We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and can't beat the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and can't beat the location”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My sister and I stayed here a part of a girls getaway shopping weekend. We booked the hotel because the location seemed perfect and we were not disappointed. Great Lakes Crossing Outlet mall is right at the hotel - about a 3 minute walk to the entrance which was perfect. If you have mobility issues there is a free shuttle from the hotel to the mall. Aside from the mall there is also a Target, Kohl's, Meijer, Old Navy etc within a 5 min drive and there are also lots of restaurants around ie. Olive Garden, Applebee's etc.
Room: The room was great, we had 2 queen beds as requested and the room had a fridge and microwave which was handy. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was perfect and nicely appointed with all the amenities you would need. The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked very well. It was very quiet at night and we had no trouble sleeping.
Pool/Fitness Club: The fitness club is small but nicely appointed with water coolers that you can freely access. The pool area was very nice and clean with towels available and a hot tub area which was very nice.
Internet: There are two computers in the lobby area which are free to use and were very quick.
Service: Service was great, front desk staff were all very helpful and very nice.
Food: A free hot breakfast is included which is a nice touch. It's nothing special but it's free and there is ample choice such as eggs, bacon, biscuits, bagles, cinnamon buns, cereal and coffee and juice is included. There was also free coffee and cookies in the lobby during the day and a coffee machine in your room which was included. There is also a snack store where you can purchase pretty much anything you might be craving.
Overall impression: Fantastic overall impression. We were extremely happy with this hotel and will return in the future.,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    58
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
45
12
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Be sure to take your swim suit...and work out clothes. Wonderful pool and work out area...nice cozy rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pananny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trempealeau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I travel to the Detroit area a couple times a year and over the years have stayed at many different hotels. I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express twice now and it is by far my absolute favorite. The customer service is the best! The rooms are spacious, clean, modern and beautiful. Of course you have to love the bidet toilets as well. :-) Their complimentary breakfast is great and you get free cookies. The location is great because you can just walk across the parking lot to the Great Lakes Crossing for great shopping and dining. In fact, my husband had heard me talk about this hotel so much that when we travel there together in August for a vacation he requested we stay there! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I just wanted to thank the Holiday Inn Express staff for being such great hosts to our guests!!I We had a large meeting at our Corporation in Oxford and we had several Parker employees from several different countries come to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in March. We had visitors from Germany, India, and China, as well as many visitors from within the US. Everyone loved their accomidations. Also, it was great to have the mall near by for dinners, and shopping. We frequently use the Holiday Inn express for our customers and Parker Hannifin employees. I have always received great feedback from everyone! I know I can book with confidence! I just received a call last week from another Parker Employee that had stayed there. They wanted to let me know that they received a great rate, and they were upgraded to a better room because they mentioned our Corporate name. I didn't even know the associate was coming to town, but it makes me feel confident that the Holiday Inn in Auburn Hills is going to take care of their guests, no matter what the situation is. Thank you all again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmdurangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel was great. People at the front desk were very friendly and helpful at check-in. They even gave me a free upgrade when I arrived. On my way to the room I snagged a couple free cookies they out... strawberry white chocolate, yum.

The room was nice and clean. My room even had a fridge and microwave, which was way more than I was expecting! The room was a nice size and the beds were comfy.

The view out the window-- a huge mall, indoor outlets, with lots of restaurants. Not only was the mall very nice, but I could eat at the restaurants and it was within walking distance.

I visited the pool that night. It was a little chilly, but the hot tub was nice.

Overall, great hotel. The room was a bit on the pricy side for personal use, but the rate they gave my company was very good.

Room Tip: Find out if this hotel gives your company any discounts on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spease07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Auburn Hills multiple times and I would not even think about going to another hotel. Very clean rooms and common areas. Very friendly staff and what seems to be a great management team. You're missing out if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alemap1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed overnight and was exhausted when I arrived. The room was very clean, modern and calming with many nice amenities. The bidet style toilet was an added plus along with additional outlets in the bathroom made using hair styling electronics much easier. The staff was very helpful and so friendly.
Finally, your complimentary breakfast was definitely a "cut above" was most other similar hotels provide. The scrambled eggs were fluffy as though made from scratch (unlike the very rubbery ones that are normally served) and the coffee was very delicious. I would definitly stay at this hotel again if I am ever back in the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlhunt3871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Auburn Hills
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#6 of 17 in Auburn Hills
218 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#11 of 17 in Auburn Hills
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 3990 Baldwin Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-1219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Variety and Convenience at Our Auburn Hills Hotel The Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Auburn Hills, is 10 miles from Oakland County Int'l Airport (PTK), and offers a free shuttle anywhere within five miles of the hotel, except DTE or The Palace. This suburban Auburn Hills hotel near Metro Detroit, offers activities from shopping at the neighboring Great Lakes Crossing Mall to watching a Detroit Pistons game at The Palace. You'll find something new to do every season, such as splashing away the summer heat at Waterford Oaks Water Park, just three miles away. During the winter you can go skiing at Pine Knob just five miles from our Auburn Hills lodging. Our hotel near Metro Detroit is conveniently located for business travelers, with the corporate headquarters of companies such as Guardian, GM, Continental and Chrysler within five miles of the hotel. Crittenton Hospital is only seven miles from our Auburn Hills hotel. If corporate guests need to host a meeting, we offer two rooms that they can utilize, as well as a 24-hour business center. Our Auburn Hills accommodations offer wonderful amenities such as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Take time out to relax in our heated, indoor pool and whirlpool or enjoy a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Auburn Hills is delighted to meet all of your hospitality needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Auburn Hills
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing