We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place & Good Food”
Review of Bugaboo Bay

Bugaboo Bay
Ranked #57 of 71 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
180 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun Place & Good Food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Bugaboo is one of our favorite restaurants to visit in Alexandria. Located across the street from Lake Le Homme Dieu, this Caribbean style restaurant has a nice lake view and a great outdoor bar with a large patio (patio located on the lake side of restaurant). This restaurant is also a local favorite of lake home owners and transient boaters, with boat docking near the restaurant, perhaps within about 100 feet or so.

Although not consistent in preparation and taste, our food has always been good to excellent. An example to use is the coconut chicken; it has varied from good to excellent in taste, as well as the serving size (number of pieces and size of chicken pieces). Aside from that, we have never had a negative experience here and we truly enjoy the location and atmosphere. Their menu offers a large variety of Caribbean and American food choices that is reasonably priced.

They also have live music or DJ's on occasion, primarily weekends during the summers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    28
    23
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was a great place to relax and eat. The food choices are numerous but one should try the onion rings - they were super!! Great atmosphere, good service and good food, what more could you ask for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoy the outdoor seating views and the Onion rings!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Always a treat to sit at bug a boo and enjoy the outdoor seating and views of lake l'homme diu. A busy place in the summer and the opening of Zorbaz across the street has seemed to make it busier as more folks come to the area. You can even come by boat on the chain of lakes and tie up across the road. Like onion rings? This is the place, but be warned the heaping plate is more than two people can eat and still have a regular meal! The fare is tasty and a good selection of sandwiches and wraps. We love the wide selection of fun specialty drinks and tasty sauces that come with your meal. For the active, there is a sand volleyball court. We had a great server who was personable and attentive.

I do need to acknowledge the other reviewers that the service can be spotty at times. In fact for, the first time in a long time, we did not leave a tip at a visit in Late July. We did leave a note with the bill explaining our dissapointment and why the server totally missed the mark. Be aggressive and let your server know your expectations. As a matter of fact, we find uneven service to be a common thread in many establishments in the Alexandria area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braham
1 review
“POOR SERVICE-SLOW-NON PERSONAL”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Reserved for 20 people for an Anniversary party. It took over 20 minutes for our drinks to come and several were wrong. Could understand if place was busy but was REALLY SLOW. Ordered or devours soon as walked in-still took 30 minutes and believe it or not drinks did not come until after or devours served-jeez. As it was a special 50th Anniversary-would have hoped BugaBoo Bay would have made some special acknowledgement--but did not. Found out couple weeks later that birthdays & Anniversary's they will offer a free drink or dessert--BUT THEY DID NOT! Very disappointed. No personal touch & did not get welcomed by owners who were there and not busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great happy hour”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

we stopped in and had some great half off apps 3-6 every week night. Fun atmosphere and fun activities for our family

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TanyaBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bugaboo Bay also viewed

 
Alexandria, MN
 

Been to Bugaboo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing