We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming room, great food”
Review of Afton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Afton B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming room, great food”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Before we got to the Afton House, we went hiking at Afton State Park, which if very close. Had planned on snowshoeing, but with the recent warm weather, the snow had melted quite a bit so we didn't think we needed them. It was a great walk and we enjoyed the fresh air. At the Inn, we stayed in Room #1 on the main floor with a king bed, double jacuzzi and fireplace. There was also a table for two if you wanted to eat in rather than visiting one of the three restaurants onsite. It faced the main street with big windows which had nice blinds that we kept mostly closed. I wondered in the summer if it would be noisy, but it wasn't for us since there wasn't a lot of activity outside at this time of year. It appeared that many of the rooms were booked, but it was very quiet in our room all night. There was free wine tasting at Swirl Wine Bar so we stopped in there before dinner. We had planned to go to the Fine Dining restaurant for supper, but when we compared menus, many of the items were on all three of the house's restaurants, so we decided to stay put since we liked the atmosphere and enjoyed chatting with our server/wine manager...she was very nice. We first did the wine tastings. The guy serving us the wine wasn't very chatty....he basically told us what was required and nothing else. Not overly friendly.....any comments we made or attempts at small talk with him were pretty much ignored. He seemed to be more intent on the large table to the back of us....guessing they were locals. Didn't ruin our night though.....we found a nice white blend that we enjoyed and ended up buying three bottles. One for dinner and two to take home. Back at our table, we ordered the crab cake appetizer which was good, but I wondered if I could easily get something similar at Sam's or Costco. Again, our server was very friendly and we really enjoyed her. She talked us into the salmon entree and the braised shortribs.....she was spot on! We LOVED the braised shortribs with creamy mashed potatoes and wonderful green beans. The short ribs were incredibly tender...no fat in sight and extremely tasty. The salmon was great too...served with couscous...both very good...but I think we both preferred the shortribs. Everything on the menu looked good. Lots of people were there drinking wine and ordering appetizers.....lots of different flatbreads.

We got up around 8:30 am, cleaned up and went to breakfast. I would say the breakfast was similar to what you'd get in any hotel, but the set up was a little more fancy. The serving room was just off the front desk. They offered the make-your-own waffles, cereals, bagels, some small cinnamon rolls, yogurt, scrambled eggs and bisquits and gravy. The juice wasn't fresh squeezed, which would have been a nice touch, but rather a Sunny D type of juice. The front desk clerk would also come around and offer to get sodas if needed and was very nice. I thought the bisquits and gravy were good, the eggs were so-so. I was a bit surprised that there was no bacon or sausage offered, but it wasn't a big deal. We didn't try the waffles but assume they were the same as any other hotel. My husband waited to see if the cinnamon rolls would get replenished, but after about 10 minutes he gave up..not a huge deal as we were both thinking we didn't really need it! Overall, we weren't dissatisfied with the breakfast by any means, but there really wan't anything special about it, like I would typically expect at a bed and breakfast type of hotel. To be honest, I actually prefer the breakfast at Holiday Inn Express better. Certainly wouldn't stop me from staying here again though! Really enjoyed our little getaway. Thinking a summer stay would be even more fun with the river so close and such a neat little town to explore!

Room Tip: Room #1. Nice size room...double jacuzzi and fireplace. Great bed. Might be noisy in the summer m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bushp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    78
    50
    39
    19
See reviews for
15
229
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first visit to Afton House Inn. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was small, but very comfortable. The view from our window was of the street and we could see the river to the left. There were boats with blue covers being stored for the winter and obstructing our river view. I am sure in the summer and fall the boats are in the water and not a problem. The Current Restaurant was excellent. The service and food was good as was the presentation. The complimentary breakfast buffet was another plus. The selection of items was great, everything from waffles, eggs and pastries as well as hot beverages and juices. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Since I have only been in one room, I am not qualified to make any suggestions. My only thought is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had a great experience staying at the Afton House Inn. We spent the day at Afton Alps, and the Inn is a short drive away. Really enjoyed the attached restaurants and wine bar! We will definitely go back sometime!

Room Tip: Get one with a jacuzzi tub, especially if you spend the day at Afton Alps skiing and snowboarding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erik0039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I spent the night in a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi on a very cold, frigid day/night in February. It was just what we needed! The staff, the ambiance, the warmth of the room helped make the winter more tolerable that day. We had fine dining reservations at The Wheel House. Fabulous meal! We enjoyed watching as our bananas foster was prepared at our table.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed at the Inn, a wonderful experience. The small town experience with the old town comfort. The room was clean and tastefully done. The hot-tub for two was very nice and relaxing. The Good:
Clean with the very good classic feeling.
Attaches to a nice bar, and a great wine bar.
Very nice dining with wonderful staff.
Good dinner and dining experience. Peggy was our waitress, she was great.
Parking was right outside.
The not so good;
The bathroom was not the greatest, clean but plastic.
The shower was like one Id find in a basement.
The room I had was close to the highway and road noise was noticeable.
The breakfast was very much like a continental breakfast... after all this is a bead/breakfast!

Room Tip: I did not use the fitness center or the swimming pool, did not know they had one. Equip shower with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is one of our favorite places to stay as I like the older style hotels. It's always been clean and quiet. Parking is easy and close. You can eat at the Afton House Inn Restaurant or Current Restaurant (both a little spendy but we have always been happy with the food). You can also get drinks and appetizers or a bottle of wine from Swirl Wine Bar all without leaving the premises.

Room Tip: There is the attached annex in the newer portion of the building if you want the newer rooms, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljohnson409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I have been to the Afton House for a few wedding related dinners, it's a great setting and experience if you want to book the dinning room, large yet intimate dinners for sure.

The hotel guests in our party also enjoyed the Inn but most were suffering from allergies in the morning. Apparently, the room can be "musky".

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
10.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#5 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
9.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Property: Afton House Inn
Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trl S, Afton, MN 55001-9424
Region: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing