We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation Get-a-way!!”

The Red Door Resort & Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Door Resort & Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Aitkin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Red Door Resort is a fantastic lake get-a-way! Our husband's have been visiting the Red Door for years with the guys - summer fishing and ice fishing - they love it!! Well the girls were finally invited, and I can't say enough good things about it! The cabins are decorated with an up-north atmosphere - they are roomy, comfortable and incredibly clean!! The cabins have a wonderful view of the lake, and each has its own fire pit. We rented the pontoon while we were up there, and had almost the entire family out fishing and relaxing together! The owners are very nice, and always accomodating! Sorry guys, I think the girls will be coming with you from now on!!! Can't wait for our next visit!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank roxanneh303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did a guys getaway here and everyone loved it. Great accommodations and amenities including a protected harbor for the boat slips, nice restaurant, fire pit, swimming area, and docks to fish from. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rpolipnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful place to spend quality family time. We stayed in newly remodeled stone house which is beautiful. Over 100 years old it has charm and 100% upgrades to modern standards. We rented a pontoon and with 2 grandchildren it was great. We toured the lake and fished at the same time. We found fish but couldn't catch them.
The playground was good for the kids and the swimming was good with the exception there was no beach area. The is a giant trampoline about 100 yards off shore that was really fun once you got there. The lake is shallow enough that you can walk most of the way.
This was the best place we have ever stayed at in terms of cabins. The people were friendly and took care of whatever we wanted.
We have already made a reservation for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great resort for fishing, hunting, snowmobiling or getting away with the family. Have friends who nice fish out of the Red Door Resort who state that the service on the lake is excellent. We highly recommend the Red Door Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Red Door Resort and Motel is absolutely the best family resort on Mille Lacs. Excellent amenities for fishing all-seasons including a motel and amazing lake front cabins. Wonderful playground for the kids, shallow sandy waters for the kids to swim, pontoon rentals, and a fish-house park where you can park your fish-house year round. Clean showers and great restaurant make the resort experience complete on the greatest lake in Minnesota.

Room Tip: The cabins have great ambiance and are exceptionally priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Door Resort & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Door Resort & Motel

Address: 38421 State Highway 18, Aitkin, MN 56431-4298
Region: United States > Minnesota > Aitkin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aitkin
Price Range: £47 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Door Resort & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Red Door Resort & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing