We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in Winter!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Augusta
kingwood, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stayed in Winter!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for an ice skating competition in Kalamazoo. Since we were there during the winter we obviously did not play golf. We were there with about 40 girls, their moms, coaches and a couple of Dads. We had the traditional hotel room buildings and had a whole building and a half to ourselves with no other guests there. The rooms all open to the outside with a great view of the trees and golf courses. In our case all fresh snow on hills that the girls used for sledding in their spare time. The hills were plentiful and large enough for sledding. The rooms were slightly dated but clean. We did have them open the kitchen for us for some meals and no one was real impressed by the meals. Not sure if this was due to it being off season or not. There was also a room that they let us use for off ice practice that I think they may use for continental breakfast during season. It was real convenient, as it was in the downstairs of one of the buildings with rooms (much better than going to the actual conference rooms). The hotel was great for a large group and would definitely stay there again with a large group, not sure if it would be a place that I would go with just my husband. The location is out of the way (was not bad for us as we only needed to be at the rink four times) which was nice with the large group (way better than being on the side of the freeway) and allowed the kids to play outside. The drawback to being so far out was that there were no restaurants close by and only one place delivers out there but they did have a variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex4069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We traveled to Battle Creek for a couple reasons this trip. New Grandson combined with spouses work week. My husband is a golfer and his workplace isn't far. Yarrow worked out to be very convenient, not to mention it is beautiful and very quiet out there. Breakfast is served in the Dining room and was delicious and fresh. Coffee is good too. Rooms are clean, bed was comfy and service was good, friendly. Best of all...it's a beautiful out of the way and quiet place to stay with easy access to whatever you need. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Depending on your group there is a room to meet all sorts of privacy issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurselinda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I would have never known about Yarrow unless they had run a promotion through Carl's Golfland. This resort apparently needed such a promotion to become a familiar name to the Detroit area golfers, and this golfer is glad they did. Yarrow is a wonderful eighteen holes of golf - the course was challenging but not intimidating. Many very pretty holes that convinced me I was really three hours further north. Course appeared well maintained.

The guest rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. The property is very nicely laid out with a large main lodge where the dining facilities are, and there is a lit boardwalk-like pathway from the lodge to the buildings where the guestrooms are located. This pathway has some lovely views of a few holes and is a very pretty wooded walk. That all said, if there is someone in your group that does not golf, there's nothing else to do. No pool, etc., - this is a resort just for golfers. While the cities of Battle Creek and Kalamazoo are each no more than a thirty minute drive, this resort is quite isolated.

The only meal we had at Yarrow was breakfast. The buffet had a very good selection of hot and cold foods - or at least food that was supposed to be hot. It's not just Yarrow where we have experienced this dilemma, but never understood the challenge in keeping hot food hot at a buffet. We chose to drive into Kalamazoo for dinner during our one night stay. We did, however, end the evening at the outdoor patio at the Yarrow lodge which overlooks the eighteenth hole and enjoyed sunset with cocktails.

In conclusion - I want to play this course again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Did the stay and play for two nights and three days. I had been at Yarrow for corporate training in the early 90's just after it opened and before there was even a golf course...fell in love with the property. Don't know why it took me 20 years to return! Loved the golf course. The first hole is a monster par 5 almost 600 yards up a hill. The course is in pristine condition. It felt like you were in northern Michigan but without the long drive and steep prices. The stay and play included a buffet breakfast which was excellent. They even had name cards at your table to reserve - nice touch. Rooms were sufficient and had good air conditioning. Ate on the deck at their grill one evening after our round which was good and it was fun to see the golfers coming in on the 18th green. The only small complaint I had was I inquired with the front desk to see about a late checkout since our round was scheduled for 0727 hours and we wanted to pack up right after our round. The clerk did not have the authority to grant our request even though the room was not booked the day of departure. Only the manager apparently can make that decision. On a side note, if you are there in the summer...check out the Barn theater in Augusta. We saw the musical "Tarzan" and had a great time.

Room Tip: Avoid Tuesdays ,if possible, since it is senior day on the course and the play will be slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Took a three day golf buddy trip.We stayed in the hotel room section of the resort. The rooms are small and nothing special, but they were clean and adequate. The resort itself is very nice and the golf was great. Overall a good value

Room Tip: next time we will upgrade to one of the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpressHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My wife and I were married at Yarrow in 2005, and everything went off without a hitch. The golf is nothing short of amazing, the food in the pub is outstanding (get yourself a burger & fries, you'll be impressed), and the staff is extremely helpful. My company started having our annual meeting at Yarrow two years ago, and about 100 people form out of town stay in the lodges. I've heard nothing negative from any of them.

The only downside is that there isn't much nightlife in the Augusta area. Once the on-site pub closes, unless you want to make a trip to Kalamazoo (30+ minutes) or Battle Creek (...no thanks), that's about it.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one of the "cabins," and I found it to be very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoeborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Our organization held its annual conference at Yarrow. The event co ordinator was very helpful and accommodating. The staff were friendly, resourceful, and willing to go the extra mile (rearranging furniture, searching for lost items, putting up banners). The beautiful, serene, nature setting is perfect for get aways and out of the hustle of daily life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Director of Sales at Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you so very much for the kind words. We appreciated your group very much and look forward to many more experiences with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
15.8 mi away
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Shelbyville
457 reviews
12.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Battle Creek
8.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Battle Creek Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McCamly Plaza Hotel
McCamly Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Battle Creek
262 reviews
16.8 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
Hampton Inn Battle Creek
#2 of 19 in Battle Creek
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort

Property: Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort
Address: 10499 N 48th St, Augusta, MI 49012-9500
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name resonates in the hearts of golfers around the world, Augusta. Where the passion is golf, the scenery magnificent, and the experience unforgettable. Come experience Yarrow, our little slice of world-class golf in Augusta, Michigan. At Yarrow Golf and Conference Resort, you’ll experience everything that our neighbors to the North have to offer and more: flawless tree-lined fairways, manicured bent grass greens, mouthwatering cuisine, cozy hotel accommodations and uncompromising Yarrow hospitality. And we’re not so far away from civilization that you have to beat a path to our door. We’re much closer to all the larger metro areas -- Detroit, Chicago, Cincinnati and Indianapolis – and just minutes from the vibrant communities of Kalamazoo and Battle Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Yarrow Golf & Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarrow Golf Hotel Augusta
Yarrow Golf And Conference Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing