We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lake in Michigan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clear Lake State Park
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best lake in Michigan”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Great location (hour from Gaylord, Alpena, Cheboygan and little over an hour to Mackinac City/Island). Great trails, water is clean, people are awesome and can't beat the blueberry picking! Nice size lake for skiing or tubing. The campgrounds are being remodeled currently and updated. Kids will love this place for campling, beach is perfect. Short hike thru the woods is the day use park and they have Disc Golf. This lake is cold, but it's clean... rather have a clean lake that's cold than a warm lake that harbors illness and bacteria. Lots of critters (raccoons, squirrels, deer and even bear) and even better... ELK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank breeze1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a great quiet campground on a very clear lake. It was too cold for me, but the kids loved it. The bathrooms were kept very clean, but they do close for an extended time in the afternoon and you have to use the ones on the other loop or wait. Small price to pay for clean facilities. The people camping there were friendly and the kids had fun playing with others. For entertainment Mackinac Island is a great day trip from here as well as going to the shipwreck tour in Alpena. There is a disc golf course and boat launch which we did not use. I think our site was 147. It was half way between the restroom and the beach, a perfect spot.

Room Tip: About half way between Atlanta and the State Park is a roadside stand of wood. The $5 pile lasted u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tbaz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is our 3rd year going to the campground. we love it. staff is awesome, guests are awesome, lake is awesome. We haven't had any trouble with too many boats or jet skis. We tend to spend the days on the lake or the beach and the evenings around the campfire. Kids love to bike throughout the campground. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Beautiful State Park! We had a nice stay at the campground. There were great fireworks over the lake on the 4th of July. The lake is great for swimming and boating, but not the best for fishing. There is great hiking in the area, just be sure to have a map, the trail markings can be a little deceiving. As mentioned in another post, I would recommend wearing long pants/protective clothing due to wooded trails and ticks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we asolutely rated this a 5 star, except for ticks. we came home with our dogs covered in ticks. took about a week to get rid of all of them. the park is awesome, almost worth the discomfort. i spent a lot of time walking through the woods and ended up with a rash. would advise wearing protection. still, had a great time.

Room Tip: not rooms, we stayed in the state park at a camping site. the sites were all large, clean and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank barb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

very nice park for families. the memorial weekend 2013 fishing was absolutely horrible! usually there are blu gill & sunfish @ most lakes for the kids but Clear Lake has NOTHING! Its like a barren wasteland as far as marine life! the lake itself is nice,cold, and clear water but it seems like there are no fish in it! even out in a boat we didn't even get a bite! the worst lake we ever fished in hands down.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Krackermost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I went camping there last Summer 2011! The Lake is simply AMAZING! It's as teal as the pictures show you and you can see all the way to the bottom of the Lake which was very scary when diving off a boat and you can see down (clearly) 60ft.. LOL. The campgrounds were so clean, the bathrooms, the showers, the Staff so very helpful and kind and the people who were camped there have been going for years and they couldn't have been nicer!! I am going again .. even if it means I have to sleep in my pub tent, lol.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clear Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Lake State Park

Property: Clear Lake State Park
Address: 20500 M- 33 North, Atlanta, MI 49709
Region: United States > Michigan > Atlanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Clear Lake State Park Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing