We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Au Train
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Au Train B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We used this delightful cottage as a home base for a week of exploring the upper peninsula. We felt welcomed and Susan took care to make sure we had lots of exciting options for activities in the area. The cottage itself is beautifully presented, from the thyme wafting up from the driveway to the thoughtfully decorated interior. The kitchen is well-stocked with dishes and pans. Note: only salt and pepper are in stock. You'll need to bring your own oils and other basics along with whatever you plan to eat - and charcoal, should you wish to use the BBQ.

Although it isn't on the lake, the cottage is very close to beach access for Lake Superior and to the Au Train River. In the height of summer, we watched the sun go down from a white sand beach that was empty for a mile in either direction. I'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arfenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the cottage memorial weekend to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. The little details Susan put into this cottage make it such an intimate and romantic getaway. Not to mention her amazing hospitality making sure we had a wonderful and stress free weekend. We even had the pleasure of viewing as many as 5 humming birds at a time every evening from the porch. This was definitely an experience we will never forget!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We spent 2 days at the cottage in early October and had a fantastic time. Susan is a super host - very friendly and full of information and ideas on making the most of your visit in this especially pretty part of the USA. The Cottage was a real surprise - very large and comfortable with great views across Au Train Lake and we had a great time there. We have visited many different areas of the USA in 11 trips over the last 5 years as we are on a quest to visit the 58 USA National Parks, and the whole Upper Peninsula of Michigan was one of the best areas we have seen. The scenery is superb and a big variety of activities on hand means its easy to fill in your time. A photographers paradise! We can't wait to get back there as Susan made us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: The Cottage is superb! Large and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsoxrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

What a wonderful B & B !! Susan, our hostess, couldn't have been more attentive to making our short stay relaxing and memorable. The setting was beautiful, the accomodations warm and inviting and our only regret was that we couldn't extend our stay--at least this time!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F_M_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
152 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We spent just one night in the Paulson Pond room at the AuTrain Lake B&B. The location between two small lakes is beautiful. The cottage is deceptively simple from the outside, but the interior is very nicely designed and furnished. The views from the Paulson Pond room and its balcony are exceptional. One minor design issue with the Paulson Pond room -- no door on the bathroom; something to be aware of in case you aren't comfortable with that.
Susan served a nice breakfast, and was very helpful providing local information. We also enjoyed dinner at the nearby Brownstone Inn. Finally, the B&B was conveniently close to Munising and the Pictured Rocks boat tours.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Beautiful setting between Au Train Lake and Paulson Pond. We stayed in the Paulson Pond room which was beautifully furnished and had wonderful views of the pond. Susan, the innkeeper, was very helpful in suggesting activities and places to rent bikes, eat dinner and run. Her three course gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Au Train is well situated between Munising and Marquette. We were there for four days and didn't begin to explore everything the area has to offer.
If you are going to be in the area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Our host was a wealth of knowledge, giving us great tips & advice. There are so many beautiful off the beaten track places to see & enjoy. The accommodations and breakfast were excellent. We felt like family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Au Train
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
8.9 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#5 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
24.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
11.3 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

Property: Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Address: N6925 Autrain Forest Lake Rd, Au Train, MI 49806-9614
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Au Train
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Au Train
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B located between AuTrain Lake and Paulson Lake on the grounds of Paulson House, Michigan Historic Site 176, in north central Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Three rooms, each with private bath and decks, furnished for comfort, supremely restful beds, thick towels Views of the lakes, meadow and forest. Country gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing