you want cleans towels you need to take the old ones to the front desk to exchange them. Forget about your room being cleaned.

Keep in mind this room cost $455 for TWO nights. A basic continental breakfast, which is standard in most hotels today for much less money, is not provded.

Noise is another issue. The walls and doors are very thin, allowing you to hear every door slam (ours would rattle every time another door in the hall slammed shut), your neighbor's tv and plenty of conversations in the general vicinity of your room.

To sum this review up, I will not stay at another Candlewood Suites, and I would recommend looking elsewhere to anyone considering staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear topfan,

Thanks for your review and staying with us. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with our hotel.We are an extended stay hotel, and we do only offer housekeeping weekly.However if you need it daily, that can be arranged for a nominal fee.

While we do not offer a free breakfast we do have the Candlewood cupboard where you can purchase something to cook up in your kitchenette.

I understand that this concept might not work so well for some. However most of our guests are long term and it works out quite well for others.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
17
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Always stay here when visiting our son and his family. Right next door to their apartment. Hairdryer did not work and toilet seat was loose. They are remodeling but did not bother us as guests. Enjoy the free access to washer and dryer. Will continue to stay there but reserve early because of multiple activities in this college town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is located at a very good location. It is right in the middle of a market, a supermarket and many eating joints.

It has a in house grocery store that serves that serves good purpose.

But that is where the good things end, the infrastructure is poor. The building is old, housekeeping is done once a week, the gym is the smallest i've ever seen. Everything in the rooms from the TV's to the heating system is outdated. In fact the channels on the TV were so unclear that i dot not even switch it on after the first day.

I went around town a little and would suggest folks to take up a place near the Michigan University. Downtown Michigan is very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Junaid W,

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the in house store. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received quality which was unacceptable and apologize you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694677
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I have stayed here 3 times in the past and would have given it a 5* rating. Sadly, on this occasion, things were not just right.
The hotel is well located near the freeway but just far enough away that its not too noisy. The car parking is excellent. Its about 3 miles from downtown so easy to get there as well.
My room was warm (good since its minus 3c outside) on arrival.
Now I have a few issues.
1 - My room was half clean/half not so clean....(see below) - the kitchen area was very clean so no issues there.
2 - This was a no smoking room but evidence of smoking was very clear and there were those awful brown marks in the bathroom where thoughtless customers had put down cigarettes on the bathroom surfaces
3 - My biggest issue, when I went to bed, I noticed a bright pink lump of gum stuck on the bedpost!!! - How on earth the cleaner missed this is beyond belief - Disgusting.
4 - The alarm in the bedroom had been set (presume by the previous guest) to 2.30AM and left running. I was therefore awakened at 2.30AM.
5 - When I finally got out of bed and into the shower, I noticed that the clock in the bedroom was showing the time to be 7am when in actual fact, the time was 6am. This is just careless from housekeeping who should check these things.

On reflection, I should have complained, particularly about the gum on the bedpost but, I was tired and also in my bedclothes.
Overall, the place is fine BUT these odd things let it down on this occasion.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This hotel is great. I would say it deserves a solid 3 star. It's clean, somewhat updated (no flat screen tv, but amenities nice), comfortable bed with multiple types of pillows available. It has a gym, a little store with snacks that's open later, and now they have a huge delivery service for food that will deliver until 4am! The best part about this hotel is that it is within walking distance to the stadium (about a mile). I highly recommend staying here for a visit to Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesAndAbbyMelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We actually had no idea how close to the Stadium we actually were and we saved time and money and actually walked to the game on a Saturday!! (It's about a mile and a half) The hotel is not a "grand dame", but it was clean and comfortable and very close to Campus and Downtown Ann Arbor for a reasonable price.

It is an extended stay, so they do not clean the room daily (which was fine with us). We did get fresh towels the second night, just asked the front desk clerk and he was happy to oblige. He also came up with a couple of extra pillows for us!

The full size fridge and microwave came in handy as well!!! We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EXGO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is the 2nd time we've been here since 2009, and the place is showing its age. It's an OK place to be, and it's convenient for us, but...water pressure lousy, trash in the halls all night, and the overall appearance is not what it was. It needs an overhaul to be sure. Staff was nice but we didn't need much from them. Like I said, this was OK. Just OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ann Arbor - Univ of Michigan
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Property: Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Address: 701 Waymarket Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#8 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Detroit Ann Arbor is nestled in the city of Ann Arbor, the home of the Ann Arbor Art Festival. The hotel is located only 40 miles west of Detroit and close to I-94. Only a hop, skip and jump away you may visit the University of Michigan, Cabela's and Lake Forest Golf Course. Concordia and Eastern Michigan Universities are 10 minutes away. Shop until you drop at Briarwood Mall within mile and enjoy 10 excellent restaurants & Whole Foods Market directly across the street. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Everything from an executive desk to home entertainment helps guests work smart and relax. With two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access, you can relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers a full kitchen, DVD/VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. You may also borrow from our video & CD library. If you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Complimentary on-site fitness and laundry facility are always available. Domino's World Headquarters, VA Hospital, General Motors, Henry Ford Museum and Purple Rose Theatre are all in proximity. This is life on the road at its best.Pet friendly restrictions and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing