We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We really liked the size of the room and the convenience of microwave, frig and heat regulation. The service was not great. We did not know that there was no maid service on the weekend and disappointed about that. Hallways are not clean but room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Room by elevator was noisy with the bell ringing all night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chihood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

I rarely write reviews, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.Staff was extremely helpful and always very friendly. There was a full breakfast with multiple options. They also offer a $10 shuttle to and from the Palace through Hoops Bar. Also the rooms were spacious, clean and I found the small kitchen to be really useful. My favorite part however, was that it was extremely pet friendly. My 60lb dog was only $15 to stay and there is a back door with an area for the dogs and the hotel provides dog bags. It isn't extremely spacious but enough for any dog to do their business. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornSuites_mgt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Sophie,
We are so happy that both you and your dog had a happy stay. We are hopeful you will come back again soon.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here to attend the George Strait concert for Valentine's Day. The staff upon check in was helpful, very friendly and courteous yet a bit unprofessional. The room was nice, complete with a nice kitchenette. We stayed for two nights, and our bed had not been made during our stay. I made it myself at about 5 in the afternoon after realizing that housekeeping had not come back after we left. I did report this upon check out and the fellow behind the desk was apologetic and said he would provide feedback as this is a service that is supposed to be offered. We also had a problem with our toilet, however upon calling the desk it was resolved quickly and efficiently. I must also add that the have a nice breakfast area, as well as a decent breakfast and offered chocolate chip cookies to everyone on Valentine's which was truly appreciated. We would most likely stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornSuites_mgt, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Lisa,
We appreciate your feed back on your check in experience, I would LOVE to hear further on HOW my front desk team was unprofessional, because I would like a chance to fix an issues! Sincerely I hope to hear from you Lisa!
So glad you enjoyed your breakfast!! At least we did something right. Our front desk team should have gone over the housekeeping process with you at check in.
Again Lisa I look forward to hearing from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Very clean hotel. Very friendly staff. No odor which can be common in other extended stay competitors.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Declan E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornSuites_mgt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Declan,
Thank you for letting us know that our cleaning team is doing such a good job, especially with the NON smell...we appreciate that. Sometimes it is trying to run a hotel that has kitchens, and the odor of cooking we can sometimes get. Lord knows if I was cooking in our rooms, everyone would know, haha.
We appreciate you taking your time to let others know we are doing a good job.
Declan we look forward to seeing you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a good time staying here. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Thought we might have issues coming back late from a concert but didn't have any problems getting back in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurt m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornSuites_mgt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Kurt,
So glad you had a great stay and no troubles coming in after your concert. We hope you look up another concert to come to and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at Hawthorn Suites for 3-4 days. Immediately I noticed how friendly the staff was. The rooms were incredible, clean and beautiful. Breakfast was complimentary and very nice with a hot entree each morning. The kitchenette was accommodating with microwave, fridge/freezer, stove top, dishes/pans/silverware. All furniture, including bed was comfortable and clean. Very impressed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucindawenzlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornSuites_mgt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Lucinda,
Thank you so much for letting everyone know that you enjoyed our hotel from the breakfast to the kitchen in all the rooms. We hope you will return soon for the same excellant service and clean hotel.
Thanks again Lucinda!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#4 of 19 in Auburn Hills
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#3 of 19 in Auburn Hills
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#7 of 19 in Auburn Hills
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#5 of 19 in Auburn Hills
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#12 of 19 in Auburn Hills
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Address: 1650 N Opdyke Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2655
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#6 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#9 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range: £62 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated in 2013! Stay as long as you'd like at the Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills, Michigan. This is the hotel where business travelers prefer to stay for any length of time. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email with our new and improved Wireless High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player, or watch TV on our brand new flat screens. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Pantry. Our studio suite is perfect for those short trips away, or lesser expensive for those time-consuming projects. The one bedroom suite is large enough to accommodate the family, or when one-on-one meetings are crucial to your success. We are minutes away from Continental, Chrysler, and Borg Warner. Conveniently located off Interstate 75 in Oakland County, we are near many of Eastern Michigan's sports and leisure attractions such as the Detroit Pistions, Detroit Lions, Detroit Tigers and the Detroit Redwings. Great shopping can be found at Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Malls and Canterbury Village. Don't delay, try Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills on your next trip away! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Candlewood Suites Auburn Hills
Candlewood Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing