We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Basic hotel- typical Candlewood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Lansing, MI
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Basic hotel- typical Candlewood”
Reviewed 16 January 2010

this was everything I'd expect from a Candlewood. room was nice and clean and comfortable. Hotel was very quiet.
Work out room appeared that everything was operational.
Front desk staff nice and friendly at check in and check out.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
17
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke the entire time I was there; when I got home I had to wash all of my clothing, even the items I hadn't worn, to get rid of the stench!

If it hadn't been for the stink, I would have liked the place. Comfortable bed, good location (on 2 bus routes, near a Panera and Whole Foods), the kitchenette even had a dishwasher. The walls are thin (could hear the neighbor's tv), but it would have been all right if not for the smoke.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaNon_smoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

It was a 4 day visit in September. The room was remodeled, kitchen was nice - good sized refrigerator, close to shopping (Meijer's is a cool store). It's a 1.4 mile walk to the "Big House" if you are there on a Saturday in the fall (Chrysler Arena would be close also). The service staff was nice, but this hotel only cleans rooms once per week, so make sure and hang your towels. The rooms are a good size. The gym is fairly simple and there is a snack store attached.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldExplorer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The room had fleas and a strong sent of dog poop cleaner. They do not segregate the pet rooms from non-pet, like they do with smoking rooms.

We had stayed there several times and not had too many bad experience, but this stay was a flea bite night.

My wife still has scars on her legs from the fleas.

I received a survey and replied, but never heard back from them.

It could be a reasonable place if they would either ban pets or have pet friendly rooms.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb64c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Being a Platinum member I never expected to be given a room on the third floor next to the dryer vent which sounded like a 747 taking off at JFK!! There was also dog hair embedded in the recliner and carpeting and black snarly hair in the bath tub. When I approached the management I was given some bs as if she had no clue what caused the issue; very unattentive! At 10am some scarry woman with missy teeth came in the room without knocking! turns out it was the exec housekeeper!; guess there's absolutly no communication between the morning management and housekeeping. STAY AWAY FROM THE CANDLEWOOD IN AA!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztrav2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Very good for extended stay for business or leisure. Nice units but fairly small with stove microwave, full size refrigerator, etc. Washing facilities were clean and the small store was convenient. Swimming pool was only item missing. That's okay as we generally don't use the pool at other hotels. Can hear movement of tenants above but not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBannieIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We were very pleased with our recent week-long stay at this Candlewood location. The suite layout allowed us to put our 2-year-old to bed in a separate room from us, his parents, so we could stay up later than 8 PM! The price was good for this much space, plus a full kitchen including dishwasher. DVD player too, good for the little one. (The front desk has a small selection of videos to borrow). Sure the suites are a bit antiseptic looking but all the amenities you need and clean as well. Location superb, as you can walk next door to a small shopping center with a Panera's (good for breakfast) and a Moe's. Across the road is a fantastic huge Whole Foods market, as well as Old Country Buffet. Many more restaurants are a 3-to-5 minute drive away. Even the heart of Ann Arbor is only about 10-15 minutes by car. Hotel is right off I-94 but soundproofing of windows was very good, could hardly hear any rumble at all.

The rather odd sickly-sweet smell alluded to in another review here was present in our room upon check-in...our guess was some kind of disinfectant they use upon cleaning. We got used to it within a couple of minutes, and by the second or third day it was hardly noticeable even upon first entering the room. Probably if one opened the windows fully, one could get rid of this smell even quicker. Only other small "complaint" was no wi-fi, only internet via the cable attachment at the work desk, so no surfing in bed possible. An outstanding value, staff was friendly. We would recommend this to families like ours in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprulyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ann Arbor - Univ of Michigan
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ann Arbor
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Property: Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Address: 701 Waymarket Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-6624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#8 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Detroit Ann Arbor is nestled in the city of Ann Arbor, the home of the Ann Arbor Art Festival. The hotel is located only 40 miles west of Detroit and close to I-94. Only a hop, skip and jump away you may visit the University of Michigan, Cabela's and Lake Forest Golf Course. Concordia and Eastern Michigan Universities are 10 minutes away. Shop until you drop at Briarwood Mall within mile and enjoy 10 excellent restaurants & Whole Foods Market directly across the street. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Everything from an executive desk to home entertainment helps guests work smart and relax. With two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access, you can relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers a full kitchen, DVD/VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. You may also borrow from our video & CD library. If you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Complimentary on-site fitness and laundry facility are always available. Domino's World Headquarters, VA Hospital, General Motors, Henry Ford Museum and Purple Rose Theatre are all in proximity. This is life on the road at its best.Pet friendly restrictions and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing