We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice lunch buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rangoli

Rangoli
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn Hills
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
411 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“nice lunch buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

stopped in for lunch the other day. buffete is the play for lunch. Many choices, good quality, and there are a lot of people, so they keep the food turing over and fresh

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to find with a large menu and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I won't pretend to know Indian food and what 'authentic' means. But I know that it's easy to overload foods with spices like cilantro and curry, ruining the natural mingling of the flavors in spicy dishes. Rangoli gets it right, with every dish I tried a nice blend of flavors. The menu is extensive, and the restaurant has a decent beer and wine selection. My service could have been better, though I noticed other tables getting outstanding service from other servers, so it's hit-or-miss.

If you are visiting Chrysler or one of the other automotive companies on Opdyke Road, this might be a great change of pace from the usual Applebee's, Macaroni Grill or Mongolian Barbeque. They even have a buffet at lunch. The restaurant itself is a little hard to find. It's 'around the corner' from Walton Blvd in a strip mall on the north side of Walton about halfway between I-75 and Squirrel Rd, and if you see the 'DQ' sign for the Dairy Queen next door you'll know you've found the right strip mall.

One item of note: I ordered my dishes spiced 'hot'. They were more what I would call 'medium'. If you like your dishes extra spicy, be sure to tell your server you'd like 'Indian hot', not 'American hot'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulmubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lunch is a buffet (you can also order from the menu).
Dinner is a way more quiet atmosphere.
Food is great and a good introduction to Indian cusine. I would recommend the chicken tika massala.
Cooking classes are also available.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok Indian food but could do better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Lunch buffet is the best value. Not spectacular but not awful. Service is spotty at best. Decent place to get your Indian fix dealt with.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dv9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Local Indian place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Lunch is a buffet with various choices
The food is excellent, portions are large. My favorite was the chicken tikka massala.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rangoli also viewed

 
Auburn Hills, MI
 

Been to Rangoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing