We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Loved staying in this hotel - complementary cookies at night during the week, customer service was wonderful, and enjoyment of their heated pool was splendid.

Please call on their services for your next needed stay in the Auburn hills/Rochester, MI areas.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September 2013 for 2 nights.

The hotel was in a great location for us. We were going to an Eagles concert at the Palace. The hotel is about 5 minutes from the Palace and about 40 minutes from the Detroit Airport.

The service while staying at the hotel was great and the employees were welcoming and polite.

The room was nicely updated and well stocked. The internet worked well.

The deal breaker was the bill. We booked the package with American Airlines that included airfare, hotel and rental car. When we checked out, we were told the bill was $0 and we did not owe any additional money for any incidentals.

A few days later, a hotel bill of $194 was deducted from my credit card account (we were required at check in to leave a credit card for incidentals). I called the hotel. After speaking to three different people and being on hold for over 30 minutes, I was told that American Airlines did not indicate that the room was paid. Geez!

I called American Airlines. Their customer service representative called the hotel on my behalf. After speaking with the hotel, American Airlines called me back. I needed to fax a copy of my credit card statement to American Airlines and they would handle the issue. I faxed the statement and American Airlines forwarded the information to the hotel the same day.

After not receiving the refund, American Airlines contacted the hotel AGAIAN. Crowne Plaza FINALLY refunded my money after about 4 weeks.

I would not stay at the hotel again due to the difficulty in dealing with the customer service representatives and the amount of time it took to correct a mistake. Mistakes are understandable. Crowne Plaza employees handling the mistake repeatedly dropped the ball.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpeel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPAuburnHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. I’m pleased you found our product and services to your liking. I do regret, and apologize for any part of the billing confusion for which our hotel may have been responsible. Packaged rates can sometimes be confusing, with many parties involved in the process. While we successfully handle many such reservation plans, we need to be sure our part is trouble-free. We will work to ensure this doesn't become a common issue.

Chuck DeSantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Last month I visited Auburn Hills with my girlfriend to visit some old friends. I told my girlfriend I didn't mind where we stay, so she decided to give Crown Plaza a try becuase of the 24 hour pool for adults, whcih was amazing to relax in. The pool was heated, and was kept updated.

Upon arriving, our airline had lost our luggage, as well as our flight was delayed, so I was having a really bad day.

Once I pulled up at the hotel, my first impression was not very rewarding. It reminded me of a corporate business office because of the lack of color. It was very maintanied though, and very clean. Once I stepped inside, I said to my girlfriend what a very nice, clean lobby, with very updated furniture. You can tell that the hotel employees are very passionate about cleanliness. My day started getting a little better once I started walking up to the front desk. I was greeted right away with a very warm welcome and a smile from a gentelmen named Adam. He could tell I was having a bad day, and offered to upgrade to a more private floor, so that my girlfriend and I could relax in peace. He also offered to help with our luggage, since both of our arms were full.

After a very nice, rested nap (bed was supper comfortable by the way), I had called down to the front desk to ask for some more towels. Adam answered the phone with a very friendly good evening, and informed me that he would be up to my room in no time with new towels. Not even five minutes later, he was knocking at my door.

The reson I spend so much time talking about the excellent service is because I was just so mind blown. I travel for business a lot, and I have never had an individual care so much about making my experience at their hotel a rewarding one. I could tell he really cares about his job, and is a very polite and friendly person. My grilfriend and I ended up having an in depth conversation with him about living in Texas, which had nothing to do with his job title. I believe that Crown Plaza has received an excellent team member, who will really go above and beyond to accomodate the guest and their needs in whatever way possible. I will definitely be recommending the Crown Plaza of Auburn Hills to my friends and family becuase of the lasting impression that Adam left on my girlfriend and I. Thank you Adam for making our day, as well as our stay a very rewarding one!

Room Tip: the executive floors are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPAuburnHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hello Kyle B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. I'm quite pleased Adam was able to be of aid to you. We are here to help in any we can, so it is good to know our effort equaled our commitment.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Chuck DeSantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My stay at Crowne Plaza was nice and cozy. This hotel was recommended by Dametra Rouser, an associate of the Crowne Plaza, and I must say that for the rate of overnight stay and service given, she made a great choice! I feel the pool area needs improvement, but besides that, I wouldnt mind visiting Crowne Plaza of Auburn Hills again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at the Crowne plaza with a wedding party and had a very good stay. I was greeted by Mashawn with a smile and with the help from Crystal me and my four rooms where checked in quickly. We had a bridal room the next day and even though there was 8 weddings taking place banquets(Katherine) made sure we had everything we needed. When it got tough she sent for help from the FB (Katie) who wasnt hesitant to help bring things. Just want to let the crowne plaza know their staff in ALL departments were awesome. The wedding parties was a little out of control but one call to night auditor Pam and we had a peaceful night sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dametra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPAuburnHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Hello Dametra R.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re most pleased you found our staff and services to be friendly and efficient. Our goal is always to provide our guests everything they expect….and a little bit more. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to serve you again soon.

Kindly,
Chuck DeSantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I recently stayed for one night at the Crowne Plaza in Auburn Hills. The hotel is located right in the heart of Auburn Hills near all major businesses and shopping areas. There was plenty of free parking, and the exterior is clean and updated.
I was welcomed by the friendly counter staff as a IHG Platinum member, and was offered a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi suite. Normally I would think this is a good thing, but as you'll read and see from the photos, I think I would have preferred a normal room!
The sleeping area of the room was typical modern Crowne Plaza. That means a very comfortable bed, nice work desk, and good flat screen TV. The hotel had good free wi-fi internet speeds, which is always welcomed when travelling on business. If you've never stayed at a Crowne, you have to try their beds. They are one of my favorites in the hotel industry with soft but firm mattress and nice pillows.
My issue with the room was the bathroom. As you can see from the photos, the Jacuzzi tub was HUGE and actually quite hard to get in and out of to shower in. I'm young and I was afraid of slipping and killing myself in this thing! Plus, the shower area was finished in very old white tile that was really showing its age. The tiles were worn and very dirty looking.
My other issue with the hotel was the hotel restaurant. It is called O'Malley's Pub and I guess it is not owned or operated by the CP, but the food and service was really bad. My pasta dish was smothered in greasy cheese and was overcooked. When the waitress realized I was just ordering a main course with no app, alcohol or dessert, I felt ignored the whole meal.

So other than these two small issues, I had a good night sleep and would stay here again. I'd just ask for a normal king room and not the upgrade!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPAuburnHills, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your insights regarding your stay. We realize there are many options in the Auburn Hills market and appreciate not only your patronage, but the time taken to point out our opportunities. I have discussed the service that you received at O'Malley's with their manager and we are working to make sure that this is not an issue moving forward. We hope to see you again!

Chuck DeSantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I thought this hotel was okay overall. The room size, cleanliness, and quality were all above average for the price point. The bathroom was enormous and the addition of a small couch, fridge, and coffee table made it feel a bit more livable. It was nice to have a restaurant and bar on property. It was certainly nothing special as the quality of both mixed drinks and food was very standard, but the unlimited Sunday brunch was only $10--great deal--and their ranch was homemade--delicious!
My biggest gripe was that I was very excited that this property had a 24 hour pool. I love a late night or early morning dip in the hot tub when traveling. However, the pool area and the pool/hot tub themselves looked grimy. I didn't even give them a try despite my excitement going into the stay. There were also a lot of families at the hotel and I found it hard to relax when kids are screaming and splashing in the background--personal opinion.
For the price, I would stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie_Venetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDulles, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello BerraBerro,

Thanks for taking the time to relate your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to to seeing you when your travels bring you back to Auburn Hills. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the pool area. Our pool is very popular with families, which is why we also offer an overnight program restricted to adults, only. We'll make sure we're ready for you next time!

Chuck DeSantis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#7 of 17 in Auburn Hills
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills

Address: 1500 Opdyke Rd., Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Auburn Hills Offers a Free Weekday Area Shuttle by request. Located North of Detroit, the Crowne Plaza Detroit - Auburn Hills Hotel is newly renovated and the place to meet in the metropolitan area. With free high-speed Internet access and weekday shuttle service, our Auburn Hills hotel is a great place to base your next trip to Detroit. For business travelers, there are many corporations less than a mile from our Auburn Hills hotel near Detroit including Chrysler , General Motors and Fanuc Robotics. There are several large venues close to our hotel outside Detroit, as well. The Palace at Auburn Hills and DTE Energy Music Theater are just a few minutes away. Leisure travelers and avid shoppers will find Great Lakes Crossing Mall, Somerset Mall, the Village of Rochester Hills Mall and Canterbury Village very close to our Auburn Hills hotel near Detroit. In addition, downtown Detroit is just twenty minutes away. Detroit's well-known Zoo and Cranbook Art Museum are also just a short drive from our hotel in Auburn Hills. The Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills Hotel has an indoor swimming pool that is open 24 hours a day for guests over 21. We also have 4,500 square feet of meeting space that can be tailored to fit the needs of your gathering. Our hotel sales team can work with you to make your meeting a success. Stay with us at our Auburn Hills hotel and enjoy our upscale business accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing