We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Myre-Big Island State Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Albert Lea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Camped here at White Fox Campground 8/10/13- 8/13/13. Was a nice campground. Some sites were kind of close together but ours was very spacious (#61e). We liked the rustic gravel roads compared to paved roads at the campgrounds. Everybody was respectful of quiet time and it was very quiet at night. The shower/ bathrooms at White Fox are very clean and modern. There was a sewer backup during a rainstorm so these bathrooms and showers were out of commision for the second half of our trip. Slight inconvienence as the shower house at Big Island Campground are very old and dirty. What's a camping trip without using the pit toilets right? We saw raccoons at night while at Big Island Campground so beware! White Fox Campground is defintely the nicer campground although some sites have fun sun.

Lots of wildlife but the lake seems barren. Very, very murky. I'm sure there are fish in there somewhere, we just didnt find any. There also didn't appear to be any swimming areas. There are kayak and canoes for rental. $10/4hours or $20/all day. Lots of nice bike and hiking trails.

On another note: We've never extended a camping trip but we did while camping here. It was just such a nice relaxing atmosphere that we HAD to stay one more night. Even with the shower house being out of commision our camping experience wasn't spoiled. It was August and so we were one of only 6 camp groups in this entire campground.

2  Thank RJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here over the weekend in the group camp part of the park and it was great. It was a family get together and we had that part of the park to ourselves. Nice big building with kitchen facilities and dining area for us to use and another craft and arts building that had tables and benches that you could hang out in to get out of the sun or get away from the mosquitoes.

Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at this campground on July 12, 2013 on our way back from the Black Hills. The place could be nice if they actually maintained it in some way. The foliage is way overgrown. Our camper was severely scratched up just trying to get to our site. When we got to our site, we had an extremely difficult time getting our camper parked. The trees on both sides of the road were in the way. We finally had to have our kids hold back the branches on some trees while we backed in. We hoped that was the worst of it but then came the BUGS! Wow, I know Minnesota is known for their insects, but I have camped my entire life and have NEVER seen swarms like this. We could not leave the camper after dark. When my daughter and I took the dogs out at 10:00 PM we had to cover our mouths and nose to avoid being suffocated by the bugs. We learned that the hard way. They need to fumigate that place or clean up some of the foliage. We will never go there again, and I honestly do not see how anyone could enjoy that place.

1  Thank familyoffive0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We camped at an electric site in September 2012 at the Big Island campground. Nice sized sites. Not dense woods in between. Site was right off the lake. Very pretty park. Great bird watching. Facilities were flush toilets. Excellent facilities with private clean awesome showers at the White Fox campground. We drove to White Fox for showers. Best facilities. We drove into Albert Lea for the farmer's mkt on sat. Cute town. Very pleasant. We loved our time and will be back.

4  Thank SuzeOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myre-Big Island State Park also viewed

 

Been to Myre-Big Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing