We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, okay accommodations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value, okay accommodations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel on July 20, 2013. What we got for the price was good. Our main complaint was excess hair in the bathroom and poor drainage in the tub. We reserved three rooms and everyone mentioned the hair in their bathroom. Some of the towels and wash clothes should be put out of commission as they have stains on them. Overall the rooms and hotel itself are clean so I wouldn't not discourage anyone from giving it a try, it's just not up to my standards. Should I ever go back to Detroit, I may try an Extended Stay America at another location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IIGeminis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 26 July 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the housekeeping concerns. I have reviewed our linen processing procedures with our team team to make sure all of our lines are fresh for our guests. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    19
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
16
18
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oscoda, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My stay here at the hotel has been great and it was very beneficial to me being a law student and not knowing the area. Staying here saved me money since I didn't have to bring furniture, or worry about the utility bills or extras. And not knowing the area and looking for an apartment, Extended Stay really helped me out financially for my first term. Plus the law school is only a couple of blocks away from the hotel.
They helped me out by putting me in an area where my neighbors were not noisy and I was able to study. Housekeeping staff is great and stayed on top of cleaning my rooms weekly if I needed. The extra amenities like dish drainer, cooking utensils and spoons, forks, coffee machine, dishwasher, were all great.
I just basically had to worry about buying my own food being my cost other than room payments which they worked out as monthly payments. I am happy with my stay here at Extended Stay in Auburn Hills, its close to major shopping and hospitals, economic and convenient. Again, the management and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 18 July 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It is great to hear how beneficial the accommodations were for you. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel has been our home away from home for over 4 weeks and the management and staff have been nothing short of wonderful. They have been incredibly accommodating, friendly and very helpful. Everyone has been great, but extra kudos go out to Caren and Frederick. The facility itself, as well as our room, is very clean and very well maintained. I would recommend this property to anyone who is requiring the best in accommodations and service in this area of Michigan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Jo - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We truly appreciate your comments about our hotel and the staff, especially Caren and Frederick. I truly enjoy receiving positive feedback about will be sure to share your remarks with all of the members of our team. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. After a poor experience the first time, we were comped a second stay. After two stays I would not be back.

The rooms are clean, but very run-down. The carpets have stains, the furniture is getting tattered, wall paper is peeling.

The toilet in our room was running and making a lot of noise. We closed the door to keep the noise level down and the door locked. We could not get back into our bathroom. Upon calling the front desk, we were informed that the hotel did not have a staff member to fix it. There were no rooms with a King sized bed available to be transferred to, only double bed rooms. We did not want to sleep in a double bed, so were given a key to the double bed room down the hall to use the bathroom facilities.

Breakfast is "grab and go" - prepackaged muffins, granola bars, and some pretty sad looking fruit.

The only good part of our stay was the comfortable bed and that the stay was free.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 20 June 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues while staying with us. I am discussing your review with our staff to adress your concerns. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at dab@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Extremely close to Chrysler HQs and easy to get to I-75. Very friendly, professional desk agent who listened and got me a top floor room. The room was very clean and was perfect for a week-long stay. Although there is a great kitchen, the selection of cooking utensils/pots & pans may have been lacking, but overall, it allowed me to save money over going out to eat for every meal. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the staff and cleanliness of the room. We certainly take a lot of pride in our facility. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Have stayed before in Extended Stay in many cities, but this should rank as among the worst ever; You had customer service persons who were always grumpy, who assumed you were staying for free and had a lackadaisical attitude; Even to collect your mails/parcels was unpleasant; The bathroom door was not locking and was not repaired even after 3 weeks of stay, same with the bathroom water issue; A customer service person told that it was not her duty to remind us before checkout date for extending a room;; Another person was very rude and made unpleasant remarks; The breakfast was really wortheless with the items served decreasing with every week of stay, First fruit juice was removed, then it was the oats, then it was the fruits served, at the end everyone I knew started preparing their own breakfast, I would definitely not recommend this ESA to even my worst enemy

Room Tip: Choose Ground Floor Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDO_Sarah_L, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 15 April 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the poor customer service you received. Your comments were reviewed by the staff and we will train and coach our front desk agents to make sure this experience is not repeated. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, at dab@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City, MI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed here for a weekend away to go to the Auburn Hills Mall. It's proximity to the mall is awesome, you just hop back on the expressway, and you are there in about 5 minutes. Great. The first room we walked into was a disaster. There were key cards still on the table, along with a knife left out, and there was black soot(?) all over the place. The bed was not made.... all in all not clean at all. So we lugged our things back down and told the front desk, and she said that her system showed that it was cleaned. Our eyes saw differently. She gave us another room down the hall from the dirty room. Once we got settled, it was okay. The shower was vapor locked and made a squealing sound the entire time you were in there, which wasn't very long because the drain did not work properly and before you know it, you're standing in ankle deep water. The same went with the sink- poor plumbing. The bed was decent, the TV was updated, but, I've stayed in three other hotels in the area, and I would not come back here. The Wyndham and the Hyatt are much nicer, but, I guess you get what you pay for; if you want something cheap, this will do.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDO_Sarah_L, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd., responded to this review, 28 February 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues while staying with us. I am discussing your review with our staff to ensure that issue does not happen again in the future. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at dab@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#9 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.
Address: 2100 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2804 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Auburn Hills/Featherstone Hotel Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Extended Stay
Extended Stay Auburn Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing