We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, cozy, and a very pleasant place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Arcadia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My girlfriends and I (5 of us) stayed for 3 nights at the Arcadia House B&B, and had a great experience there. The roomy sitting room outside our second-floor rooms provided a welcoming, homey atmosphere for chatting. I especially appreciated the window seat at the bay window - very cozy. The cupboards in that sitting area had more than enough amenities: extra soaps, towels, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.
The owners were very friendly and gave us really helpful information about the area, including filling us in on some local stories. The breakfasts were delicious. They have a hot tub (we didn't use it, but others did) and since Patrice is a licensed masseuse, they also offer a mini-spa experience.

The only tiny negative is that the room in which we stayed was smaller than I'm used to, and the bathroom was also quite small. However, it ended up adding to the charm and adventure of our stay, and we went with the flow.

The inn is very conveniently located right on M22, in the village of Arcadia, and is only a 5 block walk from a lovely Lake Michigan beach. There are excellent dining options available in nearby Onekama, Elberta, and Frankfort.

We had a delightful time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huntjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2009

When you go to Northern Michigan, this place is the place you want to stay. I would never consider staying any place else- and we have sent many of our clients here for a relaxing stay. The hosts, Greg and Patrice, keep a very sparkling clean hotel and wear all the hats. They are a wealth of information when it comes to knowing all the local activity. When you stay here, you are a short walk to a beautiful white sand private beach, minutes from private hiking areas and local attractions like museums and antique shopping, and less than 1/2 an hour from other quaint little towns like Frankfort.In the hotel, you can book a relaxing massage, manicure or pedicure, or use the sparkling hot tub in any season. We brought our own bottle of champagne for a special occasion and ordered delicious meals from the local restauranteurs. There are several great restaurants nearby with beautiful lake views.
We went biking, hiking, boating, fishing, swimming and took photographic jaunts all in a three day weekend!
The hotel itself is a historic landmark, a well maintained, Victorian Style home with lovely rooms, private toilets and showers stocked with luxurious goodies to use. You can get towels galore for your room or the hot tub, and if you forget your shampoo or toothpaste don't fret! They have it all.
If you are a homebody, you can just sit in any of the inside public areas and read, look at your computer (they have free internet access), play cards, or just vegetate.
If you would rather sit outside, they have a beautiful garden chocked full of every type of local plant and flower, as well as their own grown herbs. Or, you can sit on the pleasant front porch in a swing or rocker.
We stayed in a lovely room in the main house, but had a chance to view the Carriage House, which is a large three bedroom cabin type arrangement which is part of the same property. If there is a bunch of you, for very CHEAP, you can rent this amazing house with a living room, television, kitchen and steam bath.
The breakfast was different every morning and we got our choice of times. Coffee and tea are always available. The hosts were very friendly and were always available in the house when we needed them. They made calls for us to get prices and times that places were open, and at the same time, maintained our privacy. W chatted with other guests around breakfast time, many of whom are repeat customers on a regular basis.
The beds are comfortable and really clean- all the maintenance is kept up perfectly.
This is a wonderful romantic spot which takes you back to an era when life was simpler, yet classy. I would recommend this place for any couples or as a great retreat place for a group of you. We have done it both ways, with our grown children, and as a couple- for a great getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vanatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Friendly and knowledgable hosts, excellent breakfasts--that's the good news. Small room, very small bathroom, teeny-tiny shower, and no fresh towels after the 1st day is the not so good. We thought it was overpriced at $129/nt.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArcadiaHouse, Owners at Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2009

We appreciate your comments and concerns. Firstly, just like in hotels, our in room information lets guests know that towels will be exchanged if they are left on the floor of the bathroom. Additionally, we have towels available at the base of the stairs for the hot tub which can be used, or towels available in the "Guest Amenity" cabinet . We have since additionally noted the "Guest Amenity" cabinet with the words "Extra Towels". We are also available 24/7 for any needs that arise and are happy to be of service. Regarding the size of the room, if you've spent time staying in B&B's, you would find that most B&B's are not huge but generally cozy and adequate for a nice weekend together. We feel that the term "teeny-tiny was highly unfair. (Actually, in our old life, we stayed at many major hotel chains with smaller bathrooms). In the end, with a bit of research, you would find that our prices are very appropriate and competitive for the area.

Best Regards,
Patrice & Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

This cozy B&B has 3 rooms, and great common areas on both the upstairs and ground floors. There are stacks and stacks of magazines and a gas fireplace in the living room. The hosts are really nice, cook up great breakfasts, have great advice for places to go and things to do (including advice on cross-country ski trails), but are not chatty, and you won't see them except during breakfast. The place is clean to the extreme. There is an outdoor hottub but we did not try it out. The place is a short drive to the Crystal Mountain ski resort and 5 blocks from the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank griota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

The B&B is a lovely home in a wonderful spot (see pic on their web site). I needed a place at the last minute and though I knew of the B&B, had never stayed there before; but also did not realize it had newer owners. Was glad they had an opening for us! Greg & Patrice were great and unobtrusive but available, flexible on breakfast times, great food, very clean rooms, lovely home, key to the door for all hours access, hot tub, and accommodated my vegetarian diet. As we were a last minute entrant, we were in the smallest room but this was expected and do-able. Very nice sitting rooms on both floors for that extra space and camaraderie. ......

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swaybreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
9.6 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
169 reviews
9.6 mi away
Harbor Lights Resort
Harbor Lights Resort
#1 of 2 in Frankfort
165 reviews
15.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
12.2 mi away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17304 Northwood Hwy, Arcadia, MI 49613-9786
Region: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Arcadia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arcadia
Price Range: £82 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely and gracious Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline village of Arcadia. Each room features a queen bed and private bath. Enjoy a delicious full hot breakfast daily, relax in the outdoor garden hot tub and take in a massage at the on site Mini Spa. Near to Arcadia Bluffs Golf Course, Crystal Mountain Ski Resort, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Arcadia Dunes Nature Preserve and Arcadia Beach on Lake Michigan. Open all seasons. Carriage House rental and seasonal specials also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Arcadia House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing